Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-13-2018, 05:45 AM
MusicMadness MusicMadness is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 77
Default Session file backups

I have a lot of crashes in PT recently and so I need my session files backups. Can anyone explain why does PT doesn't make auto backups for such a long time against preferences? I've just lost a crucial part of mix

___________________
As my uploaded screenshot is pretty low res - previous auto backup was at 12:18 and PT carashed at 12.34 so there was 15 min without any backups
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2018-07-13 at 12.39.05.jpg (7.6 KB, 0 views)
File Type: png Screen Shot 2018-07-13 at 12.40.42.png (12.0 KB, 0 views)
__________________
PT HD 2018.1, Mac Pro 2013, Digidesign Command 8, Focusrite Clarett 2Pre
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-13-2018, 07:28 AM
skizzo skizzo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 84
Default Re: Session file backups

any chance they went to a different folder location? I've never heard of this happening before so it's perplexing given your settings should create backups every one minute. does this only happen if you have all these crashes? as in if the session is working as normal, check your session back up folder and see if it is creating backups at the proper intervals then, BEFORE any crashes happen
__________________
Mac Pro '09 - 5,1 - Dual Hex Core X5680 3.33 ghz CPU - 48GB RAM
970EVO 500GB (10.13.6) - 1TB WD Black HDD (Samples) - 6TB Toshiba HDD (Backups) - 500GB Glyph GT050Q (Legacy sessions & backups) - 3TB Glyph Studio (Main audio/sessions)
HD5770 GPU

OSX 10.13.6 - Pro Tools 2018.12 - Presonus Studio 192 / Digi 003 Rack+
Focusrite Clarett OctoPre - AKG HPE6 - DBX160A - WA76
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-13-2018, 12:30 PM
Mixchump Mixchump is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 348
Default Re: Session file backups

I also find sometimes that ProTools is not always backing up every minute (I'm set the same, but with 99 backups) but not able to pinpoint the scenarios where it doesn't behave, although in my case, I would say this is fairly rare (but does happen!).


What IS happening for me, is that when ProTools DOES crash, the session file backup is usually very small compared to all the other backups, and is, of course, corrupt. It seems like the actual process of doing Session File Backups is what is CAUSING ProTools to crash...


I'm working on an internal cluster of 4, 4TB drives in a 'stripe of mirrors' config (basically, RAID-10) using Apple's software RAID. It's not high performance at all, but it gives me 2-out-of-4 disk redundancy. I don't need it to be high performance because I'm working from Disk Cache 99.9% of the time, and I like having big time reduncancy.


Is it possible that your situation is also caused by a potential bottleneck in the OS and disk access?


I'm considering my next move, which may involve a high performance 10GBit NAS...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-14-2018, 01:00 AM
MusicMadness MusicMadness is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 77
Default Re: Session file backups

Quote:
Originally Posted by skizzo View Post
any chance they went to a different folder location? I've never heard of this happening before so it's perplexing given your settings should create backups every one minute. does this only happen if you have all these crashes? as in if the session is working as normal, check your session back up folder and see if it is creating backups at the proper intervals then, BEFORE any crashes happen
No chance they're in different location. Although I set it to keep 20 recent backup files, I have all 795 in that folder. I change session name from time to time adding number at the end but still I have more than a hundred files under one name. As you can eventually see on the picture, there's 2 min gap between earlier backups which is against settings as well. I was aware of that behaviour and was accepting that as I explained it to myself 'it only makes backup copy if I make some changes and if I'm only listening for 3 min there is no need to build a new file' but this time was very different.
__________________
PT HD 2018.1, Mac Pro 2013, Digidesign Command 8, Focusrite Clarett 2Pre
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Session File Backups Bug? Mike Caffrey Pro Tools 10 1 09-30-2012 06:05 PM
Session file backups ripekeai macOS 3 10-31-2011 03:04 PM
Session File Backups Desert Fish Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-21-2009 03:50 PM
Session file Backups Jel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-07-2006 07:09 PM
Session File backups turtlehead Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-02-2005 10:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com