Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-11-2014, 01:29 AM
Rockman413 Rockman413 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 475
Default How to set auto saving time?

How to set auto saving time? like I want it to only auto save half an hour for one time.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-11-2014, 04:16 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,112
Default Re: How to set auto saving time?

Preferences->Operation->Auto Backup -> Backup every : x minutes

Se Pro Tools Reference guide for more information.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-11-2014, 07:52 AM
Rockman413 Rockman413 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 475
Default Re: How to set auto saving time?

Solved, thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-11-2014, 08:44 PM
CygnusX-1Bk2 CygnusX-1Bk2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 633
Default Re: How to set auto saving time?

Half hour is too long. You can limit the number of backup files saved. I use 10 minutes. Sometimes that is too long.

Think about how many critical moves you can make in a half hour. Do you really want to redo your last half hour after a crash? Time is money. Literally and figuratively.

It's always a good habit to save after a major adjustment or series of adjustments. I can't tell you how many times I've had to redo several moves even with a 10 minute auto save cycle. Session files are relatively small. Plus if you take a mix too far in a bad direction you can think back to a good point then find an auto save from near that time then open and resave as the main session. Also don't be afraid to branch mix sessions. By this I mean saving slightly different versions of the same thing with minor differences. Use the file name to denote differences.
__________________
I will choose,
Freewill
http://jimdiazaudio.com/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-12-2014, 04:15 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,325
Default Re: How to set auto saving time?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CygnusX-1Bk2 View Post
Half hour is too long. You can limit the number of backup files saved. I use 10 minutes. Sometimes that is too long.

Think about how many critical moves you can make in a half hour. Do you really want to redo your last half hour after a crash? Time is money. Literally and figuratively.

It's always a good habit to save after a major adjustment or series of adjustments. I can't tell you how many times I've had to redo several moves even with a 10 minute auto save cycle. Session files are relatively small. Plus if you take a mix too far in a bad direction you can think back to a good point then find an auto save from near that time then open and resave as the main session. Also don't be afraid to branch mix sessions. By this I mean saving slightly different versions of the same thing with minor differences. Use the file name to denote differences.
I use 10 minutes here and limit to the last 5 autosaves although with that sometimes when I look at the folder that has the autosaves I have way more than the last 5 autosaves.

I not only use autosave but my left hand is permanently formed into the cmd-S shape for manual saves as well. Good habit to learn (or the Windoze version as well if you're on that OS).
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-12-2014, 08:08 PM
Seafoam_Green's Avatar
Seafoam_Green Seafoam_Green is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Qld - Australia (Ex Bali)
Posts: 795
Default Re: How to set auto saving time?

5 minutes for me , but now ive sorted out a few bugs that were in my system, I could maybe go 10 minutes , it depends on what in dong ..., but saving doesnt take much room so I think i will stick with 5.

If your running out of HD space,you can always delete some old saves if you are entirely happy with what youve done and cant see yourself going back (but save the opening ones though )

I will also maually save too ..., Ive learnt to do this the hard way from having things crash after doing the most complicated of tasks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto saving snapshots??? Limelight VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 01-27-2011 10:11 AM
Please add auto show file overwrite when adding/saving/editing snapshots! digidesigner VENUE Live Sound Systems 15 10-10-2010 05:42 AM
Most Time Saving Key Command Shortcuts? tomhartman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 11-06-2009 09:26 AM
Up to 30 sec. Lag time saving Session and auto-save backup js_nyc Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 02-28-2008 08:17 PM
Saving in HD Taking a Looooonnnng Time! EAR Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 08-27-2002 08:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com