Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-12-2019, 10:25 AM
rmccam rmccam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 231
Default Error Communicating With iLok

Hi Everyone,

I'm having intermittent iLok issues, which of course are happening when I have a really tight deadline.

I keep getting various missing authorization pop-up errors for PT as well as the plugins in my session. It's a relatively new iLok3 and the blue light doesn't seem to turn off at all. I've tried all of the obvious: switching ports, using a hub, not using a hub, restarting everything, ILM "remove account data...". My licenses are not in the cloud. I can launch ILM and everything is recognized but when I tried deactivating a plugin I get a "Error Communicating With iLok" pop-up.

I should also mention that each time this happens, if I re-seat the ilok it seems fine again for 10 minutes or so.

I'm on PT Ultimate 2018.10, running HDX on Sierra 10.12.6 with ILM 5.0.3 GM. I have ZDT but it really doesn't seem like a hardware issue to me. Any suggestions would be very welcome.

Thanks in advance.

Ryan
__________________
Ryan McCambridge
Writer - Producer - Engineer
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-12-2019, 11:11 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,386
Default Re: Error Communicating With iLok

You tried reinstalling the latest ILM?

Sure seems like a possible hardware issue to me. You can check by getting another iLok and trying to move licenses to that. If it does not work invoke ZDT...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-12-2019, 12:42 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,828
Default Re: Error Communicating With iLok

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
You tried reinstalling the latest ILM?

Sure seems like a possible hardware issue to me. You can check by getting another iLok and trying to move licenses to that. If it does not work invoke ZDT...
Agree

This is how it started twice for us and our iloks before they died and went to the ilok heaven so make sure you have ZDT and paid up with iLok so should it become worse and the ilok die then you will be up’n running in minutes!!

It sounds like a bad ilok IMO but I am not there to see what transpires but it sure sounds exactly what happened to our two last iLok deaths.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-12-2019, 01:14 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,809
Default Re: Error Communicating With iLok

Quote:
Originally Posted by rmccam View Post
if I re-seat the ilok it seems fine again for 10 minutes or so
Then take your time and deactivate your licenses one by one re-seating as many times as necessary, until your ilok is empty. Replace the key with a new one and activate licenses again. Problem solved. Hopefully you won't need to send a broken ilok key for support to do it for you.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-12-2019, 01:48 PM
rmccam rmccam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 231
Default Re: Error Communicating With iLok

Thanks guys.

Despite having the most recent version, I reinstalled ILM and it seems to be going okay. No issues for the past couple hours.

I totally agree that it seems like a hardware issue but the consistency of the inconsistency seems odd to me. As in, I could almost set my watch to it and it seems unlikely that it's a hardware issue if it fixes itself every time I reseat it. I suspected it was something with it trying to ping home but I don't really know how that works with a hardware iLok as opposed to using cloud licensing. Maybe that doesn't even make any sense.

Regardless, things seem good now. Thanks for the suggestion of reinstalling ILM. Hopefully that was it. Fingers cross.

Ryan
__________________
Ryan McCambridge
Writer - Producer - Engineer
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-12-2019, 04:00 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,386
Default Re: Error Communicating With iLok

Do not worry about the "inconsistency of the whatever..." you may be lucky and it was just something corrupted in the ILM install. But if it starts happening again your only job is to get those license off that iLok asap. It would not surprise if it comes back, you could have a mechanical/stress/temperature related failure in the iLok. If you don't have one already now would be a good time to purchase a spare iLok.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-12-2019, 04:06 PM
rmccam rmccam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 231
Default Re: Error Communicating With iLok

Thanks Darryl. I do have a few gen 2 spares lying around if needed.

If it comes back, I'll document it here for posterity.

Thanks again.

Ryan
__________________
Ryan McCambridge
Writer - Producer - Engineer
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-12-2019, 04:15 PM
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,660
Default Re: Error Communicating With iLok

Quote:
Originally Posted by rmccam View Post
.... it fixes itself every time I reseat it. I suspected it was something with it trying to ping home ....
Once you've deactivated and then reactivated every License in iLok License Manager, right-click on your iLok and choose: "Synchronize".
Wait for the spinning beach ball to stop.

This will fix it - without the continuing need to reseat your Licenses.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6/10.3.10 and 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 4 Pro - Win7 64 Ultimate (SP1) – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads & 433830U Docks – Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-12-2019, 04:40 PM
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,660
Default Re: Error Communicating With iLok

If you’re not 100% sure about “enabling TLC”, scroll down to the Zero Downtime™ image on this page: https://www.ilok.com/#!license-manager

In the centre, where it says Theft & Loss Coverage TLC, you'll see how to slide the white button on the blue background to the right, to the “ON” position in iLok License Manager.

This needs to be “Refreshed” every 3 months.

With a spare iLok on hand, Zero Downtime™ with Theft & Loss Coverage TLC enabled is the fastest way to get up’n running again, if your iLok ever “dies”. (May it never happen!!)
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6/10.3.10 and 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 4 Pro - Win7 64 Ultimate (SP1) – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads & 433830U Docks – Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
error: missing ilok authorization for pro tools... please insert the necessary ilok. Witold.B Pro Tools Express on Mac OS X 1 04-21-2014 03:59 AM
sync hd...not communicating Flyingonempty Windows 0 03-06-2014 08:43 AM
Help! Ilok run time error while moving license to another ilok. poem Pro Tools 9 5 11-27-2011 06:30 PM
error: missing ilok authorization for pro tools 9. please insert the necessary ilok.. weakluv Windows 2 07-07-2011 05:47 PM
6.1 LE not communicating with 02 hutt1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-27-2004 05:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com