Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-02-2017, 02:34 PM
Jt06 Jt06 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 44
Default Mixing console/DAW controller

We all started somewhere and although I'm not new to recording or using pro tools, I am new to Consoles/DAW controllers/Mixers. Used one everyday at the studio i interned at, but that was obviously a professional studio. so...

Goal/What I want: Replace my audio interface with a mixing console that does EVERYTHING my USB interface does, (but with more inputs of course). Record/Headphones, Mic inputs, MIDI, Monitors hooked up. Sounds fine right? Here's the part where I seem to get caught..: I ALSO want it to mix with to REPLACE the mix window in protools. I want to use the actual console/board to write/latch automation, pan L/R, Solo/Mute tracks, and have it used/saved in Pro Tools. Using a keyboard and mouse gets frustrating very quickly. (I know alot of you understand)

Question: Can I find a unit out there that will do all these things for me? OR, although I've been told "you MUST have a DAW controller to Mix, Automate, etc", can I use any USB Mixer/Interface, even if it means additionally getting a certain software, or cables, or drivers, or something? Please be as Detailed and clear as possible because evidently I don't know how this stuff works, that's why Im asking. THANKS A BUNCH! SORRY FOR THE LONG A** THREAD!
P.S.- If i had $10,000 to just toss away for one, I would just hire someone to come out and install a prof. one in my basement lol!
__________________
iMac 21" OS X 10.11.6

Pro Tools 12.7 (Student/Teacher Card and iLok) (ALL Stock plug ins; Never purchased any. (got Pro tools software through schooling))

Steinburg ur22 MKii (2 audio input; 2 instrument input; MIDI in, MIDI out)

Sterling audio MX5" Monitors (2)[/FONT][/FONT]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-03-2017, 09:39 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,769
Default Re: Mixing console/DAW controller

I'm quite happy with my old M-Audio ProjectMix IO, but I couldn't recommend it for anyone using Mac, as the drivers haven't been updated in a long time (and wont).

Here are some recommendations for you, although I don't have first hand experience with any of them:

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/SLMAD32
https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/SLMAD16
https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/DM3200
https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/01V96i
https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/X32

Personally, I wouldn't touch Behringer gear, great feature set, horrible quality.

Joel
__________________
Laptop:
HP ProBook 650 / Core i5 8GB RAM / Win 10 Enterprise
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Desktop:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-03-2017, 10:19 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,753
Default Re: Mixing console/DAW controller

It will get really expensive really fast to cover everything you mentioned. The only consoles that offer direct connection with PT are(AFAIK):
SSL with a 3rd party box that couples console to PT
Neve Genesys Black
Audient ASP8024
None of these are inexpensive and all use HUI protocol, which is somewhat limited. Personally, I would go for an Avid D-Command with a fader pack and mix in the box as the control surface gives you control closer to a console, but is very tightly integrated into Pro Tools
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-07-2017, 05:00 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 1,786
Default Re: Mixing console/DAW controller

Get an Apogee audio interface and the Pro Tools Dock. There are devices out there like the old 003 that combine audio and control surface functions, but it's usually a compromise. Better to build a modular system where audio and MIDI are handled by one device, and control functions by another. If you're serious about Pro Tools, ICON or EuCon control surfaces are the only way to go. They have very deep integration.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
RHUMBA
www.rhumba.pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mixing with a console Jt06 Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion 7 03-13-2017 04:09 PM
Must we use a mixing console after I/O? Rockman413 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 10-10-2014 09:31 PM
controller or console? What are you using & why 68topls Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-24-2010 07:39 PM
Mixing Console jim2step Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 09-17-2004 09:43 AM
mixing out of PT with a console blake eat world Tips & Tricks 15 08-17-2001 05:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com