Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-26-2007, 07:22 AM
jordancolburn jordancolburn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: (Buffer) Problems with Dell 9400

Thank you so much. That USB fix worked perfectly. I can finally run pro tools withou frustration again. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-28-2007, 02:08 PM
bspro bspro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 9
Default Re: (Buffer) Problems with Dell 9400

I'll find out exactly what chipset it is...I don't have it with me right now. I have tried recording straight to the system drive and to a USB external. Same buffer problems. The microsoft drivers you mentioned...did you have to get specific ones for your firewire card from SIIG? Or did you just let windows find it?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-28-2007, 02:37 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: (Buffer) Problems with Dell 9400

Quote:
I have tried recording straight to the system drive and to a USB external.

Neither of which are supported or recommended.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-28-2007, 07:52 PM
mishar mishar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 157
Default Re: (Buffer) Problems with Dell 9400

The microsoft drivers I mentioned are the stock windows ones. The SIIG card I have installs it's own drivers to run at the 800 speed, but they are incompatible with the 002.
SIIG however provides a little application that allows you to switch the drivers on the fly ..(quite handy actually). So you can choose to have the microsoft or the siig drivers installed for whichever firewire cards are in your computer.

JMS40 ... he was actually just responding to a test I asked him to do, since it's the same laptop, and I can run sessions off my internal drive without the hiccups that he is experiancing... thanks for the info though...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-28-2007, 09:06 PM
bspro bspro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 9
Default Re: (Buffer) Problems with Dell 9400

Thanks for the info. I tried again this evening to no avail. However, the first time I loaded PT it started right up through the firewire card. But, as soon as the session loaded and came up it immediately shot up the buffer error and then gave me the "Pro Tools has experienced and unexpected error and needs to quit" dialog. I couldn't get it to find it again.

And to answer a previous question, it is a Texas Instruments card and it is loaded with the Microsoft driver.

I'm going to take your advice and do a fresh reinstall of windows...thanks for that thread; it is very helpful!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-28-2007, 09:17 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: (Buffer) Problems with Dell 9400

Sorry. Could have happened to anyone who wasn't paying attention.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-28-2007, 11:35 PM
mishar mishar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 157
Default Re: (Buffer) Problems with Dell 9400

Another thing you could try playing with is a PCI latency tool....you can find various ones around the internet... and there are plenty of explanations around too

My internal firewire card is set at 64 and the SIIG is set at 248

Latencies will be reset when you reboot, so don't worry too much about experimenting.

Even though it's a PCI Express card, it still runs across a PCI to PCI bridge, so PCI latency is still very much a factor.

Out of curiosity which Expresscard adaptor do you have ?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-28-2007, 11:39 PM
mishar mishar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 157
Default Re: (Buffer) Problems with Dell 9400

Quote:
Sorry. Could have happened to anyone who wasn't paying attention.
No worries ...it 'twas with the best of intentions .....

Or was it ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Experiences with the DELL 9400 kbruff Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 01-12-2007 07:09 AM
Help With Dell Inspiron 9400 haolemon Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 11-23-2006 12:18 AM
Trouble with Dell Inspiron 9400 pertrot 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 10-09-2006 04:13 PM
Dell 9400 and Pro Tools Nightmares JayRock 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 07-12-2006 07:02 PM
Anyone using Dell Inspiron 9400 with PT LE 7.0? RICHB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-12-2006 05:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com