Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-2005, 08:05 PM
Andre Knecht Andre Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,187
Default PT7 Plug-In Compatibility

What - if anything - was said at AES about plug-in compatibility for PT HD7?

In other words, does the new RTAS functionality require plug-ins to be updated by their respective makers?
__________________
Andre Knecht

We’ll fix it in the shrink-wrap. (Frank Zappa)

.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-07-2005, 08:44 PM
Vaphoron Vaphoron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 2,539
Default Re: PT7 Plug-In Compatibility

I too am rather surprised this hasn't been brought up already. The new URS compressor mentioned free upgrade to PT7 compatibility so I'm guessing updates will be required.
__________________
- Jason
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-07-2005, 08:47 PM
Vaphoron Vaphoron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 2,539
Default Re: PT7 Plug-In Compatibility

Actually, I think I might be talking about something a little different. You might find this helpful. I am just curious about all plug-ins needing to be updated to work with PT7.
__________________
- Jason
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-07-2005, 09:01 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,547
Default Re: PT7 Plug-In Compatibility

Quote:
..does the new RTAS functionality require plug-ins to be updated by their respective makers?


Yes

RTAS Improvement Features

Shane

__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-07-2005, 09:05 PM
Andre Knecht Andre Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,187
Default Re: PT7 Plug-In Compatibility

Thanks Jason.

I saw that RTAS marketing page earlier this morning. Reading it, one could certainly infer that current versions of RTAS plugs will work,but that the new-found efficiency can only be achieved by way of “optimized” plugs.

And yet, I wish Digi would - in addition to the “pure marketing” ones published today - provide extra links where things are actually spelled out.
__________________
Andre Knecht

We’ll fix it in the shrink-wrap. (Frank Zappa)

.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-07-2005, 09:11 PM
Andre Knecht Andre Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,187
Default Re: PT7 Plug-In Compatibility

And thank you Shane - I would have never caught that on my own (my mom doesn’t want me to read the Windoms stuff).
__________________
Andre Knecht

We’ll fix it in the shrink-wrap. (Frank Zappa)

.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-07-2005, 10:56 PM
snoopy snoopy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Hollywood CA
Posts: 744
Default Re: PT7 Plug-In Compatibility

Is it safe to say that people who bought massive pack will need to buy upgrades for the plugins thy bought month ago in order to run them on PT7? Or hopefuly only if they want the RTAS optimization?
__________________
Colin Miller
Teaboy Audio Recall Sheets
http://teaboyaudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-08-2005, 08:48 AM
Wolfgang Eller Wolfgang Eller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,036
Default Re: PT7 Plug-In Compatibility

Quote:
In other words, does the new RTAS functionality require plug-ins to be updated by their respective makers?
Hey Waves, fresh money is on the way.
Must be like X-Mas in Israel.
Or like John said: With a little help from my friends.

Cheers Wolfgang
__________________
www.srs-mastering.de
Mac Pro 6.1-8core, OS 10.13, PT2018, HDX2, Sonnet Echo Express III-R, Madi Interface.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-08-2005, 01:41 PM
Andre Knecht Andre Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,187
Default Re: PT7 Plug-In Compatibility

Hi Wolfgang,

I posted the direct question on the Waves forum yesterday. No response yet, but I posted late Friday and chances are they had already started their weekend.

However, regarding this very topic, see what Rail Jon Rogut wrote here.
__________________
Andre Knecht

We’ll fix it in the shrink-wrap. (Frank Zappa)

.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-08-2005, 02:19 PM
ashdot ashdot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel
Posts: 206
Default Re: PT7 Plug-In Compatibility

Wolfgang,

I may be touchy, but I must admit I didn't quite like the Shakesperian (Merchant of Venice) insinuation in your post.

Izhar Ashdot
Tel Aviv
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 9 Plug-in Compatibility? raw Pro Tools 9 0 11-05-2010 06:03 PM
plug in compatibility floplight 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-27-2010 05:59 PM
Compatibility of plug ins from LE to HD bukman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 10-26-2009 02:43 PM
Plug compatibility for PT7 johnnyv Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-19-2005 08:03 PM
Plug-ins compatibility Przemek Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 10-19-1998 12:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com