Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2008, 12:02 PM
ContinuingEd ContinuingEd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Default Newbie needs help on setup for long live recordings

I recently purchased an MBOX 2 and need advise on how to best set up Pro Tools for recording live conferences. I am completely new to all of this. I went with the MBOX 2 because I could also use it to record my kids guitar playing. And I figured it would work for my meetings. But I want to be sure I do everything right because I only have one chance when recording live. I will be running a conference in 2 weeks. We will have 20 presenters and will need to record 4 lectures a day/ one hour each. Only one 15 minute break during the 4 hours so I will need to run the recording continuosly for the 4 hours as I will not be able to monitor the recording and tend to the MBOX much. I will edit later and post the audio on my website.

Questions:
1- Will Pro Tools/ MBOX 2 handle 4 hours of continuous recording?
2- I will purchase whatever I need to make this happen. What specifications should I need for a computer (Windows)(laptop preferable for travel), external hard drive, etc. Please consider cost when making recommendations.
3- Do I have to configure any of the settings on ProTools to allow for such a long recording?

I work for a non-profit and we can not afford to have a professional do the recording for us so your assistance is appreciated.

Walter
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-15-2008, 03:31 PM
mano111 mano111 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,267
Default Re: Newbie needs help on setup for long live recordings

I dont know exactly where to start. think about the setup of these lectures, how many people, what size room, what microphone are you planning on using and where to place it?

In intrest of this working, considering the live nature of these meetings, I would suggest seeking the advice of an experianced person for at least the first meeting so that the setup could be established.

maybe a non computer based recorder might work as well. im talking about a stand alone recorder that records to disk or flash. this will give you more mobility and zero setup times and will be cheaper.

If you are dead set on doing it this way go with a Mac laptop , or if you must a DIGI approved windows laptop .
you'll need a firewire external drive. to record the 4hrs=240 mins all you need is about 2.4 gigs so basically any DIGI qualified HD will work.
practice and test your setup before the meeting.
on the day of the conerance allow youself time to setup befoe it starts.

The longest continuous recording I had ever made on Protools was about 2 hours long with 4 mics but it should work as long as there is disk space to record on.
__________________
i7 2600K @ 4.4GHZ -- Intel DP67BG B3 -- 8GB DDR3 1600 -- Crucial SSD
PTLE 8.0.4cs2 -- DIGI 003R -- DV toolkit -- Waves 9
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-15-2008, 03:56 PM
Naagzh Naagzh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,175
Default Re: Newbie needs help on setup for long live recordings

How about this instead? Like mano said, an Mbox is overkill for what you're trying to accomplish.

If you want to record your son's guitar, then there are plenty of DAWs (Digital Audio Workstations) to choose from. Pro Tools is the industry standard, yes, but Logic is good as well, and comes with any Mac you buy nowadays. And with a stand-alone recorder, you can always transfer the audio to your computer at a later date.

I'll also echo the sentiment that finding a Digidesign-approved PC laptop will be a something of a challenge for the novice. It will take every bit (at least) of your free time during the next two weeks to sort it all out. There's chipsets, Windows versions (Vista is shaky ground), formatting the external drive, installing Pro Tools, learning Pro Tools' signal flow and processing, plug-ins, etc., etc.

Yes, with an Mbox and a compatible PC you CAN do the job. But, off the top of my head, I can think of several ways a novice can irreparably mess up (or even lose) the audio.
__________________
002R PT7.3.1
MacBook Pro 2.33
OS 10.4.8
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-17-2008, 06:00 PM
bspro bspro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 9
Default Re: Newbie needs help on setup for long live recordings

I'll agree with the other guys...even an MBox is pretty much overkill for what you are wanting to do. I've used the Edirol R09s with great result for similar things. They fit in your pocket, can record great sounding spoken word and are generally great little devices. There are lots of affordable flash drive recorders that you should check out...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
48k recordings too long? mu-tron-kid macOS 5 02-25-2014 05:03 PM
MIDI SETUP takes long to SETUP and doesnt SETUP DartagnanSosa87 MIDI 3 01-28-2013 12:02 PM
Bouncing Live Recordings breakinglaceshq 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-08-2006 08:37 PM
cutting up long recordings? Well Dweller 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-24-2004 10:09 PM
Live orchestral recordings....? tlester Tips & Tricks 7 05-31-2003 09:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com