Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 03-28-2010, 07:34 AM

Default Use Round Robin for new track allocation?

Brand new Mac Pro, twin procs, 12 gig, 1 640gb system drive, 2 1T data drives. OSX 10.6, MBox2 Pro, PT 8.0.3.

I'm a newb with PT. Anyway, I was trying to utilize my 2nd data drive for tracks and saw this little checkbox and thought, "wow, that must be what I'm looking for"... not!

I discovered that I was getting audio, rendering, and fade folders and files on my system drive..., so... I unchecked that, moved my files, and changed the allocation in the dialog. All is cool again...

Question is, does anyone know a way to make this happen without PT using the system drive?
Old 03-28-2010, 08:53 AM

Default Re: Use Round Robin for new track allocation?

Why? There's no reason to be using Round Robin on a LE system. That being said, if you feel it's necessary for some odd reason, setup your drives accordingly in the workspace browser and you'll be good to go.
Old 03-28-2010, 09:30 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slim Shady View Post
Why? There's no reason to be using Round Robin on a LE system. That being said, if you feel it's necessary for some odd reason, setup your drives accordingly in the workspace browser and you'll be good to go.
Why? Check my post count. I was 'told' when putting this system together to use 2 drives if possible and don't use the system drive to record to. So I bought 2 1T drives.

I used to put PT rigs together back when 888's were the big thing and huge HD's were 250 megs. So track allocation was a big deal.

I don't mind recording to one drive at all. It makes life so much simpler. Thanks.
Old 03-28-2010, 09:56 AM