Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-11-2003, 10:29 AM
Stiff Stiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 4,101
Default The two sides of the (VST) coin

Hey,

Seems almost everyone is thrilled about a possible VST compability. Before I got my Mbox I worked mainly with Cubase VST (and later Cubase SX) and got to try out lots of VSTi:s. There are some really great, Steinberg released some very good ones and if you're lucky (or a good webdigger ) you can even find some pretty good free ones. However, as I see it, there is a negative aspect to this.

To me it seems that almost every single plug-in for Pro Tools is good in one way or another, maybe because not everyone can make one. That means I won't really make a bad purchase, only a great or "just" a good one.

Don't get me wrong though, I'm not saying the VST-RTAS adapter is a bad idea, it's a "fresh wind" and fresh winds are always apreciated. What I DO say is that I would definetly not pay big money for it (like the kind of money we pay for Pro Tools plugs today), because the real instruments I got can do the same thing, and if they can't, than Sampletank can, and if (God forbidd) Sampletank can't, then Reason can. See my point?

I read an article a few weeks ago, which basically said that too much technology, or too much gear can end up messing up your creations instead of help your creation. While that's true, I too also embrace that there many choices avaliable. BUT limits are not always that wrong either.

Maybe I just have a too positive view on the plug-ins avaliable for Pro Tools, but as far as I can see, the VST support has to sides to it.

Btf'nw: Excuse my bad english, I'm swedish
__________________
Daily news & reviews
www.ProToolerBlog.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-11-2003, 10:56 AM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montrιal, Quιbec
Posts: 5,085
Default Re: The two sides of the (VST) coin

agreed
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-11-2003, 11:05 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: The two sides of the (VST) coin

Just because the plug-ins exist.. doesn't mean you need to use them Allowing us to at least have the VST option would be nice.

I'm on the record as saying one should record your tracks sounding the way you want them in the mix without plug-ins.. and only to use plug-ins for correction or effects.

My only concern would be that a badly written plug-in could possibly make Pro Tools less stable.. at least with the way Digi have controlled the development kit they've maintained a high level of quality and product stability.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-11-2003, 11:17 AM
Stiff Stiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 4,101
Default Re: The two sides of the (VST) coin

Quote:
Just because the plug-ins exist.. doesn't mean you need to use them Allowing us to at least have the VST option would be nice.


Sure, you're without a doubt right. But in a way I feel "safer" with the Pro Tools plug-ins. When I used Cubase and other programs that can run VSTi or DXi (man, I still have the freeware program Buzz installed! ) I was a regular visitor of kvr-vst and other such sites. They are however, many times, misleading... I would think the average review is around 8/10! Most VSTi or DXi are NOT that good! So there ARE alot of misleading information out there (as with anything else). What sounds cool when you read about it the first time may not work like you think. And you don't always have the possibility to try them out before you buy them as much as you want.

From time to time buying a plug-in is as safe as playing in a casino for ten straight hours.
__________________
Daily news & reviews
www.ProToolerBlog.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-11-2003, 11:24 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: The two sides of the (VST) coin

I have some $500 TDM plug-ins I never use... so I know what you mean

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-11-2003, 11:27 AM
Stiff Stiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 4,101
Default Re: The two sides of the (VST) coin

Man, then you have too much money for your own best
__________________
Daily news & reviews
www.ProToolerBlog.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-11-2003, 11:51 AM
da BaSsTaRd! da BaSsTaRd! is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 4,933
Default Re: The two sides of the (VST) coin

just remember - just because a particular VSTi or VST plugin is not good for you doesn't mean its not good for me or anyone else. all this does is totally strengthen PT as a platform.

also, if any vst plugs actually do make your system unstable (and i'm sure there will be a few), just don't use them. there's not a single plugin that i couldn't live without except maybe the digi 1 band eq...
__________________
i love my apple iPhone!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-11-2003, 12:02 PM
Stiff Stiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 4,101
Default Re: The two sides of the (VST) coin

True, but I do believe that there are just a whole bunch of more "crap" plugins that most people wouldn't like or use in the VST format.

But don't get me wrong, as I said, it's a fresh wind. It's a good thing, but one should know that he oughta watch out when before buys the plugs. This is also true when it comes to RTAS plugs, but - in my opinion - not to the sam grade... if you know what I mean...

__________________
Daily news & reviews
www.ProToolerBlog.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-11-2003, 02:19 PM
JC925602 JC925602 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Montreal
Posts: 769
Default Re: The two sides of the (VST) coin

Let's say someone want to upgrade from Cubase to ProTools, and he/she already paid for many plug-ins, then it make sense to not upgrade to a new different set of plug-ins. It make ProTools more attractive and will allow people to go for it faster.

The transition would be faster since he/she doesn't have to learn and get used to new plug-ins. The price of the upgrade is not the same. This ProTools owner will eventually upgrade or change it's collection of plug-ins.

Also I saw some weird prototype free vst plugs in the past. I would have tried them for exploration purpose.

One last thing, if a developer make a great VST plug-in, but no ProTools version. He then realize that half of it's client use it on ProTools and ask for a TDM/RTAS version with full automation.... It will bring more (good) developer to ProTools without us having to wait for them.

So now we also need Audio Unit support. And for those who use more than one app. it make sense to be able to use our plugs in all the apps.

JC
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-11-2003, 06:58 PM
Chris Cavell Chris Cavell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 4,831
Default Re: The two sides of the (VST) coin

Quote:
I have some $500 TDM plug-ins I never use... so I know what you mean

Rail
Me too!
__________________
Cavell Studios
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Split a CF group between sides? JKD99 ICON & C|24 8 08-29-2011 04:23 PM
Replace the armrest and the sides?? gabrieljay ICON & C|24 0 06-12-2011 11:13 AM
Thinking about changing sides... (PC to Mac) bradweeks80 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 02-15-2010 06:39 AM
Stereo Bounce sides not same length brianjanthony Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-07-2007 11:30 AM
Drives on both sides of 2940UW? Steve Garman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 05-08-2001 09:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com