Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-20-2004, 10:29 AM
Azimuth124 Azimuth124 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: RI
Posts: 10
Default A small issue- Powerbook, 002R, Firewire

Alright, I've got an 867 G4 book with 512 ram, 002R, and a western Digital 250G drive partitioned into 3 segments. I can't seem to playback or record to sessions that are about 25-30 tracks with minimal plugins at 24/48. I keep getting silly little errors that tell me to increase the buffer, decrease the buffer, or that my drive is too slow or fragmented... interesting. It's formatted using disk utility- and I've tried the drive both before and after the 002. These little problems also appear if I only record or play back say.. ONE track. It's strange.

Even stranger- these sessions will play and record in quite a stable fashion from my internal drive which is almost full.... I know people do this on a regular basis. I know it's possible. I'm just not sure why this is happening here.

Any help is MOST appreciated.

thanks,
Rob
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-20-2004, 12:22 PM
carbonunit carbonunit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: providence, rhode island
Posts: 69
Default Re: A small issue- Powerbook, 002R, Firewire


You've got your FW drive divided into 3 partitions? May I ask why?

Dave

__________________
dave cardoza
carbon unit productions
---------------------------
infest the planet.

PB al 12" G4
750 MB ram
OSX 10.3.1
Digi 002R
PTLE 6.2.2
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-20-2004, 12:59 PM
cwhite771 cwhite771 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 708
Default Re: A small issue- Powerbook, 002R, Firewire

What type of enclosure is the drive in? I'm assuming it's FireWire, but does it have the Oxford chipset? Just curious.

Also, 25-30 tracks in PT6 is pushing it pretty hard for that machine-- what do your CPU and system meters read?
---
c
__________________
2013 MacPro 3.5GHz 6-core/16GB RAM/OS10.9.2 - PT10.3.8/PT11.1.2 - RME UFX - Apogee Rosetta 200 - and a bunch of other stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-20-2004, 02:03 PM
letrev's Avatar
letrev letrev is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Staten Island, NY US
Posts: 558
Default Re: A small issue- Powerbook, 002R, Firewire

I'd suggest copying all data to a different drive, initialize your primary drive and forego the partitions. This will defragment your data and will probably result in a more usable drive. Do be sure that you're using an Oxford911-equipped FW bridge.
__________________
************
Steven Vertel
Mixing / Mastering Engineer
High Rock Records & Studio
NYC

http://highrockrecords.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-21-2004, 08:48 AM
Azimuth124 Azimuth124 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: RI
Posts: 10
Default Re: A small issue- Powerbook, 002R, Firewire

Thanks for the info. Here comes stupid question time- how do I know what type of chipset is in the chassis? If you would like to see the drive, you can go to http://www.westerndigital.com/en/pro...asp?DriveID=49

As for the partitions- my rationale was simply to make sure the system knew it only had to look to one, much smaller than 250GB portion of the drive to run the session. That way it would have a less vast place to be pulling from.

As for defragmenting- it can't be fragmented, can it? It's a brand new, just-been-formatted drive that had the information transferred to it just the other day. Still think I should de-frag?

thanks again.

-Rob
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-21-2004, 10:01 AM
cwhite771 cwhite771 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 708
Default Re: A small issue- Powerbook, 002R, Firewire

Quote:
Thanks for the info. Here comes stupid question time- how do I know what type of chipset is in the chassis? If you would like to see the drive, you can go to http://www.westerndigital.com/en/pro...asp?DriveID=49
If it uses the Oxford chipset, they pretty much always mention that in the specs. Looking at the info in the link you posted, I didn't see anything mentioning it. So, It's most likely not Oxford. You could contact their customer support and ask to be sure.

Don't worry about de-fragging your drive. If you just formatted it, it's not an issue. Plus, as was discussed on this thread, it's a waste of time.

However, ditching the partitions is probably a good idea.
---
c
__________________
2013 MacPro 3.5GHz 6-core/16GB RAM/OS10.9.2 - PT10.3.8/PT11.1.2 - RME UFX - Apogee Rosetta 200 - and a bunch of other stuff.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
002R PT LE 8.03 Firewire recognition issue audioninjateck 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 04-13-2010 06:52 PM
002r Firewire busses going bad-This a known issue?! audiopunk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 05-08-2007 10:01 PM
using a firewire hub for 002r w/a powerbook 12in?? straight cash 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-06-2006 10:05 AM
002r firewire issue Punch Drunk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-25-2005 11:59 PM
calibrating a small room with 002R viaspiaggia Post - Surround - Video 7 02-05-2005 08:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com