Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-16-2020, 10:51 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,484
Default I finally caved and bought omnisphere 2

The usb boxed edition as it worked out much cheaper buying it in AUD locally than buying the download online. I really want RMX, trilian and Keyscape as well, but that will have to be in a couple months. One every 2 months so hopefully by winter i'll have them all (aussie winter US summer).

Standard free post so will be here around wednesday the 22nd.

Tell me what to expect..How's cpu usage on it when playing high polyphony long release pads?

It's basically the ultimate "rompler" right? A variety of ready to play sounds in all genres, with multi timbral capability and it's own mixer with EFX?

Where does it excel for you? What sound category?

How's the onboard synth? Quite basic I once read, but good to layer in with the samples?

If you have Halion Sonic or Halion 6 also, how do you feel it compares to that? I LOVE halion sonic, it's my favourite virtual plugin "rompler" thus far, but it is pretty nasty on the CPU and has a very cluttered interface. Omni interface seems very streamlined and pleasant.

Anyway.. looking forward to it.. I wonder if you can still use it for 3 days prior registration like you could a couple years back?... That way I could audition every sound and see if my imac pro can deal with using a reasonable number of them.. If not, I could just sell it on unregistered (otherwise there is a $50 fee). It's the single most expensive plugin I have bought in YEARS, but I have always wanted it.. I am pretty sure it will give me what i am after, just a ton of usable sounds of various instruments and pads.. like an xpand 2 on steroids.

But would love to hear from others, and how well it works in PT. :)

Cheers.
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, UA Apollo x3 + Octopre x3, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2019.12
-MBP 15" 2.8ghz 4 core, 16gb ram, 750M, dual boot OS 10.13.6/10.14.6, On board analog audio out, PT 2018/2019
-Whenever I launch Pro Tools, I get wet.(™)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2020, 07:50 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,174
Default Re: I finally caved and bought omnisphere 2

Its way more than a romPler. Omni has very in depth sound design features that allow you to easily create your own patches, either using the multiple wave forms and samples that come with it, or by importing your own samples. the latest version is 2.6 so make sure that's what you have. If not, once you've installed it on your system, I'd highly recommend updating. Its a free update for any owners of 2.0 or higher.



It comes loaded with hundreds of great patches and multis to get you started. They also have setups that will auto-map certain midi controllers to omnisphere such as Nord Stage or Nord 1, 2, 3 or 4, or Yamaha Reface CS, and about 30 others. That means that when you choose that set up, if you have one of those controllers, everything is premapped onto Omnisphere so all the knobs and sliders on the controller work instantly with the parameters in Omni. Also, they provide all kinds of patches in the style of those same synths. Not exact emulations, but definitely in the family.



Omni is a monster without a doubt. You'll need to take time with it to understand the layout an how the various components integrate. It is a full on sound design synth.



It can be a bit of a resource hog depending on the patch (or multi) and what system you're running. I have an older windows based Dell (see my signature below for the exact system) and I do run into a CPU clog every once in a while with Omni. If you have a newer more powerful CPU you might not notice anything. Of course track freeze or commit can alleviate that issue.



There are also several good places to pick up 3rd party patch and multi libraries for it. One in particular, which I highly recommend is Plug-in Guru. John (Skippy) Lehmkuhl is the "guru" and he's a superb sound designer. He has lots of helpful videos on his website about the various patches for Omni that will help you better understand it. And his libraries are excellent. I own about 15 of them and they're all just great.



Finally, there are several helpful tutorial videos on the Spectrsonics website.



Good luck and most of all HAVE FUN with it!!
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2019.10
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2020, 06:52 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,484
Default Re: I finally caved and bought omnisphere 2

Thanks Donald for such a thoughtful reply.

It seems like I will really enjoy it.

Currently the imac pro in my sig, where it will be installed, is around double in single core performance, and 2.5x the multi core in Geekbench and Cinebench.

These don't always translate to DAW and plugin use but it does mean that I'll be ok to play Omnisphere at a 128 buffer.

Pro Tool's freeze and commit is exceptional and I am not at all adverse to using it, but I do like to get as much done in realtime as possible with VI's. This is only because I find midi easier to edit than audio.

I am very well aware of Johns' work, he's an exceptional sound designer. I bought a few of his products at his Xmas sale, and I will get some of the omnisphere titles next sale.

Cheers
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, UA Apollo x3 + Octopre x3, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2019.12
-MBP 15" 2.8ghz 4 core, 16gb ram, 750M, dual boot OS 10.13.6/10.14.6, On board analog audio out, PT 2018/2019
-Whenever I launch Pro Tools, I get wet.(™)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-18-2020, 01:09 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,174
Default Re: I finally caved and bought omnisphere 2

Then I'd say you're all set and you're in for a real treat! It will be "Just slide the pizza under the door please" time!


One of the features I really like in Omni is the plethora of fx they have and the multiple ways you can apply them. There are some very creative fx included, nicely done visually for ease of use, but also nicely done sonically, for good sound.



Omni is also a true multi-timbral VI in that you can have up to 8 separate patches layered together (each made up of up to 4 separate oscillators (or samples), mapped however you wish across the keyboard, and each can be individually controlled on their own MIDI channel, AND, each can have their audio routed out to separate audio/aux tracks.



You can also import your own MIDI grooves to make your own arps to add to the dozens already on board.



Its a real powerhouse!


Enjoy!
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2019.10
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-18-2020, 02:47 PM
grayter1 grayter1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Woodbury, MN
Posts: 304
Default Re: I finally caved and bought omnisphere 2

I bought it six months ago, and I'm still getting to know it. The presets are so good that I haven't gone beyond that yet. It's a fantastic plugin, and because of its versatility, is quickly becoming one of the only things I use.

tg
__________________
Win 10 Pro / i7-6700K 4.00GHz / GA-Z170X-UD5 / 32 GB / nVIDIA GTX 1050ti / Audient iD22 / Komplete S49 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 / Nuendo 10 / Reaper 5 / Studio One 4.5 / Komplete 12
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-19-2020, 02:23 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,174
Default Re: I finally caved and bought omnisphere 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by grayter1 View Post
I bought it six months ago, and I'm still getting to know it. The presets are so good that I haven't gone beyond that yet. It's a fantastic plugin, and because of its versatility, is quickly becoming one of the only things I use.

tg

Yeah, I hear you! I bounce between Omni, Falcon 2, and, quite often, Dune 3 even though I have 40+ other VI's.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2019.10
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finally Bought UAD-2 - which three plugs to choose? noah330 AAX Plug-ins 24 02-28-2019 07:37 AM
Sold Pod HD, Bought 11R finally Captain Dog Eleven Rack 11 03-30-2012 02:56 AM
Finally Bought Logic football2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 31 01-04-2008 04:59 AM
I finally bought TL Space... Keith Owens 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-13-2005 04:54 PM
bought ultra scsi card when I bought my G4 -- do I need to buy a different one? Joseph Grimm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-30-2000 10:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com