Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #121  
Old 08-12-2018, 08:32 AM
climber climber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 306
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Quote:
Originally Posted by innesireinar View Post
Just wondering why someone still working at 192 khz. There are many papers by Paul Frindle, Nika Aldrich and Dan Lavry that say that a optimum sr would be something around 60 Khz (that doesn't exist) and 96khz is the higher sr to go. Higher than this causes a loss of definition in the bass freq. due to the dac reconstruction
Not appropriate for this thread. It has been debated ad nauseum other places...

Focus
__________________
__________________
Al Hospers
bass, vocal, composer, engineer

CleverSounds Recording

------------------------------------------------------
OS X Mojave, Late 2013 MacPro, 6 core, 32 GB RAM, Orion Studio , PT2019.5, Slate MTi, ISA428, ADL600, Distressor, Grace 501, Dimedio, Obsidian, One LA, BAC500, Harrison 32 EQ, UAD2 OCTO, Focal 6 be, Auratones...
Reply With Quote
  #122  
Old 08-12-2018, 08:34 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,200
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emi View Post
512, but did run a while at 256 with no issues also.
at those sample rates you would have had the issues at 64 and 128 buffer.. so you are not experiencing anything out of the ordinary here.. 10.13.4 and up only broke ultra low latency performance with PT.
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #123  
Old 08-12-2018, 08:55 AM
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 264
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNM View Post
at those sample rates you would have had the issues at 64 and 128 buffer.. so you are not experiencing anything out of the ordinary here.. 10.13.4 and up only broke ultra low latency performance with PT.
I repeat, @ 192 kHz sample rate. I could run at 128 (min. @ 192 kHz) but was unstable. 256 is stable @ 192 kHz, but for safety I left it at 512. Did I say @ 192 khz?!?

Divide to 4 the buffer size for 48khz behavior.
__________________
Mac Mini late 2012 i5 | Mac OS Mojave 10.14 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Pro Tools 2019.6 Native
Reply With Quote
  #124  
Old 08-12-2018, 02:11 PM
xmission xmission is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 20
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Some problems that I am having since upgrading to .7

1. Sometimes when I drag audio, it appears about 3 lanes below the track I am dragging it in.

2. I can't duplicate a track, it tells me I don't have enough memory. I have 32G and am running at about 9G when it happens.

3. I went to run an autotune capture of a small (about 6 second) clip of audio. As soon as I try to capture, Autotune complains that it has reached the extent of it's buffer, which is set at 240 seconds. Maybe this is related, and PT .7 isn't reporting or seeing memory correctly?

4. If PT is in the background, and I try to bring it to the foreground by clicking the icon on the bar at the bottom, it just dings at me. If I try to alt-tab, it pulls up on the screen while I am tabbing, but disappears when I let go. It's as if it thinks at has focus when it does not.

I'm on win7 Pro with a 6850 processor, and 32g of ram
Reply With Quote
  #125  
Old 08-12-2018, 02:42 PM
xmission xmission is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 20
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Also, Setup/Preferences window either doesn't open, or is hidden somehow.

Setup i/o acts normal.
Reply With Quote
  #126  
Old 08-12-2018, 03:02 PM
B.J. B.J. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Norway
Posts: 90
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Quote:
Originally Posted by xmission View Post
Some problems that I am having since upgrading to .7



1. Sometimes when I drag audio, it appears about 3 lanes below the track I am dragging it in.



2. I can't duplicate a track, it tells me I don't have enough memory. I have 32G and am running at about 9G when it happens.



3. I went to run an autotune capture of a small (about 6 second) clip of audio. As soon as I try to capture, Autotune complains that it has reached the extent of it's buffer, which is set at 240 seconds. Maybe this is related, and PT .7 isn't reporting or seeing memory correctly?



4. If PT is in the background, and I try to bring it to the foreground by clicking the icon on the bar at the bottom, it just dings at me. If I try to alt-tab, it pulls up on the screen while I am tabbing, but disappears when I let go. It's as if it thinks at has focus when it does not.



I'm on win7 Pro with a 6850 processor, and 32g of ram


Win7 is not supported at 2018.7

Regards
B.J.
__________________
Studio 1: Mac Pro 2x2,8 Quad/16GB/OSX 10.6.8/HD2/PT10.3.10HD, 192 I/Ox2, ADAT|24.
Mobile: MacBook Pro 3,1 I7/16GB/macOS 10.14.6/PT 2019.6 Ultimate/HD Omni/Waves DiGiGrid IOS.
Live: Avid VENUE | S3L-X System/Venue 4.6.1/Stage 16x2.
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old 08-12-2018, 04:12 PM
innesireinar innesireinar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 644
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Quote:
Originally Posted by climber View Post
Not appropriate for this thread. It has been debated ad nauseum other places...

Focus
Can't resist when seeing people working at these unuseful high SRs
__________________
Avid HDX - PTHD 11.3.2 on OSX 10.10.5 - PT Ultimate 2019.6 on OSX 10.13.6 (II partition) - Cubase Pro 10 - Avid HD I/O 16x16 analog
Mac Pro 5.1 quadcore 2.8 16GB Ram
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 08-12-2018, 04:16 PM
innesireinar innesireinar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 644
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emi View Post
Because I, repeat, I hear differences between 96 and 192 for classical music recordings. More realistic space and depth.

For pop music I stay at 48
Sorry but can't believe it. Even on classical music.
__________________
Avid HDX - PTHD 11.3.2 on OSX 10.10.5 - PT Ultimate 2019.6 on OSX 10.13.6 (II partition) - Cubase Pro 10 - Avid HD I/O 16x16 analog
Mac Pro 5.1 quadcore 2.8 16GB Ram
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 08-12-2018, 04:34 PM
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 264
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Quote:
Originally Posted by innesireinar View Post
Sorry but can't believe it. Even on classical music.
And I’m not trying to convince anyone. All good.
__________________
Mac Mini late 2012 i5 | Mac OS Mojave 10.14 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Pro Tools 2019.6 Native
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old 08-12-2018, 07:08 PM
Philthy Philthy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Quote:
Originally Posted by B.J. View Post
Win7 is not supported at 2018.7

Regards
B.J.
Well there's terrible news for a company shedding market share
__________________
Phil Mann
Silk City Music Factory - CT Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS 10.13.5 - will PT 2018.4 or .5 work well or stay with 2018.13? blankpro Pro Tools 2018 4 07-11-2018 07:22 PM
Pro Tools 2018.3 / 2018.4 crashing when switching window configurations matthewmkb macOS 0 06-27-2018 06:33 AM
Upgrading from 2018.1 to 2018.3 with Application Manager lm183902 Pro Tools 2018 2 03-19-2018 04:41 PM
Reverting from 2018.3 to 2018.1 jamesleonard Pro Tools 2018 11 03-12-2018 05:21 AM
Xpand!2 2018 & Air Instruments 2018 lgreen100 Pro Tools 2018 16 02-15-2018 05:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com