Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-09-2018, 03:14 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,096
Default Re: Will there be a new version of Pro Tools in 2018?

10.14.2 just out
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-09-2018, 07:46 PM
cmbourget cmbourget is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mιtis-sur-Mer, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 569
Default Re: Will there be a new version of Pro Tools in 2018?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Got It !

I think there will be one more version this year with some fixes etc but I don’t think it will be any features in this release.

Thanks.
__________________
Pro Tools Vanilla 2019, Cubase 10, Samplitude Suite Pro X4, Wavelab 2010

PC Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2667 v2 8 cores
3.33 GHz 64 Go, full SSD

Prism sound Atlas and 2 Focal Solo Be + Sub

Etc.!

www.claudemarcbourget.com
www.metis-islands.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-10-2018, 09:05 AM
audiobob's Avatar
audiobob audiobob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Houston
Posts: 922
Default Re: Will there be a new version of Pro Tools in 2018?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexLakis View Post
I'm hoping for Mojave-approval in 2018.
According to this Technical Alert...Avid released Pro Tools 12.8.3 on December 19th, 2017 with High Sierra (10.13.2) support. I would think we're close to Mojave.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-10-2018, 10:58 AM
Jay_uk Jay_uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,229
Default Re: Will there be a new version of Pro Tools in 2018?

Sorry if this is in the incorrect thread but i did not want to create a new one.
Its just a heads up on a 20 percent discount (today only) on Pro Tools plans/software upgrade. From KMR.
Choose store delivery option for digital download.
use code <XMASDEAL7>



https://mailchi.mp/kmraudio/12-exclu...-for-christmas

Please move/remove Jeffro if it goes against any protocol.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-10-2018, 01:23 PM
sjallyn sjallyn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Irvington, New York
Posts: 10
Default Re: Will there be a new version of Pro Tools in 2018?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KV626 View Post
No one knows I guess, except jeffro maybe . The Falcon announcement came exactly at the time of my renewal , but I'd like to have an official Mojave support before the end of the year and maybe a couple of new features... That said 2018.10 already works great (even under Mojave) so it's not a life-and-death situation either
Well it is life and death with me, as AVID and Protools fails terribly with i9 processors, and anything post MacOS 10.13.3, which is now 6 Mac OS revisions behind. It is outrageous. I have stopped paying them until this gets fixed, I am not about to spend my money on something I can no longer use. I have 5 other DAWS which all work perfectly on every MacOS and with i9 processors and no issues. AVID has lost it as far as I am concerned. 10.13.3 came out in January of 2013 and was quickly superseded by 10.13.4 in March but AVID has failed to update Protools to run on that or any Mac OS since March of 2013. That's just way too long to be paying money for.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-10-2018, 01:44 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 868
Default Re: Will there be a new version of Pro Tools in 2018?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjallyn View Post
Well it is life and death with me, as AVID and Protools fails terribly with i9 processors, and anything post MacOS 10.13.3, which is now 6 Mac OS revisions behind. It is outrageous. I have stopped paying them until this gets fixed, I am not about to spend my money on something I can no longer use. I have 5 other DAWS which all work perfectly on every MacOS and with i9 processors and no issues. AVID has lost it as far as I am concerned. 10.13.3 came out in January of 2013 and was quickly superseded by 10.13.4 in March but AVID has failed to update Protools to run on that or any Mac OS since March of 2013. That's just way too long to be paying money for.
Only issue is if you let your support lapse it costs much more to get current.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-10-2018, 02:11 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,908
Default Re: Will there be a new version of Pro Tools in 2018?

Are you saying that 10.13.3 is 5 years old ??

Just so you know many people are using the newer OS and Mojave works kinda great as we gave one of our trashcans a go so why not just make a backup and try Mojave on a new ssd drive? Works well here and for most people here on the forumz
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-10-2018, 03:28 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,440
Default Re: Will there be a new version of Pro Tools in 2018?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjallyn View Post
Well it is life and death with me, as AVID and Protools fails terribly with i9 processors, and anything post MacOS 10.13.3, which is now 6 Mac OS revisions behind. It is outrageous. I have stopped paying them until this gets fixed, I am not about to spend my money on something I can no longer use. I have 5 other DAWS which all work perfectly on every MacOS and with i9 processors and no issues. AVID has lost it as far as I am concerned. 10.13.3 came out in January of 2013 and was quickly superseded by 10.13.4 in March but AVID has failed to update Protools to run on that or any Mac OS since March of 2013. That's just way too long to be paying money for.
If there was a widespread problem with the i9 processor there would be wild screaming about it here. And folks with the iMac Pro in particular seem impressed with its performance. It's much more likely something specific to you setup. You've posted a few comments on other user's threads about having problems but you have not really engaged here at least in troubleshooting what is going on on your system. If my understanding is incorrect please point to the threads with that info.

Why don't you start your own new thread, clearly listing your systems specs and all the standard and other troubleshooting you have done, and confirm you system is fully optimized (check *every* last optimization thing is done, no matter how inconvenient at least until you have a more stable system). Starting your own thread for serious issues is really what is expected here, you are not going to get the same help by dropping occasional posts onto other threads, unless they are directly related to the issue.

If this is killing you what has Avid support said? Do you have a case # (for Avid folks here).

What exact errors do you get and when did this start happening? (what exactly changed). What sample rate and IO buffer size are you using with what interface? What driver version? What make/model disk drives and where are the audio files?

Standard troubleshooting things you especially should have already tried are moving all .aaxplugin files out of the plugin folder (you've made points in other post about not using plugins in sessions, but the more important test is to get all third party plugins out of Pro Tools). trashing prefs, testing with new empty sessions, testing with Built-In output as the playback engine, creating a new admin account and repeating the testing from there. Trashing prefs as you try those different things. Make sure ignore errors is not checked, disk cache is enabled (set to a size not "normal") and dynamic plugin processing is turned off (not likely an issue in your case from what you've described elsewhere but jet get it off).

Especially if your OS has been upgraded in-situ and nothing else is helping then bite the bullet and do a full clean macOS install onto a spare drive or partition and only install Pro Tools and ILM and test using Built-In Output. If that has problems then especially let us know here, Avid should be all over that.... That ultimate reinstall test should take an hour or two elapsed time so not the end of the world.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-10-2018, 03:32 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,905
Default Re: Will there be a new version of Pro Tools in 2018?

Quote:
Originally Posted by arche3 View Post
Only issue is if you let your support lapse it costs much more to get current.

This depends on how long you lapse for. I have lapsed for so long now that I have saved more than what it would cost to get current.


Still nothing to entice me to get current.....so still saving $$$
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-10-2018, 04:05 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,096
Default Re: Will there be a new version of Pro Tools in 2018?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjallyn View Post
Protools fails terribly with i9 processors
Have you tried turning off hyperthreading?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is Pro Tools 2018 EVER going to be supported on a current Version of High Sierra? off the wall macOS 10 01-05-2019 05:53 PM
10.13.6 with 2018.7 ... best version ever!? Holy Sssh Mattian Pro Tools 2018 87 11-26-2018 12:06 PM
Pro Tools 2018.3 / 2018.4 crashing when switching window configurations matthewmkb macOS 0 06-27-2018 07:33 AM
Permission Denied (13) on Launch -Pro Tools 12, Version 2018.1 Randroo Pro Tools 2018 7 05-07-2018 09:11 AM
Does the 2018 boxed version come with iLok 2 or 3 and ... rique000 Pro Tools 2018 3 02-23-2018 07:11 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com