Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-07-2002, 09:07 AM
Byfar Prod Byfar Prod is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Malibu, Ca.
Posts: 58
Default large 96k project can\'t open

I have a large 96k session that was copied from another drive to my firewire drive. when i try to open it, it wants to convert all the files. They are wave files, I don't know why it wants to convert the files at this point. I don't have enough hard disk space to convert all files to get it open & see whats going on. Any ideas out there.

thanks richard
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-09-2002, 02:57 PM
Byfar Prod Byfar Prod is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Malibu, Ca.
Posts: 58
Default Re: large 96k project can\'t open

We can get the session opened...
we haven't changed any of the set up...
we've opened the session with out the audio, then had it find the offline audio. so far so good.
it plays the audio fine. but when we try to close down the session it wants to convert the audio before saving session.
whats up?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-10-2002, 12:05 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,752
Default Re: large 96k project can\'t open

Formatting a FireWire drive with a third party utility can cause this behavior. For best compatibility with Pro Tools, format all FireWire drives using the Mac OS:

1-Backup all important data that is on your FireWire drive
2-Highlight the FireWire drive on the Desktop and choose Special>Erase Disk. Choose Mac OS Extended formatting and click OK.
3-Once the drive is formatted, disable/remove all third party FireWire extensions and restart the computer.


Also, if you are only using the FireWire drive for backup, be sure and unmount it before opening the session (PT may still be looking at the firewire drive for some files).

-You may also be dealing with a corrupt session. Launch Track Transfer (Digidesign>Pro Tools>Pro Tools Utilities), move the tracks into a new session document, open the new session in Pro Tools and see if the error persists.

Brent
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Large session will not open in MP9? NeveSSL Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 01-06-2012 04:38 PM
Large TDM Project onto LE Mark2222 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-14-2008 06:55 PM
DAE error 9022 ? - Cannot open large project? spicyrelish Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 09-26-2006 09:49 AM
Large installation speaker wiring project, help? Calvin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-12-2004 08:24 PM
Can't Open large 4.3.2 session in 5.0 Stratman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 02-02-2000 11:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com