Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 03-20-2017, 11:32 AM
VRW VRW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,275
Default Re: total newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by zakhilla View Post
im in medway/canturbury atm but i drive, also as saving for software have limited funds
any pointers would be amazing or emails etc
Hey, if you seriously want to go for Pro Tools 12 HD take advantage of this offer.
https://www.audiodeluxe.com/products...bundle-license
(Don´t worry, you only will buy an activation code for your Pro Tools license so you
can buy it online from this US shop without any problems. No hardware stuff to be delivered.
You get the code, go on the Avid site and activate your Pro Tools HD software.
Avid send the activated license to your iLok account (you need to have such a one before you
are going to buy your PT license!), you transfer your PT license from your iLok account onto
your iLok hardware dongle, download your PT 12HD software from your Avid account and you
are ready to go)

These guys are kinda crazy but absolutely legit and most of the DUC guys have
bought tons of stuff from them successfully. Including myself. Got my Pro Tools 12HD
license from them as well (without hardware) and have never looked back.

Like mentioned by Christopher already you do not need HD hardware nowadays
to run Pro Tools 12HD. I also use my PTHD software with an Apollo Thunderbolt
interface successfully without any limitations of the software.

You can save a lot of bucks getting Pro Tools 12HD software from the link above
for example (instead of buying it from the Avid store) and getting any high quality 3rd party
audio interface. By the way Avid´s interfaces aren´t the **** anymore as for audio
quality, drivers and versatility. Maybe they will come up with better and newer stuff
in the future again.

So depending on your needs for I/Os you can get by with about £1600-1800.-/$2000.-
altogether. Some options as for current high quality audio interfaces.
Starting from there
https://www.gak.co.uk/en/focusrite-c...terface/110810
https://www.gak.co.uk/en/focusrite-c...terface/110812
https://www.gak.co.uk/en/focusrite-c...terface/110813
https://www.gak.co.uk/en/focusrite-c...terface/110814

https://www.gak.co.uk/en/universal-a...terface/122810
https://www.gak.co.uk/en/universal-a...terface/905069
https://www.gak.co.uk/en/universal-a...e-black/116428
https://www.gak.co.uk/en/universal-a...e-black/116429

https://www.gak.co.uk/en/apogee-elem...i-o-box/901239
https://www.gak.co.uk/en/apogee-elem...terface/901240
https://www.gak.co.uk/en/apogee-elem...erface-/901242
https://www.gak.co.uk/en/apogee-quartet/74265

As mentioned above the audio interface depends on your specific needs for I/Os. If you do
not need more than 2 inputs/mic pres at the moment (as you are doing primarily Midi obviously)
you can save money and get one of the smaller units and expand it later with another external 8
mic pre unit you can connect via ADAT to get more inputs for audio recording later.

However if you are going for Pro Tools 12 (or even for the latest version of Logic Pro X) you better
go for a current, good quality, low latency audio interface and not for any older stuff. Believe me,
you won´t get happy with a very current software and any old audio interface (as for connection
problems, driver problems, latency problems etc.).

If you seriously will stay with mainly Midi tracks/Midi work you definitely should think it over if not
to go for Logic Pro X instead of PTHD like suggested by John previously. It would be a world more
affordable for you indeed and as for Midi only Logic even might be the better software in the long run.
http://www.apple.com/uk/logic-pro/

If on the other hand you intend to do a lot more audio in the future as well Pro Tools HD will be the
best for sure and worth the money finally.
The audio interfaces I have posted you the links for will work with either DAW, Pro Tools HD as well
as Logic.

Ya, well, if you go for Pro Tools DAW you will have to get an iLok hardware dongle which will house
your Pro Tools license.
https://www.gak.co.uk/en/ilok-3-software-security-key-

The best of success to you.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-20-2017, 11:50 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 15,039
Default Re: total newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by VRW View Post
you do not need HD hardware nowadays to run Pro Tools 12HD
You could run HD without hardware since PT9, but the new trick here is you don't need hardware to *BUY* Pro Tools HD
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Total newbie to surround and a lot of questions soundworx Tips & Tricks 1 07-10-2007 02:33 PM
Anyone care to help a total newbie? T57Strat Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 03-16-2007 10:26 AM
HELP! Total Newbie... :) GoofyDawg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 01-11-2007 05:57 PM
Total and Utter Newbie! Help! matt_sefton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-19-2005 10:43 AM
Total Newbie HELP, please point me the right way.. zeropointone General Discussion 8 06-29-2004 02:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com