Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-31-2005, 09:15 PM
K-Man K-Man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: VAlley Village, CA
Posts: 170
Default Audio spike problems with MBox 2...

Hey all,

I'm new to working with Pro Tools LE in Windows. I just hooked up my friends' MBox 2 into his P4 running XP (w/o SP1 or SP2). However, when you record enable an audio track, the "waveform" (if you will) just hovers up high, near clip, in the positive as though it was resting on the zero crossing. I've tried different cables, looked for feedback, different input devices like mics & keyboards... and found no resolution. So I'm here. Anyone encountered this before?

The specs we know of are as follows:
WinXP Pro
Intel P4 - 1.7GHz
1GB RAM
PT|LE 6.8.2
MBox 2

Thanks for your help!

-K
__________________
Apple Mac Pro 3.0 8C
8GB RAM
Digi002R
Dynaudio BM5a Monitors
--------------------
Mac OS X 10.4.10
PT|LE 7.3.1cs4
CoreAudio 7
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-31-2005, 09:23 PM
mix_master_adam mix_master_adam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Locust Fork, AL United States
Posts: 79
Default Re: Audio spike problems with MBox 2...

Which input do you have routed to the track that you are record enabling?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-01-2005, 05:37 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,325
Default Re: Audio spike problems with MBox 2...

Try going into Preferences and unchecking "Draw Waveforms Rectified".

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-01-2005, 12:15 PM
K-Man K-Man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: VAlley Village, CA
Posts: 170
Default Re: Audio spike problems with MBox 2...

Tried that too. Didn't work. I suspect it's either the AD converters or the Preamps. I've never seen that happen before, but I won't rule hardware failure out either. I just wanted to see if any of you on here have encountered the same problem.

Thanks!

-K
__________________
Apple Mac Pro 3.0 8C
8GB RAM
Digi002R
Dynaudio BM5a Monitors
--------------------
Mac OS X 10.4.10
PT|LE 7.3.1cs4
CoreAudio 7
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-01-2005, 01:15 PM
Oskee27 Oskee27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Default Re: Audio spike problems with MBox 2...

I tried running the MBox (the original) withouth SP1 and had problems. I installed SP1 and that fixed the problems I was experiencing which were basically recording problems. The recording session would cut after 20 seconds or so. Try installing SP1 at least on your XP system and see if that works.
Good luck
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-01-2005, 01:40 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Audio spike problems with MBox 2...

The MBox 2 has only been tested and qualified on SP2. I would recommend upgrading the OS to SP2.

Both the mbox 2 and the mbox require at least SP1 to function because of the USB improvements in SP1.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio Spike Causes Reboot? Earl D 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 05-28-2007 09:45 AM
problems with bounce to disk - extra noise spike? DJ FADE 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 02-05-2007 01:56 PM
Mbox audio problems Jeff W. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-02-2007 02:50 PM
spike removal during post production (audio) carlacryptic Tips & Tricks 2 08-16-2004 11:14 PM
Audio problems with MBox binaural42 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-31-2004 12:45 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com