Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-30-2010, 10:10 AM
brian crain brian crain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Malta
Posts: 6
Default punch in monitoring problem

hi, it might be a simple technique but how can a performer hear his already recorded track (with his voice) and sing on top of it before punch in recording. Whenever I do a punch in the singer does not hear his voice unless I press the record button. Is it something to do with montoring? I am using a C24 controller with my Hd system.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-30-2010, 02:39 PM
Vedat's Avatar
Vedat Vedat is offline
Quiet Art Ltd.
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 929
Default Re: punch in monitoring problem

You'd have to open a new track, and put it into input monitoring (the I button on the track).
There's no other way you can hear what's on the track as well as what's coming in at the same time. Unless you route the mic input to both the record track and an AUX so it's always on.
__________________
Vedat

WaveRider + Defaulter (now with LKFS)
QuietArt.co.nz

Catchin' SYNC app
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-30-2010, 07:58 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,487
Default Re: punch in monitoring problem

Look at the transport buttons at the top of the EDIT window. Look for a green square "light" by the record "light". If its lit, you have Input-Only monitoring turned on. Alt-K will toggle it off
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Punch-in: How are you getting around monitoring issues? graveleye Windows 6 05-14-2013 08:33 AM
Monitoring track before punch in Jerry James macOS 5 04-05-2012 05:57 PM
Monitoring/Punch Question Cal D Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 05-12-2011 01:37 PM
Punch in monitoring problem HBryant 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-02-2010 03:54 PM
Monitoring / Punch Issue xsane Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 26 08-13-2004 06:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com