Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-08-2011, 01:45 PM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,702
Default Logic Pro now costs $199 !!!! Are you watching Avid?

Sort of puts Avid's HD upgrade prices into stark perspective?

The FULL version of Logic Pro now costs $199 !!!

Check the App Store for details.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Avid HDX1, PT12 HD, HD I/O 16x16, Avid S6 M10 24-5, 2013 12 Core Mac Pro. Robby The Robot meter bridge ornament.
  #2  
Old 12-08-2011, 02:06 PM
philip888's Avatar
philip888 philip888 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,947
Default Re: Logic Pro now costs $199 !!!! Are you watching Avid?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
Sort of puts Avid's HD upgrade prices into stark perspective?

The FULL version of Logic Pro now costs $199 !!!

Check the App Store for details.
Where?

I see the upgrade to Logic Pro for $199.

But no Full version.

Full version is $499.

What are you talking about?
__________________
Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R BIOS FH, Intel Core i7 CPU 980X, 24GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline DDR3 1600Mhz PC3-12800, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit, Pro Tools 12.4 Antelope Orion 32
  #3  
Old 12-08-2011, 02:08 PM
yamahadrums yamahadrums is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 261
Default Re: Logic Pro now costs $199 !!!! Are you watching Avid?

Correct, 199$. Take a look again!
  #4  
Old 12-08-2011, 02:09 PM
cubivore cubivore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: houston tx
Posts: 87
Default Re: Logic Pro now costs $199 !!!! Are you watching Avid?

i see $199 too. 'released dec. 08 2012'. i think this is a result of apple discontinuing the box release and making it app store only. the price is definitely competitive and apparently it's not gimped like FCPx. i've been curious why avid doesn't release stuff through the app store, mostly cos i have a bunch of useless itunes/appstore giftcards. :P
  #5  
Old 12-08-2011, 02:13 PM
Ryan Hafer Ryan Hafer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 58
Default Re: Logic Pro now costs $199 !!!! Are you watching Avid?

It look to me like it's just the Logic Pro 9 app. The $499 Logic Studio includes the other apps - Waveburner, Main Stage, Soundtrack Pro, etc... Main Stage is even a separate item in the app store. This has no mention of the other apps until you look in the Apple Store for Logic Studio.
But I could be wrong...

It's a good deal non-the-less....

-Ryan
  #6  
Old 12-08-2011, 02:17 PM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,702
Default Re: Logic Pro now costs $199 !!!! Are you watching Avid?

It's the exact same version of Logic you could buy last week, minus Mainstage (available separately,) and presumably the 50GB of content. Soundtrack Pro is now Soundtrack Deceased I think and I don't see Waveburner seems to have gone.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Avid HDX1, PT12 HD, HD I/O 16x16, Avid S6 M10 24-5, 2013 12 Core Mac Pro. Robby The Robot meter bridge ornament.
  #7  
Old 12-08-2011, 02:18 PM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,702
Default Re: Logic Pro now costs $199 !!!! Are you watching Avid?

Quote:
Where?

I see the upgrade to Logic Pro for $199.

But no Full version.

Full version is $499.

What are you talking about?
I just said!!!!

Check the app store.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Avid HDX1, PT12 HD, HD I/O 16x16, Avid S6 M10 24-5, 2013 12 Core Mac Pro. Robby The Robot meter bridge ornament.
  #8  
Old 12-08-2011, 02:24 PM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,702
Default Re: Logic Pro now costs $199 !!!! Are you watching Avid?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Hafer View Post
It look to me like it's just the Logic Pro 9 app. The $499 Logic Studio includes the other apps - Waveburner, Main Stage, Soundtrack Pro, etc... Main Stage is even a separate item in the app store. This has no mention of the other apps until you look in the Apple Store for Logic Studio.
But I could be wrong...

It's a good deal non-the-less....

-Ryan
Apple have discontinued the boxed, bundle version apparently.
http://www.macrumors.com/
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Avid HDX1, PT12 HD, HD I/O 16x16, Avid S6 M10 24-5, 2013 12 Core Mac Pro. Robby The Robot meter bridge ornament.
  #9  
Old 12-08-2011, 02:26 PM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,200
Default Re: Logic Pro now costs $199 !!!! Are you watching Avid?

£139.99 here in the UK, 413mb, Logic Studio still available for over £400, not for long i imagine.

I think Apple are finally wise to the fact that getting people to pay for 1's and 0's is far better for business than any physical software product.
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
  #10  
Old 12-08-2011, 04:16 PM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: Logic Pro now costs $199 !!!! Are you watching Avid?

that's because Logic is tied Apple hardware and you better have a newer Intel as well.
Pro Tools is no longer tied to Avid hardware so prices go up - you don't need a college degree to see that was not gonna happen.
even if Avid gave away PT for free all the whiners here would gripe about that too.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Watching Movies with Digi Interface chrismeraz Windows 2 01-02-2011 01:54 PM
Watching Pro Tools Tutorials michaiel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 05-10-2009 07:43 AM
003 Rack / Mac Book – watching dvds in 5.1? komakaze 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-30-2009 02:53 AM
OT : So are you watching American Idol? WorldOfWiz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 03-22-2003 11:54 PM
Watching movies with your ASIO drivers turko 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 01-08-2003 01:19 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com