Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-23-2007, 03:34 AM
pertrot pertrot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15
Default (Buffer) Problems with Dell 9400

I am having problems with my Dell 9400. Since the day I bought the machine I've been having buffer errors, so last week I formated my machine. I did most of the steps I could understand in the general troubleshooting, and followed Mishars installationguide for 9400 http://duc.digidesign.com/showflat.p...=&fpart=1&vc=1

Now I have a minimum of programs and drivers installed, yet I am having buffer problems, actually the same ones I had before the new install, so I guess it did no good. I have version 7.3 cs2 with no additional plug-ins installed, and I can record ok with a buffer setting at 256 and the ignore error-click/pop box checked. But when I look at my system usage during recording the cpu meter is real low, but it spikes up from time to time, and if I'm unlucky, I get unwanted clicks on my recording. When I unclick the error-click/pop box I get buffer errors 9093/9092 after 10 seconds or so. I also get buffer errors right away when I try to add compressor or gate to a track, no matter what my buffer size, but maybe thats caused by to little Ram etc.

So its kind of hard to know whats causing these problems, but hopefully some of you will see what could be the problem here:

Host Name : TOMMY-435FD0D6C
User : Tommy
Workgroup : ARBEIDSGRUPPE

Processor
Model : Genuine Intel(R) CPU T2400 @ 1.83GHz
Speed : 1.83GHz
Performance Rating : PR6218 (estimated)
Cores per Processor : 2 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 1 Unit(s)
Type : Mobile, Dual-Core
Internal Data Cache : 2x 32kB Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way set, 64 byte line size
L2 On-board Cache : 2MB ECC Synchronous, ATC, 8-way set, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing

Mainboard
Bus(es) : ISA X-Bus PCI PCIe USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
MP Support : No
MP APIC : No
System BIOS : AT/AT COMPATIBLE DELL - 27d7061b
Mainboard : Dell Inc. 0YD479
Total Memory : 1023MB DDR2-SDRAM

Chipset 1
Model : Dell Computer Corp 955XM/945GM/PM/GMS/940GML Express Processor to DRAM Controller
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 166MHz (664MHz data rate)
Total Memory : 1GB DDR2-SDRAM
Memory Bus Speed : 4x 132MHz (528MHz data rate)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : Standardskjerm
Monitor/Panel : Standardskjerm
Monitor/Panel : Standardskjerm
Monitor/Panel : Standardskjerm
Monitor/Panel : Standardskjerm
Monitor/Panel : Standardskjerm
Adapter : ATI Mobility Radeon X1400

Physical Storage Devices
Hard Disk : Hitachi HTS541080G9SA00 (73GB)
CD-ROM/DVD : TSSTcorp DVD+-RW TS-L632D (CD 24X Rd, 24X Wr) (DVD 3X Rd, 3X Wr)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (C:) : 36GB (33GB, 92% Free Space) (NTFS)
Hard Disk (D:) : 34GB (17GB, 49% Free Space) (NTFS)
I use a Western Digital FW 250 GB for recording, 4 pin FW on the computer to 6 pin FWon the HD.
CD-ROM/DVD (E:) : N/A

Peripherals
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB Universal Host Controller - 27C8
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB Universal Host Controller - 27C9
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB Universal Host Controller - 27CA
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB Universal Host Controller - 27CB
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB2 Enhanced Host Controller - 27CC
USB Controller/Hub : USB rothub
USB Controller/Hub : USB rothub
USB Controller/Hub : USB rothub
USB Controller/Hub : USB rothub
USB Controller/Hub : USB-rothub
USB Controller/Hub : Generisk USB-hub
FireWire/1394 Controller/Hub : OHCI-kompatibel IEEE 1394-vertskontroller
Keyboard : Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
Mouse : PS/2-kompatibel mus

Power Management
AC Line Status : On-Line
Battery No 1 : 100%

Operating System(s)
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP/2002 Professional 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 2)

Network Services
Network Drivers Enabled : No
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-23-2007, 07:43 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: (Buffer) Problems with Dell 9400

Quote:
Physical Storage Devices
Hard Disk : Hitachi HTS541080G9SA00 (73GB)
You're only using one physical drive there. Pro Tools recommends (honestly, they should require) a separate physical drive for audio sessions. Also, the particular drive you are using spins at a speed of 5400rpm, which is too slow for Pro Tools to stream audio to and from. You need a separate drive spinning at a speed of at least 7200rpm for Pro Tools to function within expected parameters (meaning "no buffer errors").
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-23-2007, 11:07 AM
pertrot pertrot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15
Default Re: (Buffer) Problems with Dell 9400

Sorry, didn't have my FW disk plugged when I did the Sandrareport, so I added the diskinfo right below the hard drive info, but the wrong place I guess, so you didn't see it.

But anyway, I have a western digital mybook 250 GB firewire/usb disc, use the computers FW port, a 4 pin to the harddrives 6 pin FW.

And I forgot to say that I have a Mbox II.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-24-2007, 06:39 AM
pertrot pertrot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15
Default Re: (Buffer) Problems with Dell 9400

I think I've seen that the firewire card in the Dell 9400 isn't recommended by Digidesign, but I'm not sure. The strange thing is that I have the same errors even if I'm recording to a USB disc, so I'm thinking that may not be the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-24-2007, 09:35 AM
bspro bspro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 9
Default Re: (Buffer) Problems with Dell 9400

I think you and I should become good friends. I have the exact same computer as you do and am having very similar issues. I thought that my buffer errors might be coming from the firewire bus (apparently the 4 pin could act as a bottleneck for the full 1394a 6 pin). So, I bought a 2 port firewire express card hoping that might solve some issues, but ProTools is having difficulty finding the hardware.

I'm running 2 Gigs of RAM...is that what you have (basically 1G on each chip?)

I'm also running into a 002.

Are you using a firewire bus and an MBox Pro (the firewire one), or the USB MBox?

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-25-2007, 01:51 AM
pertrot pertrot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15
Default Re: (Buffer) Problems with Dell 9400

I have 1 Gb of ram(2x512), and original Mbox II (usb).
It's such a strange thing these buffer errors, the machine is running well with low cpu and disc usage, then powww!! A cpu spike that stops the whole thing, really ennoying.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-25-2007, 07:59 AM
mishar mishar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 157
Default Re: (Buffer) Problems with Dell 9400

Hey guys... I'm sorry to hear that you're still having problems....

A couple of quick questions....

which firewire expresscard did you get? Is it a Texas Instruments Chipset model? (check in device manager)

Secondly, If you setup a session recording to the system drive (yes I know it's not recommended, but it's a good test) do you still get buffer errors.

On my 9400 I've been able to record 16 tracks no problem going to the system drive without a problem.

I did hear though that the problems with the 9400's were that Dell actually used different components through various production cycles which is what caused the problems....

I did however purchase a SIIG firewire 800 expresscard, and I've been able to run my 002 off that with no problems so far. Just have to make sure the microsoft drivers are installed ...so it only really runs at 400...

One other thing I remembered doing that helped, is disableing Graphics Acceleration in the Display Tab->Advanced Settings->Troubleshooting

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-25-2007, 08:09 AM
mishar mishar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 157
Default Re: (Buffer) Problems with Dell 9400

Quote:
I think I've seen that the firewire card in the Dell 9400 isn't recommended by Digidesign, but I'm not sure. The strange thing is that I have the same errors even if I'm recording to a USB disc, so I'm thinking that may not be the problem.
Sorry one more thing ... an interesting observation I made on a session I just edited on ...

My Firewire 800 drive's connector got busted, so I ended up connecting it through it's USB connector. All of a sudden I was getting errors all over the place. So I hooked up another session drive to the firewire port and try to run from there.....I didn't detatch the drive on the USB port though ....
Mistakenly I actually opened up a session from the USB connected drive... and soon realised it worked fine .... but only if there was another firewire drive attached....

Very strange I know ... but I tested it a few times afterwards and this is what seemed to be the case.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-25-2007, 08:06 PM
jordancolburn jordancolburn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: (Buffer) Problems with Dell 9400

My laptop is doing the same thing....well sorta. Sessions refuse to run off the internal drive unless an external USB drive is attached.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-25-2007, 08:54 PM
mishar mishar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 157
Default Re: (Buffer) Problems with Dell 9400

Quote:
My laptop is doing the same thing....well sorta. Sessions refuse to run off the internal drive unless an external USB drive is attached.
That one might be explainable.... that's probably the USB2.0 bug. Try pluging in any USB peripheral... like a jump drive or a camera and see if it has the same effect.
It was highly publisized when the Core Duo chips came out....

Usually installing the Microsoft Dual Core Hotfix, and also doing what Digi described in their setup for certain laptops of unchecking 'Allow computer to turn this device to save power' on all USB Root Hubs in the Device Manager, will resolve that issue... although it's pretty hard to tell.

To be quite honest I believe a complete rewrite of Digi's DAE for PC LE is in order for compatibility to be better.

As well as a quick-key for changing playlists!!! How long does it take ???
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Experiences with the DELL 9400 kbruff Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 01-12-2007 07:09 AM
Help With Dell Inspiron 9400 haolemon Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 11-23-2006 12:18 AM
Trouble with Dell Inspiron 9400 pertrot 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 10-09-2006 04:13 PM
Dell 9400 and Pro Tools Nightmares JayRock 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 07-12-2006 07:02 PM
Anyone using Dell Inspiron 9400 with PT LE 7.0? RICHB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-12-2006 05:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com