Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-08-2016, 06:36 PM
jsvalmont jsvalmont is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 80
Default Major Memory Leak in Eucon 3.3.2

Hello all, I thought I would bring this to everyone's attention that there is a severe memory leak in Eucon 3.3.2, at least on Mac OS X 10.11 El Capitan (I have not tested this on Windows). I created a ticket for this with Avid over a month ago, but it has still not updated with a fix yet and just today I noticed my system running slowly - I checked my memory usage and lo and behold, Eucon is using up 33GB (YES YOU READ THAT CORRECTLY, THIRTY-THREE GIGABYTES!!) of system memory. Since I have only 32GB in my system, and I was running Pro Tools which itself was using several GB of memory, that was forcing much of the Eucon data to be constantly paged in and out from disk which can wreak havoc on an SSD based system that has limited write durability. This really teed me off so I thought I would make a post and hopefully this will draw more attention to this problem and get this severe issue addressed ASAP. I would advise people to not let EUCON run in the background, or even at all, right now. If someone wants to do a test on another OS, just start Eucon and note its memory usage then wait an hour or so and check it again to see if its usage has increased, then keep checking periodically until you are satisfied that either its memory usage is stable or is steadily increasing. If it is steadily increasing then Eucon has a memory leak on your system.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-08-2016, 06:41 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,250
Default Re: Major Memory Leak in Eucon 3.3.2

I'll test Eucon 3.3.2 on Windows 7 Professional SP1 and report back on Sunday.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Silverbox: RME Babyface, Win8.1, i7 4700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-2016, 09:56 AM
jsvalmont jsvalmont is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 80
Default Re: Major Memory Leak in Eucon 3.3.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
I'll test Eucon 3.3.2 on Windows 7 Professional SP1 and report back on Sunday.
Thanks, I look forward to hearing what you find.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-10-2016, 10:30 PM
Noiselab Noiselab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 228
Default Re: Major Memory Leak in Eucon 3.3.2

Confirmed here with Yosemite 10.10.5 and Eucon 3.3.2. I fired up Eucon with a Mix and a Transport with no PT session. Initial memory consumption on startup is just over 19MB. After an hour, it was just over 3x that (63MB).

If I start up a PT 12.4 session with moderate fader movement and transport activity after a reboot, and work for half an hour, Eucon memory usage increased to well over 800MB (42x).

The memory leak definitely appears to be worse with usage as opposed to running idle. I think we just uncovered what's causing Eucon to crash after a couple of hours. If you never reboot, I could see this definitely affecting system performance and stability over time.

NL
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-11-2016, 10:09 AM
Noiselab Noiselab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 228
Default Re: Major Memory Leak in Eucon 3.3.2

A little more triage here. Even with all Artist devices powered down, there's still a small leak. It appears just slightly slower than not having PT running.

I have also been running the mobile Control app from my iPad, but that wasn't on for this testing. I may try another round of tests later this morning to see if it might worsen with Control... My worst Eucon crashes were before I even started playing with Control. I have to wonder if the leak might not be related to adding the new Control functionality (purely speculation on my part).

NL
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-11-2016, 10:18 AM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,250
Default Re: Major Memory Leak in Eucon 3.3.2

Didn't have time to install 3.3.2 on my Win7 machine, sorry. I hope to get to that in a few days. I'll update when I do.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Silverbox: RME Babyface, Win8.1, i7 4700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-11-2016, 12:29 PM
Kyle Splittgerber's Avatar
Kyle Splittgerber Kyle Splittgerber is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 307
Default Re: Major Memory Leak in Eucon 3.3.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsvalmont View Post
Hello all, I thought I would bring this to everyone's attention that there is a severe memory leak in Eucon 3.3.2, at least on Mac OS X 10.11 El Capitan (I have not tested this on Windows). I created a ticket for this with Avid over a month ago, but it has still not updated with a fix yet and just today I noticed my system running slowly - I checked my memory usage and lo and behold, Eucon is using up 33GB (YES YOU READ THAT CORRECTLY, THIRTY-THREE GIGABYTES!!) of system memory. Since I have only 32GB in my system, and I was running Pro Tools which itself was using several GB of memory, that was forcing much of the Eucon data to be constantly paged in and out from disk which can wreak havoc on an SSD based system that has limited write durability. This really teed me off so I thought I would make a post and hopefully this will draw more attention to this problem and get this severe issue addressed ASAP. I would advise people to not let EUCON run in the background, or even at all, right now. If someone wants to do a test on another OS, just start Eucon and note its memory usage then wait an hour or so and check it again to see if its usage has increased, then keep checking periodically until you are satisfied that either its memory usage is stable or is steadily increasing. If it is steadily increasing then Eucon has a memory leak on your system.
We are currently looking into some memory leak issues. A few questions:

Are you seeing the memory usage go up in Pro Tools as well as EuControl? Or just EuControl?

If you restart the application with the memory leak, does that buy you some time and help avoid a crash (assuming you are seeing a crash)?

What ticket did you submit? Do you have case number or anything I can reference?

Thanks,
__________________
Kyle Splittgerber
Avid Product Designer
Mountain View, CA
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-11-2016, 01:19 PM
Jherring Jherring is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: San jose CA
Posts: 22
Default Re: Major Memory Leak in Eucon 3.3.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsvalmont View Post
Hello all, I thought I would bring this to everyone's attention that there is a severe memory leak in Eucon 3.3.2, at least on Mac OS X 10.11 El Capitan (I have not tested this on Windows). I created a ticket for this with Avid over a month ago, but it has still not updated with a fix yet and just today I noticed my system running slowly - I checked my memory usage and lo and behold, Eucon is using up 33GB (YES YOU READ THAT CORRECTLY, THIRTY-THREE GIGABYTES!!) of system memory. Since I have only 32GB in my system, and I was running Pro Tools which itself was using several GB of memory, that was forcing much of the Eucon data to be constantly paged in and out from disk which can wreak havoc on an SSD based system that has limited write durability. This really teed me off so I thought I would make a post and hopefully this will draw more attention to this problem and get this severe issue addressed ASAP. I would advise people to not let EUCON run in the background, or even at all, right now. If someone wants to do a test on another OS, just start Eucon and note its memory usage then wait an hour or so and check it again to see if its usage has increased, then keep checking periodically until you are satisfied that either its memory usage is stable or is steadily increasing. If it is steadily increasing then Eucon has a memory leak on your system.

Is your computer ever going to sleep/energy save mode when you start to see the memory leak? Or are all of these features turned off? I have been trying to make this happen in Yosemite with 3.3.2 and cannot see the memory leak with a Pro tools session open for a couple hours.

Also, are you opening/reopening sessions alot, or are things just idle?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-11-2016, 02:09 PM
Kyle Splittgerber's Avatar
Kyle Splittgerber Kyle Splittgerber is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 307
Default Re: Major Memory Leak in Eucon 3.3.2

Also, @jsvalmont...

What memory number are you reading? Is this in Activity Monitor process list, or have you selected EuControl from Activity Monitor, then pressed the info button to see Virtual Memory Size? Please provide a screenshot so we can see exactly what you are seeing.

Thanks,
__________________
Kyle Splittgerber
Avid Product Designer
Mountain View, CA
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-11-2016, 02:58 PM
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,559
Default Re: Major Memory Leak in Eucon 3.3.2

We've noticed the memory leak, too. Opening it just now, after about 2 hours of use, it was grabbing 99MB. After closing and reopening it was using 27MB then quickly shot up to 38MB after about 10 seconds though we'd done nothing with the computer.

We've been looking at Activity Monitor's process list. Should we examine the virtual memory size, too?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory leak going 11.01>10.3.6 DetroitT Pro Tools 11 Discussion 0 07-18-2013 03:42 AM
Pro Tools memory Leak roberts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-09-2011 05:08 AM
Memory Leak in 7.3? BlindDog Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 01-15-2007 09:21 PM
PT6.9 MEMORY LEAK!!!!!! COME ON DIGI :( de_mix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 08-22-2005 02:36 PM
Memory leak fixed yet? Ever? RobbaDobba Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 01-29-2001 08:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com