Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-20-2020, 03:52 PM
grjake grjake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Default SCREEN FREEZE when opening older, larger projects.

I'm experiencing complete screen lock up, requiring hard reboot.
PT 11.3.1, HP Z400 Workstation, 16 gigs RAM, fresh factory restore and then upgrade to W10 Pro... (freeze up before and after), see Sandra Report PDF for more info. It hasn't happened on smaller, simpler projects... yet. Sometimes it will open up but then freeze up shortly after hitting play. Sometimes I might not even get the larger project open and the screen freezes in place. Any ideas?
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Sandra Report.pdf (698.0 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-21-2020, 07:45 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,942
Default Re: SCREEN FREEZE when opening older, larger projects.

Try opening these older projects with plugins inactive(Hold the SHIFT key while opening the session). If that allows the session to open, then its very likely some plugin at fault.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-21-2020, 06:06 PM
grjake grjake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: SCREEN FREEZE when opening older, larger projects.

Thank you bro. I was able to open up a project and play it after shift key load. Then slowly started activating plugins. It finally froze up after a dozen or so. All onboard or Waves plugins. FYI: the load meters aren't peaking when it freezes. Thanks for helping me get this far. At least I can possibly try rebuilding one of these songs.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-22-2020, 09:57 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,942
Default Re: SCREEN FREEZE when opening older, larger projects.

Quote:
Originally Posted by grjake View Post
Thank you bro. I was able to open up a project and play it after shift key load. Then slowly started activating plugins. It finally froze up after a dozen or so. All onboard or Waves plugins. FYI: the load meters aren't peaking when it freezes. Thanks for helping me get this far. At least I can possibly try rebuilding one of these songs.
Big fun! What version of Waves(7, 8, 9 10, etc)? Maybe something needs an update? Troubleshooting can be a PITA so be methodical with it. I use the modifier key(Alt for us Windows users) and activate a row of plugins at a time(with a single command). and that can help pin down your choices a lot. Once you know which row matters, its fairly quick to narrow down which exact plugin(s) are the culprit.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-25-2020, 12:39 PM
grjake grjake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: SCREEN FREEZE when opening older, larger projects.

I still haven't figured out what is causing complete lock-up. If I load a song with Shift key, I can get it open fine and play the song. Then as I start activating plugins, eventually it'll freeze. It isn't spiking load meter when it freezes. I have Waves V11 plugins and stock AIR plugins. AIR seems fine as I'm activating. It seems to freeze on Waves plugin's activation. I was working on a particular song as early as 2019 and now I'm getting screen freeze. Since then, I've upgraded to W10 and upgraded to 16gb of ram.

Could it be NVidia FX1800 card? Should I upgrade to Waves V12? Should I upgrade Pro Tools? Should I buy a new HP Workstation? All the above??? Please Help me decide what to do.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-26-2020, 12:03 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,942
Default Re: SCREEN FREEZE when opening older, larger projects.

Looking over the Sandra report, I suspect it may be mixing old and new(er), specifically, PT11 and Waves 11(going to Waves 12 seems like a worse idea to me). Beyond that, it is a fairly old PC with an X58 chipset and DDR3 RAM. I would check with Waves and see if they can provide you with version 9 or 10 of your plugins. As for the Nvidia card, I have never had an issue with any nVidia card, but I would try updating the driver from the nVidia website(not from HP). Updating the PC will get expensive really fast, but I was quite happy with a used HP z820 12 core I had(and sold last year with the rest of my commercial studio).

How bad would it be to remove Waves? What plugins can you not live without? While I have my list of waves I can't do without, I have seen others have scrapped them all and are quite happy about it
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugin cannot be found by older Pro Tools projects gavriil1 Pro Tools 11 4 08-18-2015 12:47 PM
saving projects as older versions? gdgross Pro Tools 11 2 05-21-2015 02:45 PM
Opening Pro Tools 9 Projects in Older Versions br567 macOS 3 03-09-2011 10:48 AM
Converting Projects from Older LE to LE 8 (also PC to Mac) ostrich99 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-03-2011 08:23 PM
30" screen (or larger) ? jeremyroberts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 43 06-27-2010 07:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com