Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2004, 06:47 PM
shameeta shameeta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 32
Default Normalize

Hi people

Quick question.

I do some VO recording. There are different levels in the volume. Some parts louder than others. Instead of manually going to Volume and adjust the the levels of the volume, is there some other way I can just mark the whole track and, at the push of a couple of button, have the software adjust the whole thing so that the volume is at the same level throughout the whole track.

I tried Normalizing but it still leaves many parts softer or louder. And I still have to resort to the Volume option thing.

Not sure if you understand what I am asking, but those of you who do, know how to solve the prob?

Thanks

Shameeta

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-18-2004, 06:52 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,276
Default Re: Normalize

You can put a compressor on the track and lightly push the gain into it, but youll still need to ride the faders!!!!!!!
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2004, 10:41 PM
Steve MacMillan Steve MacMillan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 2,038
Default Re: Normalize

There is no free lunch, and if it were easy everyone would do it. Compressing a track enough so you don't have to touch it would most likely be too much compression to sound good. The compressor that seems to do this better than most is the Waves Ren Vox. A little automation on the threshold will be much less work than riding the fader, and still sound pretty good.

sm

__________________
macmandigital.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Normalize bug Curtis Marolt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 03-11-2009 08:05 AM
normalize philippebruno Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-15-2006 03:23 AM
Help With Normalize, etc BigE2118 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-31-2004 06:04 PM
Normalize GtrDude 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-27-2004 10:09 AM
Normalize? Punx Tips & Tricks 5 07-23-2002 09:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com