Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-28-2008, 10:10 AM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: If you had to choose a De-esser... ?

there is a lot of talk here about this topic
http://recforums.prosoundweb.com/index.php/t/23277/0/
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-28-2008, 10:58 AM
innesireinar innesireinar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 644
Default Re: If you had to choose a De-esser... ?

Quote:
there is a lot of talk here about this topic
http://recforums.prosoundweb.com/index.php/t/23277/0/
From the same forum this is a GM suggestion:



There was this one other way we did it once. On the Laura Turner that we did last Spring, I moved ALL of the esses from the main lead vocal track to a separate track, and i then could compress the "meat" of the vocal separately from the esses. Very time-consuming. Very elegant and infinitely controlable.
__________________
Avid HDX - PTHD 11.3.2 on OSX 10.10.5 - PT Ultimate 2019.6 on OSX 10.13.6 (II partition) - Cubase Pro 10 - Avid HD I/O 16x16 analog
Mac Pro 5.1 quadcore 2.8 16GB Ram
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-28-2008, 11:20 AM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 198
Default Re: If you had to choose a De-esser... ?

Waves de-esser. Works.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 36GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.5.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-29-2008, 01:45 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,742
Default Re: If you had to choose a De-esser... ?

+1 for the Waves
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-30-2008, 11:38 AM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: If you had to choose a De-esser... ?

Quote:
Waves de-esser. Works.
that's what i use of the couple of options i have in my plug arsenal

i've been told by engineers with better--well...supposedly better discriminating ears that I have that the waves desser colors the sound even if only instantiated.

do others of you hear this?

i used to do them by hand before applying the waves de esser

and still do the wicked ones by hand
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-30-2008, 12:43 PM
weso33 weso33 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: holland, michigan
Posts: 70
Default Re: If you had to choose a De-esser... ?

guitar 486 -

from what i can tell pm'ing people doesn't work. i'd love to take a look at your workflow if you are still willing to send it along.
__________________
"It's locked when it's stuck to the 35 MM Print.
Until then..." - - Dr. Sound

------------------------------------------------
pt hd 9.0.5
mac os x 10.6.7
2 x 2.66ghz dual core intel
7gb ram
fibre drives via facilis terrablock
video out - sdi mojo
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-30-2008, 03:57 PM
zakco zakco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 547
Default Re: If you had to choose a De-esser... ?

Quote:
do others of you hear this?
Yes. To my ears the waves Desser puts a slight (almost LPF) veil on the track. The benefits never weighed up to the cost for me. When I was on a PC I used to use the Digital Fishphones "spitfish". Simple, and much more transparent than the waves IMO.

I've had acceptable results from digi's Dyn3 d-essert too. Most of the time though, (if time permits) I stick with the manual method though.

-Z-
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-01-2008, 03:16 AM
gonzolagonda gonzolagonda is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 432
Default Re: If you had to choose a De-esser... ?

Anyone tried the newish MCDSP?
__________________
PT12.4 HD - UA Apollo 16Mkii - UA Apollo 8TB Duo - Mac Pro 2014 6-Core 3.5GHz 16GB RAM - OSX 10.10.5 - Magma ExpressBox3T - UAD-2 Octo - Euphonix Artist Mix, Control and Transport
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-01-2008, 04:56 AM
25ghosts 25ghosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3,333
Default Re: If you had to choose a De-esser... ?

Hi studiojimi,

Quote:
i've been told by engineers with better--well...supposedly better discriminating ears that I have that the waves desser colors the sound even if only instantiated.

do others of you hear this?
THis one is easy to check for yourself:

Make sure - ADC is enabled.

1) Take the vocal track and dup. it.
2) Put the Waves DeEsser on one of them and make sure it aint operating (Deessing)
3) Flip the phase on either one -

If the signal cancels out then what the engineers with the "better" hearing are talking trash.

I tried it myself - and the signal cancels totally. So whoever told you this - must have been smoking too much
__________________
2016 MacBook Pro Retina | 16GB RAM | 1TB SSD | OS X Latest - PTHD 12 Latest | 4K LG Thunderbolt Display | Logic Pro 10
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-01-2008, 05:15 AM
MrDibS MrDibS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 49
Default Re: If you had to choose a De-esser... ?

I've used all of the pluggins mentioned here and I keep coming back to the Waves De-esser. The others make my vocalists sound like daffy duck. Colored or not, Waves sounds most natural to my ear.
__________________
Mac Pro 2013 12 Core Trashcan, 64 gigs, OSX 10.14.6
PT HD Ultimate 2019.6, HDX with Focusrite Red 8pre, Dock + S3.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
De-Esser for Intel-Mac MATTY BOY 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-14-2006 09:18 AM
De-esser III bug? Przemek Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 02-08-2006 11:02 AM
Dny 3 De-Esser Craig F ICON & C|24 0 11-18-2005 07:57 PM
de-esser ? xqtion Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 10-20-2002 05:13 PM
DBX De-esser Charles Deenen Tips & Tricks 8 11-24-1999 04:37 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com