Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-17-2006, 07:36 AM
JaRu JaRu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 89
Default No Sound from Speakers

I have everything plugged up and configured correctly on the MBox 2. I get sound from my headphones but I get absolutely nothing from the speaker outputs. I initially had sound but when I restarted the computer, I haven't heard anything since.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-17-2006, 07:44 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: No Sound from Speakers

What speakers? Where do you have them plugged in?
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-17-2006, 09:37 AM
JaRu JaRu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 89
Default Re: No Sound from Speakers

I have them plugged into the surround speakers on my DVD receiving system. They worked briefly but stopped when I restarted my computer, and hasn't played since.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2006, 09:51 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: No Sound from Speakers

DVD receiving system? I'm not sure what you're talking about there...


You would need to plug in some sort of monitoring system directly from the mbox.

mbox output -> powered studio monitors

or

mbox output -> amplifier -> passive studio monitors

or (I think this is what you are trying to do)

mbox output -> home receiver -> speakers
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-17-2006, 09:57 AM
JaRu JaRu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 89
Default Re: No Sound from Speakers

It's a DVD player. It is also a receiver for a home stereo system.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-17-2006, 10:08 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: No Sound from Speakers

Then:

mbox output -> home receiver -> speakers

I'm assuming it has RCA inputs, so you will have to have converter cables to go from the 1/4" mbox outputs to the RCA inputs on the receiver.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-17-2006, 10:20 AM
JaRu JaRu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 89
Default Re: No Sound from Speakers

That's the problem, the cables are connected with the adapters from RCA to 1/4, I have the receiver on the correct (video) channel and I can hear the headphones on the MBox, but there is still no sound from the stereo speakers.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-17-2006, 10:45 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: No Sound from Speakers

What program are you trying to monitor? Pro Tools? Are you running the demo session? What sounds are you running through it?

If you are trying to monitor anything except Pro Tools, you need to follow the instructions in wither the Wavedriver Usage Guide or the ASIO Usage Guide, depending on what driver the program you are using needs.

Windows sounds use the Wavedriver, but it is recommended to turn off windows sounds when using Pro TOols.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-17-2006, 01:01 PM
JaRu JaRu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 89
Default Re: No Sound from Speakers

I'm am using Pro Tools LE 7.0 which I set up last week. I have a midi keyboard and a microphone running through it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-17-2006, 01:14 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: No Sound from Speakers

To what position is your mix knob set?

Can you detail what it is you are doing exactly? It's hard to tell you where you're going wrong, when we don't know precisely what you're doing.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Popping Sound In Speakers SPC 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 10-31-2009 10:16 PM
Trying to use LCR speakers - no sound in C - please help! Sharabelle Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-12-2008 08:38 AM
No sound from computer speakers tuffline Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 05-25-2007 04:26 PM
Can't get sound from computer to speakers bernisava Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 04-12-2007 09:44 AM
cant get final mix to sound the same on all speakers. tempest1226 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 04-05-2007 10:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com