Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-07-2019, 10:00 AM
Mixchump Mixchump is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 348
Default Re: Recorded track gets moved ahead PT2018

Ho Ho Hold yer horses here... This is a well-known ProTools bug, and I'm surprised that nobody's mentioned it here.

First of all, double check your ProTools session and see if there are any Aux channels in your session that have plug-ins inserted (a reverb return, delay, whatever) that have an input assigned, but there are no channels sending to it. That particular bug in the mixer causes delay compensation to be wildly higher than it should be, based on what you're actually doing.

Also, if you're creating an effect-laden sound with a bunch of stuff, bussing it down, and printing it to a track - that will throw off delay compensation in a big way, and will result in the audio being inserted WAY ahead (as you've witnessed) on the timeline. I'm pretty sure I've lost clients over this.

Really comb through your session, including any deactivated and/or hidden tracks, remove inputs, outputs, and inserts (or just delete the tracks out of your current version of the session file) and see if the problem persists.

This is a software bug. It's not your fault. You're not crazy.

Last edited by Mixchump; 03-07-2019 at 10:01 AM. Reason: formatting
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-10-2019, 08:33 PM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,651
Default Re: PT moves recorded audio early. HELP! PT2018

I think I'd wanna see what the mix window says as far as latency on all tracks and what ADC is doing - also would want to see what else is in the session.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio Recorded from MIDI track ahead of the beat/grid CalebB macOS 1 10-23-2012 12:03 AM
recorded midi is ahead by 1/32 note! PhilBuckle Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-24-2009 10:29 PM
Recorded MIDI is ahead in playback BiggiT MIDI 7 06-06-2007 12:17 PM
Re: vocal track has moved ahead a few bars??? mikef585 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 07-09-2005 06:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com