Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-21-2015, 05:04 PM

Default Sampletank 2XL or Sampletank 3 Free?

So I just picked up the IK Multimedia Studio Bundle 3 on sale for 100 bucks. I've never used any IK VI's before, so any help you could give me here would be great. In my downloads I have available Sampletank 2 XL, and Sampletank 3 Free. Also included in the bundle are 15 Xpansion Tank 2 packs. Which version of Sampletank should I use, does 3 Free have any advantage over 2 XL? Will the Xpansion Tank 2 packs open up in 3 Free?

Thanks in advance
Old 01-21-2015, 05:48 PM

Default Re: Sampletank 2XL or Sampletank 3 Free?

Upon further research I see that I have a bunch of stuff to figure out with getting this all installed and running with PT11.
Old 01-21-2015, 05:50 PM

Yes you do. Sampletank 2 is not AAX.

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2024 HDX Hybrid
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Old 01-22-2015, 04:31 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Zull View Post
So I just picked up the IK Multimedia Studio Bundle 3 on sale for 100 bucks. I've never used any IK VI's before, so any help you could give me here would be great. In my downloads I have available Sampletank 2 XL, and Sampletank 3 Free. Also included in the bundle are 15 Xpansion Tank 2 packs. Which version of Sampletank should I use, does 3 Free have any advantage over 2 XL? Will the Xpansion Tank 2 packs open up in 3 Free?

Thanks in advance