Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-13-2010, 09:00 AM

Question Slowing Down The Tempo of A Song Using Elastic Audio

Hi guys,

Quick general question here. I don't actually have Pro Tools or record. I'm a musician and recently my band tracked drums on a Pro Tools HD rig. Anyway, we got a little carried away and weren't happy with the tempo we recorded our drum tracks in.

I want an engineer to change the tempo of the drum tracks by -3% to -5% at the most with Elastic Audio, nothing severe, just minor slow down because it affects the mood of the song a lot.

I've done this myself using Audacity just to get a general idea of what the tempo was going to sound like and I ran into some minor artifacts and drums skipping. Is Elastic Audio better equipped to slow tempo down and is the engineer gonna run into a bunch of artifacts/problems slowing this down?

Basically my question is if it's realistically possible for an engineer to slow down drum tracks by 3-5% at the most? And if there is artifacts, isn't there ways to edit and correct these minor errors? The engineer also has recorded drum samples of every piece off the kit (snare, toms, etc). I really don't want the money we spent on tracking to go to waste and be able to salvage the drum tracks.

Any help, opinions, and input are appreciated. Thanks for reading.
Old 04-13-2010, 10:26 AM

Default Re: Slowing Down The Tempo of A Song Using Elastic Audio