Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #361  
Old 06-25-2019, 10:10 PM
Akiz Akiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 109
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrekcor View Post
I spent a considerable amount of time researching DAW’s including Studio One, I thought it was a real step backwards and reminded me of Cubasis on my iPad.
What version was that V2? Have you used V4.5 recently? It is way closer to PT than you can think of. Nice try though...spend more time next time!

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrekcor View Post
It will be a while before it comes close to what PT is now and by then PT would have moved on.
Pro Tools development, is slower than watching grass grow.
Studio One evolves in a considerably fast pace. Look how many features they have added from V4.1 to V4.5 alone, 70 !
https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/stu...0-new-features

When was the last time that Pro Tools gained more than 10 significant features (LOL) in a single release???

Do you wanna bet which one will catch up first?

Cheers!
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1 "Late 2013", 12 Core 2.7 Ghz, 32Gb Ram, 1Tb SSD, MacOs 10.14.4 "Mojave", Apollo Twin Quad, Avid Artist Mix, ProTools 2019.6.
Reply With Quote
  #362  
Old 06-25-2019, 10:28 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 760
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

V4 actually.... Yeah lol you call them features..... more like standard DAW components/catch ups....

Like I said good luck to you. I’m not starting an argument with you.... if you like what S1 offers then go for it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akiz View Post
What version was that V2? Have you used V4.5 recently? It is way closer to PT than you can think of. Nice try though...spend more time next time


Pro Tools development, is slower than watching grass grow.
Studio One evolves in a considerably fast pace. Look how many features they have added from V4.1 to V4.5 alone, 70 !
https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/stu...0-new-features

When was the last time that Pro Tools gained more than 10 significant features (LOL) in a single release???

Do you wanna bet which one will catch up first?

Cheers!
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS Mojave 10.14.6 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2019.6-23.# - HEAT applied, Cubase 9.5,
Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
  #363  
Old 06-25-2019, 10:48 PM
Akiz Akiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 109
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrekcor View Post
V4 actually.... Yeah lol you call them features..... more like standard DAW components/catch ups....
Avid called features the "seamless playback", "name tracks faster!!!!" (a feature that is NOT a standard DAW components/catch up, right??, LOL), "1000 Midi Tracks", holly cow, now we're talking!

https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/hom...xpert-tutorial



Quote:
Originally Posted by xrekcor View Post
Like I said good luck to you. I’m not starting an argument with you.... if you like what S1 offers then go for it.

Thank you my dear, it would be a pointless argument, we better spend our time in more creative ways!
Good luck to you too....needs much patience to "watch grass grow!" If you allow me, a small advice....better get some more renewal plans to extend your update and support plan, until 2030, just to be covered in case something goes off the rail!

Cheers!
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1 "Late 2013", 12 Core 2.7 Ghz, 32Gb Ram, 1Tb SSD, MacOs 10.14.4 "Mojave", Apollo Twin Quad, Avid Artist Mix, ProTools 2019.6.
Reply With Quote
  #364  
Old 06-25-2019, 10:53 PM
seebee62 seebee62 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 31
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

I downloaded the Studio 1 demo this afternoon. I was just experimenting with simple routing setting up a session with nothing in it. I was seeing how much I could figure out without a tutorial.

It’s a interesting DAW. I like the plugin browser and drag and dropping plugins. I’m sure there are other things I’ll like. I’ve got 30 days to find out.

Not bad to get a crossgrade for $199. From what I understand it comes with Melodyne Essential. $400 will get you S1 and Logic X

After July 1 $400 will get you 2 years of the PT crap shoot. Who knows what the next few updates will bring a n PT.

I love working in PT I wouldn’t pay to renew if didn’t but a 100% increase for perpetual Vanilla is unacceptable.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Reply With Quote
  #365  
Old 06-25-2019, 10:59 PM
Akiz Akiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 109
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by seebee62 View Post
I downloaded the Studio 1 demo this afternoon. I was just experimenting with simple routing setting up a session with nothing in it. I was seeing how much I could figure out without a tutorial.

It’s a interesting DAW. I like the plugin browser and drag and dropping plugins. I’m sure there are other things I’ll like. I’ve got 30 days to find out.
Check this out too, Russ has done great job to help PT users adapt to S1 workflow easier. Worth the watch, if you have the time!
https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/stu...%20pro%20tools

Cheers!
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1 "Late 2013", 12 Core 2.7 Ghz, 32Gb Ram, 1Tb SSD, MacOs 10.14.4 "Mojave", Apollo Twin Quad, Avid Artist Mix, ProTools 2019.6.
Reply With Quote
  #366  
Old 06-25-2019, 11:04 PM
seebee62 seebee62 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 31
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akiz View Post
Check this out too, Russ has done great job to help PT users adapt to S1 workflow easier. Worth the watch, if you have the time!

Thanks.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Reply With Quote
  #367  
Old 06-26-2019, 01:14 AM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 760
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by seebee62 View Post
I downloaded the Studio 1 demo this afternoon. I was just experimenting with simple routing setting up a session with nothing in it. I was seeing how much I could figure out without a tutorial
Shouldn’t be too hard the manual is only a lil over 300 pages.... an afternoons read... wonder how big it was before the new 70 features lol a pamphlet
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS Mojave 10.14.6 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2019.6-23.# - HEAT applied, Cubase 9.5,
Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
  #368  
Old 06-26-2019, 05:36 AM
jpsexton's Avatar
jpsexton jpsexton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Margate, FL
Posts: 111
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrekcor View Post
I spent a considerable amount of time researching DAW’s including Studio One, I thought it was a real step backwards and reminded me of Cubasis on my iPad. It will be a while before it comes close to what PT is now and by then PT would have moved on.
My experience was quite the opposite. I've been demoing S1 4.5 for about a week now and I haven't once found anything that made me want to open Pro Tools again. They even have a setting that enables all of the Pro Tools shortcuts to work in S1!

I really like the routing and plugin browser. I'm liking the workflow better I think.

The big things for me is no I/O limit and the monitoring latency is soo much better. I've done some recording just monitoring thru the software and it works really well. Reminds me of my old TDM system.

All this and no heavy handed marketing. I'm probably going to do the crossgrade instead of reupping my PT support plan.
__________________
Intel - Core i7-8700 3.2GHz 6-Core Processor
Asus - Prime Z370-A ATX Motherboard
Asus Thund​erbolt III​ AIC
16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-2133 Memory
Patriot - Spark 256GB SSD System Drive
Patriot - Ignite 480GB SSD Work Drive
Hisense 43" 4K Display
Presonus Quantum
OS - Windows 10 Pro

Handle every stressful situation like a dog. If you can't eat it or play with it, Just pee on it and walk away.
Reply With Quote
  #369  
Old 06-26-2019, 05:45 AM
nige108's Avatar
nige108 nige108 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 269
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpsexton View Post
My experience was quite the opposite. I've been demoing S1 4.5 for about a week now and I haven't once found anything that made me want to open Pro Tools again. They even have a setting that enables all of the Pro Tools shortcuts to work in S1!



I really like the routing and plugin browser. I'm liking the workflow better I think.



The big things for me is no I/O limit and the monitoring latency is soo much better. I've done some recording just monitoring thru the software and it works really well. Reminds me of my old TDM system.



All this and no heavy handed marketing. I'm probably going to do the crossgrade instead of reupping my PT support plan.


I did the crossgrade last week and I feel the same. I’m impressed with the snappiness of S1. Its super quick. Pro Tools almost creaks compared to it.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #370  
Old 06-26-2019, 06:22 AM
Akiz Akiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 109
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nige108 View Post
I did the crossgrade last week and I feel the same. I’m impressed with the snappiness of S1. Its super quick. Pro Tools almost creaks compared to it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I might sound like i work for Presonous, but it is far from it, not even close TBH.
I am impressed by S1 as well. My first encounter with the software, was last year 2018, with v.3 where we had to work on a project for a well known producer that used S1 and we wanted to use the same platform. I really liked the workflow and the whole stability of the software and loading, closing and loading again projects, was fast, Pro Tools in comparison is like a snail. Also the whole application contains new code, supports modern frameworks and it is just 120Mb!!!

I still mix in Pro Tools, using my Artist mix surface though. The editing in S1 using Melodyne and Vocalign through ARA2 is just brilliant! Once you start using it, CMD+M for Melodyne and CMD+V for Vocalign, you can't go back to Pro Tools for the same tasks. Using Vocalign in Pro Tools with Audiosuite is so 90's...

Last but not least, the v.4 and now v.4.5 make even it more powerful and V.5 will bring much more stuff on the table. Good thing that Presonus is not greedy and will invest our money to the product!


Cheers!
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1 "Late 2013", 12 Core 2.7 Ghz, 32Gb Ram, 1Tb SSD, MacOs 10.14.4 "Mojave", Apollo Twin Quad, Avid Artist Mix, ProTools 2019.6.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Important Update on Upcoming Creative Tools Price Adjustments | 7.1.19 Avid General Announcements 1 06-27-2019 12:47 PM
Mbox Gain Issues and Protools Issues (Bounce to Disk and Knob/Pot adjustments) Lucky Bastard Getting Started 6 01-16-2014 04:29 PM
Protools 8HD upgrade price? pablotec Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 20 10-08-2008 01:30 PM
Protools HD to "HD II" upgrade price speculation....? N.E.R.D Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-12-2007 06:13 PM
G4 price drop in July? Mike Brosco Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 28 07-10-2002 12:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com