Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-17-2006, 10:58 AM
poodlebuild poodlebuild is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 52
Default 888 clocking

I just saw that the 888/24 clock in/out is 256x. Will this keep me from externally clocking it with something higher, specifically a Cranesong HEDD? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-17-2006, 11:08 AM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,807
Default Re: 888 clocking

the 888's took what DIGI called SUPER CLOCK, which is 256x regular WC. you need something that generates that to have it clocked to WC...

if you want to clock it with the HEDD, use DIGITAL, not WC.
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-17-2006, 11:35 AM
poodlebuild poodlebuild is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 52
Default Re: 888 clocking

Thanks, Minister.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-17-2006, 11:56 PM
poodlebuild poodlebuild is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 52
Default Re: 888 clocking

-Can I clock via AES without audio passing with it? Matt of Black Lion Audio 002 mod fame said that audio being transmitted with the clock can cause phase modulation in the clock signal - though he was talking about SPDIF.

-Assuming that I'm not running audio or that it doesn't matter w/ AES, is doing it via AES as tight as using a BNC word clock connection?(not that the 888 has one. BTW FWIW the 888 pdf says that what's going thru AES is word clock.

I'm trying to make some related purchase decisions and I don't have the stuff here to try all this out.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-18-2006, 06:51 AM
georgia georgia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: NY,NY
Posts: 1,859
Default Re: 888 clocking

Yes, AES Black, is in fact and AES audio signal with no audio. As long as your clock source is of high quality it doesn't matter if you use AES Black or Word Clock. In fact the nanosync and other sync devices like it,offer Word 256, Word x1 (48Khz), AES black, and Video Black from one unit.

cheers
geo
__________________
georgia hilton CAS MPSE MPE

Hilton Media Management

Film Doctors http://www.filmdoctors.com
Me... http://georgiahilton.webs.com/
Stage 32 http://www.stage32.com/profile/6569/georgia-hilton
My Production Company http://www.hiltonmm.com

CREDITS (partial) http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0385255/resume
MEMBER: IATSE LOCAL 700
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-18-2006, 11:22 AM
poodlebuild poodlebuild is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 52
Default Re: 888 clocking

Thanks, Georgia. Very helpful.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-18-2006, 07:44 PM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,807
Default Re: 888 clocking

Quote:
-Assuming that I'm not running audio or that it doesn't matter w/ AES, is doing it via AES as tight as using a BNC word clock connection?(not that the 888 has one. BTW FWIW the 888 pdf says that what's going thru AES is word clock.
as geo says, AES black is fine.

digital audio and word clock they are completely different things. wordclock is a simple square wave at the sample rate.

also the data rates between the two types of "clocks" are different. at 96KHz, the word clock is about 5nsec between signal transitions. while AES runs at 6MHz, or about 40nsec between signal transitions.

word clock is a tighter, better way to go if you can, but AES black is no slouch. you'll be fine.
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-18-2006, 10:57 PM
poodlebuild poodlebuild is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 52
Default Re: 888 clocking

Thanks again, Minister. Now I just have to find out if the HEDD sends out AES black.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re Clocking LE CarNut 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 08-05-2009 08:33 AM
clocking in 001 foxandgrape 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-19-2004 09:29 PM
re-clocking 002 CartoonBrad 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-13-2004 05:02 PM
Over Clocking crs117 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 03-11-2002 05:26 PM
clocking in clocking out moosemaster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-06-2002 06:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com