Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-02-2009, 10:27 PM
Tritonemusic Tritonemusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 25
Default Converting Stereo to Mono

Hi folks. This is my first post here. I think I must be overlooking the obvious but still haven't been able to find an answer.

I received 8 Stereo AIFF tracks of drums from a partner (kick, snare, low tom, high tom, etc.). I imported them into PT8 and realized that they're actually centered (one mic per track, recorded in Mono but bounced to Stereo AIFF).
What is the best approach to take to convert these 8 Stereo tracks to Mono tracks (since that's what they're really supposed to be)? Is there a way to convert them within PT all at once, or do I have to bounce them in real-time, one by one, and then bring the Mono tracks back into PT? I hope that made sense.

Thanks a lot for your help. I certainly appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-02-2009, 10:34 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,078
Default Re: Converting Stereo to Mono

Highlight the track names and go up top to the TRACK drop-down menu and select "split to mono" (or something like that) and all your stereo tracks will be split out to 2x mono tracks. You will then want to delete(or at least disable and hide) the extra tracks. Another method is, delete all the tracks(in the edit window), create the correct number of new mono audio tracks, go to the REGIONS bin and click on the little arrows by each stereo region, which will "explode" them to show L&R regions separately. You can then drag the Left (or right) of each onto your new empty tracks.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-02-2009, 10:50 PM
Tritonemusic Tritonemusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 25
Default Re: Converting Stereo to Mono

Wow, right under my nose. Quite embarrassing. Thanks, Albee.
__________________
• Pro Tools LE 8.0.4cs2, Mbox 2 Pro • OS 10.6.5, Mac Pro 2 x 2.8 GHz Quad-Core Intel, 8 GB RAM • 7200 RPM System Drive, 10,000 RPM Audio Drive, 10,000 RPM BFD2 Drive
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-29-2010, 11:15 AM
dunego dunego is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brazil
Posts: 12
Default Re: Converting Stereo to Mono

In the case I want to convert stereo tracks to mono summed I got to real time bounce track by track ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-29-2010, 12:07 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,078
Default Re: Converting Stereo to Mono

Quote:
Originally Posted by dunego View Post
In the case I want to convert stereo tracks to mono summed I got to real time bounce track by track ?
Yes
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-20-2010, 10:01 PM
dunego dunego is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brazil
Posts: 12
Default Re: Converting Stereo to Mono

That´s a shame. Is ridiculous how Pro-Tools doesn't do simple stuff that all the competitors does, and how slowly they implement new features on the software. BTW dual mono files are so god deam old... stereo files already are dual mono files. The only reason I can think for that is that they use 90% the same code as PT 4.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-21-2010, 08:31 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,078
Default Re: Converting Stereo to Mono

Quote:
Originally Posted by dunego View Post
That´s a shame. Is ridiculous how Pro-Tools doesn't do simple stuff that all the competitors does, and how slowly they implement new features on the software. BTW dual mono files are so god deam old... stereo files already are dual mono files. The only reason I can think for that is that they use 90% the same code as PT 4.
While this may be true, maybe a more important question is; why do you have the need to mono-sum any stereo track? Setting both pan knobs to 12 o'clock will net the exact same sound.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-05-2010, 06:56 PM
Submersible Submersible is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 121
Default Re: Converting Stereo to Mono

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Highlight the track names and go up top to the TRACK drop-down menu and select "split to mono" (or something like that) and all your stereo tracks will be split out to 2x mono tracks. You will then want to delete(or at least disable and hide) the extra tracks.
That would be like turning the pan knob on your stereo all the way to one side and thinking that you're hearing a mono mix of the song. You're not. You just threw half of the information away. You have to engage the mono button (if it has one) that will sum the left and right sides together.

I can't think of any way to collapse stereo to mono in Pro Tools without bouncing or re-recording. I've been looking, though.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-05-2010, 07:36 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,078
Default Re: Converting Stereo to Mono

Quote:
Originally Posted by Submersible View Post
That would be like turning the pan knob on your stereo all the way to one side and thinking that you're hearing a mono mix of the song. You're not. You just threw half of the information away. You have to engage the mono button (if it has one) that will sum the left and right sides together.

I can't think of any way to collapse stereo to mono in Pro Tools without bouncing or re-recording. I've been looking, though.
Like I said, put both PAN knobs to 12 o'clock and you get summed mono out of a stereo track.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-05-2011, 03:01 PM
dunego dunego is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brazil
Posts: 12
Default Re: Converting Stereo to Mono

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Like I said, put both PAN knobs to 12 o'clock and you get summed mono out of a stereo track.
Yep but it´s still double processing 2 mono files. Plugins will have to be stereo, double processing power. BTW a maybe little off topic here but a freeze feature in PT would be nice too. What´s the deal with it, maybe freezing tracks doesn't sounds 'professional' ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting Stereo to Mono audio trax DonaldM Tips & Tricks 12 11-10-2009 07:00 AM
converting stereo tracks to mono bigboi78 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-23-2005 01:42 PM
converting a mono track to stereo cdp2004 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 08-07-2004 07:38 AM
Need help converting a stereo track to mono Siberian 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-18-2004 10:30 AM
Converting stereo to mono in PT Lord Humungous 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-20-2003 11:11 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com