Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-02-2016, 01:54 PM
hanksinclair hanksinclair is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: City
Posts: 59
Default Big problem with Eucontrol CPU usage

Suddenly EuControl 3.5 needs about 80-90% of the CPU Power!

I have changed to prior version 3.4 with no success. I have no idea why it is the way it is, since formerly it had a usage of about 10%.

@ all users: how much CPU usage does EuControl show on your Mac?

macOS Sierra 10.12.1, Mac Pro Late 2013 6c, DAW: Logic X 10.2.4, 2x Artist Mix, 1x Artist Control, 1x Euphonix Transport

Last edited by hanksinclair; 12-03-2016 at 02:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-02-2016, 08:18 PM
robertg robertg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: earth
Posts: 557
Default Re: Big problem with Eucontrol CPU usage

I've noticed this too, it's very troubling. It seems like the team is just barely holding on to keep the software compatible with the latest macOS, and are not willing or not able to optimize the code.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-23-2016, 04:43 AM
ymniumpo ymniumpo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 1
Default Re: Big problem with Eucontrol CPU usage

I'm having the same problem...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-31-2017, 03:38 AM
quicksandjezus quicksandjezus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12
Default Re: Big problem with Eucontrol CPU usage

And of course no reaction from avid
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-03-2017, 11:28 PM
lambusser lambusser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Dallas
Posts: 2
Default Re: Big problem with Eucontrol CPU usage

Same here.

- EuControl v3.5
- OSX 10.12.3

Average CPU Usage is 55% (one core) whether it's being used or not.

Can someone at Avid look into this?

Thank you,
Lam
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-06-2017, 11:01 PM
peternincompoop peternincompoop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 8
Default Re: Big problem with Eucontrol CPU usage

I have the same issue! Driving me mad, rendering my artist control al lag useless. 50% minimum counusage even when idling. Ends up being over 100%, sending the fans into overdrive.

Eucon 3.5
Pro Tools 12.7
Mac OS Sierra 10.12.2
MacBook Pro i7 16GB 2015
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-17-2017, 08:24 AM
diamondschwin diamondschwin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nashville/NYC
Posts: 468
Default Re: Big problem with Eucontrol CPU usage

same here. only really started with Sierra I feel, its worse when I have my external monitor hooked up since that gets the MacBook Pro a little warm as well.


I dont have this issue on Mac Pros, or iMacs
__________________
Max Holland
Producer / Re-Recording Mixer
Nashville / NYC

MKD Creative

HOBO Audio
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-12-2017, 07:34 PM
pete_del pete_del is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: Big problem with Eucontrol CPU usage

I'm also seeing high CPU usage from EuControl. Activity monitor showing 85%-95% CPU at idle, no other apps running, regardless of whether panels are connected/powered on or not. Something's not right here.
Eucon 3.5, macOS 10.12.4
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-13-2017, 08:23 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,832
Default Re: Big problem with Eucontrol CPU usage

This is fixed in v3.6. We were hoping to go live today but are waiting on Apple to approve the Control App. Hopefully Friday.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-14-2017, 09:49 PM
pete_del pete_del is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: Big problem with Eucontrol CPU usage

Thanks Eddie, good news. CPU use is back down to ~15% in v3.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EuControl kaput problem Xill Artist Series 7 03-01-2012 05:33 PM
Problem with Windows 7 64 bit / Nuendo 32 bit / EuControl 2.5.7 Klosse Artist Series 2 12-07-2011 03:50 PM
CPU usage problem in 8.0.4 billynojokes Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 11-24-2010 12:51 PM
CPU usage problem clayclay 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 06-19-2006 09:03 AM
CPU 100% USAGE PROBLEM...please help YOUNGMOESES 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 12-19-2002 10:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com