Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #341  
Old 03-10-2012, 12:51 AM
nikki-k nikki-k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Hobette Alley
Posts: 2,357
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

Hi all!
Very long time since updating the thread.
I will try to review and update the first post to reflect the new systems. Would anyone mind a PM or two to confirm details if needed please?
__________________
nikki k
Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
On the other hand, you have different fingers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikki-k View Post
Sometimes ya just gotta put your tongue on the 9V battery just to see what all the fuss is about.
Reply With Quote
  #342  
Old 08-09-2012, 06:28 PM
lunatic lunatic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 124
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

Considering building a PC to replace our slowly aging Dell PWS 690. This thread hasn't updated in a while so... what's working for people? We have an HD3 PCI-X but wouldn't be against building a blazing new PC and adding a Magma if necessary. I've built computers in the past but haven't stayed current on the technology over the past 3 years or so therefore I'm a little overwhelmed with all the new technology and options.
__________________
Brad Smalling
Evergroove Studio
A Colorado Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #343  
Old 08-09-2012, 06:30 PM
temetrepo temetrepo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 221
Default

Check put the Jetway Q67 or Q77 boards. They have native PCI support and have 4 PCI slots.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Originally Posted by JustinA
"Soon" as in we should be refreshing our browsers, or "soon" as in ADC coming to LE?
Reply With Quote
  #344  
Old 08-09-2012, 11:14 PM
lunatic lunatic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 124
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

Thanks!
__________________
Brad Smalling
Evergroove Studio
A Colorado Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #345  
Old 08-15-2012, 12:27 PM
lunatic lunatic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 124
Default Jetway NAF93 Q77

Has anyone built a system with the Jetway NAF93 Q77 yet

http://www.jetwaycomputer.com/NAF93.html

I've got a system spec'd and loaded into ny NewEgg Wish List and ready to buy but I'd like to know what the drawbacks would be of building a system using this board. There has to be some sort of "gotcha" when building with slightly older technology.

What about building a machine based on the x79 chipset and adding a Magma chassis? Thoughts on that?

Thanks guys! This was daunting at first and now... it's just damn fun
__________________
Brad Smalling
Evergroove Studio
A Colorado Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #346  
Old 08-16-2012, 05:23 AM
volkil volkil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: istanbul
Posts: 4
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

Hi,
Anyone using 8 gb ram for Asus P5WDG2WS-Pro motherboard? I'm using 4x1 gb corsair XMS2 DDR2 1066 MHZ CL5 Ram, but I want to upgrade to 4 x 2 gb. Any recommendations?
__________________
Asus P5WDG2 ws pro
Intel Quad Q6600 @ 2.40 ghz
Corsair XMS TWIN2X2048-6400C5 G (4 x 2 GB installed)
Win 7 / OS 10.8.2
Apogee Rosetta 800 192k
PT10.3.2 HD
Reply With Quote
  #347  
Old 08-30-2012, 02:05 PM
dopplah dopplah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 85
Default Re: Jetway NAF93 Q77

Quote:
Originally Posted by lunatic View Post
Has anyone built a system with the Jetway NAF93 Q77 yet

http://www.jetwaycomputer.com/NAF93.html

I've got a system spec'd and loaded into ny NewEgg Wish List and ready to buy but I'd like to know what the drawbacks would be of building a system using this board. There has to be some sort of "gotcha" when building with slightly older technology.

What about building a machine based on the x79 chipset and adding a Magma chassis? Thoughts on that?

Thanks guys! This was daunting at first and now... it's just damn fun
Hey Brad, any luck with that NAF93-Q77?
Reply With Quote
  #348  
Old 09-01-2012, 04:32 AM
DigitalMetal DigitalMetal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 410
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

Quote:
Originally Posted by volkil View Post
Hi,
Anyone using 8 gb ram for Asus P5WDG2WS-Pro motherboard? I'm using 4x1 gb corsair XMS2 DDR2 1066 MHZ CL5 Ram, but I want to upgrade to 4 x 2 gb. Any recommendations?
I'm using 6Gb of ram in this board at the moment with no problems although I'm considering an upgrade soon maybe to the Jetway Q77.
It's 4Gb of OCZ Reaper and 2Gb of Patriot all clocked at 7200 I know mismatching isn't a good Idea but I had the 2Gb of Patriot RAM sitting around and it's a shame to waste it ;0) but the price of getting a 16Gb set of RAM sticks for this board makes be want something a little newer.

So any experiences with the Jetway Q77 yet anyone ?
__________________


PT10HD5 PCIX in 64Bit Magma Chassis,
2x192io's + 2x96io's & Legacy io's
Pro Control & Fader Pack
UAD2 Quad, Octo & All Plugins
Black Lion Audio Modified MOTU 24io and 2408MK3 x2
TC Powercore PCI MK2 x2 & Firewire

Softube, Sonnox, Eventide, SSL, McDSP, Waves
Reply With Quote
  #349  
Old 09-09-2012, 11:59 PM
Bill Rigby Bill Rigby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Sydney,NSW,Australia
Posts: 190
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

Yes , is anyone using theJetway NAF92-Q67 for an HD4?

I would dearly love to go down the Hackintosh path.

I am currently on an HD3 Windows 7 PTHD 10 and would love to extend the life of my rig. The Supermicro that I am using is a Dual Xenon 3ghz with 16 gig of ram but it`s not as stable as I would like....

Does anybody know how much ram this puppy will take?
Reply With Quote
  #350  
Old 09-10-2012, 08:54 AM
sonorelli sonorelli is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 61
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

The comments on Newegg appear positive: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...&Tpk=NAF92-Q67

On TonyMac, there's much discussion: http://www.tonymacx86.com/buying-adv...pci-build.html

You're paying a lot for the fourth slot. I'm running a 3-slot Gigabyte GA-H55-USB3 with no problems and that mobo goes for around $100 if you can find it. Sure, its dated, but so is HD.
__________________
Sonorelli
HD3 Accel PCI-x, Pro Tools 10.3.9 HD, OSX 10.8.5
Hackintosh - Gigabyte GA-H55-USB3, i7-870 2.93 GHz, 16GB RAM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are these pc components ok? chazc080488 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 08-13-2010 12:20 PM
need help with HD components FMR_Crisis Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 04-17-2010 06:07 PM
What components lie in the most POWERFUL native PTLE Systems? epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-28-2008 08:18 AM
Will these PC components do the job hws 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-06-2007 09:22 PM
components rems 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-19-2001 10:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com