Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 12-21-2017, 01:26 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,440
Default Delay Compensation on a track with no other tracks in the session.

It is meaningless because it does nothing. Using it as intended works fine. If it could be shown to actually cause a problem, then of course it should be fixed. You can play all you want, but folks should not expect they deserve an explanation from developers or others for something that demobsteatably does not matter... there is much more real stuff to worry about.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-21-2017, 03:59 PM
ZEUSS ZEUSS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 545
Default Re: Delay Compensation on a track with no other tracks in the session.

It does cause a problem. When using Aux inputs bussed to record tracks. I have a ticket with them that is acknowledged and logged but can't be fixed until the next non dot release. Hopefully for 13. I figured out a workaround though.
__________________
10.14.5 Mac Pro 2013 (Trashcan) 6 Core 64 gigs Ram, Red Line 16, Native Thunderbolt, ProTools HD 2019.6

Macbook Pro, 2019 (15,1) 32 Gigs Ram,2.3 GHz I9 8 Core
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-21-2017, 04:31 PM
nigelpry's Avatar
nigelpry nigelpry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Home
Posts: 2,154
Default Re: Delay Compensation on a track with no other tracks in the session.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZEUSS View Post
It does cause a problem. When using Aux inputs bussed to record tracks. I have a ticket with them that is acknowledged and logged but can't be fixed until the next non dot release. Hopefully for 13. I figured out a workaround though.
It just goes to show.
__________________
Mac Pro 2009 with 2010 firmware, 12-Core 3.46ghz, 64gb RAM & working Thunderbolt, OS 10.13.6 and Windows 10
Macbook Pro 2011 17", 2.2ghz i7, 16gb RAM OS 10.12.6
Digi 003 Console, Focusrite Octopre and MOTU Traveler for extra analog-ADAT conversion, UAD Apollo Quad with Thunderbolt card, Apollo Twin mk11 and pci-e Octo, Adam A77X monitors.
Pro Tools 2018, Media Composer 8.9, Sibelius 8.7, Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Logic Pro X, Mainstage 3.
Various apps, soft synths, FX plugins.
Plenty of hardware synths, rack gear, microphones etc.
And then there's the studio ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-21-2017, 05:21 PM
Schottlandru Schottlandru is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Munich
Posts: 145
Default Re: Delay Compensation on a track with no other tracks in the session.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZEUSS View Post
It does cause a problem. When using Aux inputs bussed to record tracks. I have a ticket with them that is acknowledged and logged but can't be fixed until the next non dot release. Hopefully for 13. I figured out a workaround though.
May I ask what problem exactly and what the workaround is?
I have ADC issues here and there and might benefit from your findings... thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-22-2017, 09:09 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 991
Default Re: Delay Compensation on a track with no other tracks in the session.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZEUSS View Post
It does cause a problem. When using Aux inputs bussed to record tracks. I have a ticket with them that is acknowledged and logged but can't be fixed until the next non dot release. Hopefully for 13. I figured out a workaround though.
Isn't this actually a different issue? The OP was about showing a delay number when bussing an audio track with no return path and no other tracks in the session , or am I missing something ??????
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB, Radeon Pulse RX 580 8GB GDDR5 Dual HDMI Graphics Card..... OS- Mojave 10.14.6, and PTHDN 2019.6 on on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2nd Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB -- both in dual drive Crest I/O PCIE controller adaptor card


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-22-2017, 09:27 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,544
Default Re: Delay Compensation on a track with no other tracks in the session.

yeah, I don't see the similarity.

Bottom line is:

this is ok:



This isn't:

Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2017-12-22 at 11.30.36 AM.jpg (12.5 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2017-12-22 at 11.30.50 AM.jpg (19.5 KB, 0 views)
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-22-2017, 04:17 PM
ZEUSS ZEUSS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 545
Default Re: Delay Compensation on a track with no other tracks in the session.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
yeah, I don't see the similarity.

Bottom line is:

this is ok:



This isn't:

Wrong order.

Its when an Aux busses a record track.
You will get unwanted delay compensation as soon as you take it off input. There shouldn't be any. This happens when using a few microphones on a cab and bussing the combo to your record track.
Even weirder is this has a different value for protools 10,11,12 with the same session opened on each version.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2017-12-22 at 6.16.53 PM.jpg (31.3 KB, 0 views)
__________________
10.14.5 Mac Pro 2013 (Trashcan) 6 Core 64 gigs Ram, Red Line 16, Native Thunderbolt, ProTools HD 2019.6

Macbook Pro, 2019 (15,1) 32 Gigs Ram,2.3 GHz I9 8 Core
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12-22-2017, 04:27 PM
ZEUSS ZEUSS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 545
Default Re: Delay Compensation on a track with no other tracks in the session.

The workaround is to create a "dummy" aux track with the same bus input and with the output of the dummy aux set to your main outs and mute the AUX. This tricks protools into thinking that there is a destination so it will not add the delay compensation that is NOT supposed to be added. Otherwise after you playback your recorded tracks, they are not being played back in the proper timing. It is broken and the engineers can't fix it yet because its a major bug that needs more time and they say can't be fixed for a "dot" release. This is even worse in a session with more auxes and tracks with delay compensation everywhere.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2017-12-22 at 6.28.56 PM.jpg (37.2 KB, 0 views)
__________________
10.14.5 Mac Pro 2013 (Trashcan) 6 Core 64 gigs Ram, Red Line 16, Native Thunderbolt, ProTools HD 2019.6

Macbook Pro, 2019 (15,1) 32 Gigs Ram,2.3 GHz I9 8 Core
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 12-23-2017, 11:02 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 991
Default Re: Delay Compensation on a track with no other tracks in the session.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZEUSS View Post
Wrong order.

Its when an Aux busses a record track.
You will get unwanted delay compensation as soon as you take it off input. There shouldn't be any. This happens when using a few microphones on a cab and bussing the combo to your record track.
Even weirder is this has a different value for protools 10,11,12 with the same session opened on each version.
To clarify Drews screen shots are about the issue posted by the OP not your post. So in that context and that issue it is in fact the right "order"


Now while both situations do in fact yield the anomaly of ADC. reporting some numbers, the two are different situations

In the op situation first there is only one track and it is an audio track. Also it only happens when there is no return path for the bus AND the bus is selected as the audio tracks output path. And goes away as soon as you select a return path for the bus via an aux input track (as per Drews second screen shot)

In the situation you are describing there is a return path selected for the bus via the output of the audio track , but your getting the numbers being reported any way . And why it goes away with the input monitoring selected is weird, as well as with the Dummy track and I suppose it could be a bug

Now while it is possible that the OP situation could in fact be part of the same issue that you are speaking about , BUT it is speculation to assume that is automatically the same bug or issue because the criteria are very different .
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB, Radeon Pulse RX 580 8GB GDDR5 Dual HDMI Graphics Card..... OS- Mojave 10.14.6, and PTHDN 2019.6 on on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2nd Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB -- both in dual drive Crest I/O PCIE controller adaptor card


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...

Last edited by K Roche; 12-23-2017 at 01:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 12-23-2017, 01:21 PM
Schottlandru Schottlandru is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Munich
Posts: 145
Default Re: Delay Compensation on a track with no other tracks in the session.

Sorry I am not 100% clear what the original issue with the re-route a bus via a re-record track is, but have you checked the "auto low-latency off" function (rightclick on delay comp value in mixer)?
Because, input-monitoring a record track (like your bus going to an audio track) disables ADC for it, by default, so you can directly hear and monitor what you are playing on the input of the record track, without latency.

Is this the issue you are having?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Delay Compensation on AUX tracks - automatic mesaone Pro Tools 11 10 04-12-2018 11:26 AM
tracks flambing - delay compensation? ByronC Pro Tools 11 6 12-10-2017 09:49 PM
Instrument Tracks Delay Compensation Bug migueldgoncalves Pro Tools 12 5 06-29-2017 09:42 AM
Delay compensation and Aux Tracks Terry Wetzel Windows 10 04-08-2012 08:19 AM
Pro Tools 9 Delay and Delay Compensation on Aux Tracks and Bussing CNSound macOS 1 01-27-2012 12:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com