Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-06-2013, 06:17 AM
DoubleD DoubleD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Novi, Michigan
Posts: 2
Default Help with MBox2 and GarageBand

Help! I am lost!
I have a MBox2 that I bought brand new a few years ago for my daughter. (She never used it, and it has sat in the box until now) I have all the software for it. The Pro Tools LE version is 6.8.1.

I am trying to just use the MBox2 as an interface to record vocals with a standard Shure SM58 Microphone into GarageBand.

How do I do that?

I have never used GarageBand before.
I have never used Pro Tools.
I have not installed any of the Pro Tools software on my Mac.
I have a new 2013 MacBook Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-06-2013, 10:19 AM
DoubleD DoubleD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Novi, Michigan
Posts: 2
Default Re: Help with MBox2 and GarageBand

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-06-2013, 12:37 PM
Bruce Paine Bruce Paine is offline
Admin Emeritus
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Carmel, CA
Posts: 2,820
Default Re: Help with MBox2 and GarageBand

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleD View Post
Help! I am lost!
I have a MBox2 that I bought brand new a few years ago for my daughter. (She never used it, and it has sat in the box until now) I have all the software for it. The Pro Tools LE version is 6.8.1.

I am trying to just use the MBox2 as an interface to record vocals with a standard Shure SM58 Microphone into GarageBand.

How do I do that?

I have never used GarageBand before.
I have never used Pro Tools.
I have not installed any of the Pro Tools software on my Mac.
I have a new 2013 MacBook Pro.
Since you are probably on Mac OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion), you should download a newer driver version:

Drivers for Avid Audio Hardware:
www.avid.com/drivers >
USB Interfaces >
Mbox 2 Drivers

Your needs are fairly simple at this point, so I would start with the simplest solutions.

What I would suggest is downloading the Mbox 2 drivers for Mac that added support for Mountain Lion, and then see if you can get that going with GarageBand. Once you install the new drivers, you should be able to select the Mbox 2 in GarageBand as an audio interface.

If you want to listen to your audio through the Mbox 2, you will need to select it as the playback device (output in system preferences), and you will need to have either headphones or powered speakers connected directly to the Mbox 2.

Your version of Pro Tools (Pro Tools LE 6.8.1) is not going to work on your 2013 MacBook Pro (or any other Intel-based Mac system). So in order to use Pro Tools, you would need to purchase a newer version.

Your Mbox 2 hardware serial number would be eligible for the Pro Tools 11 Crossgrade from PT LE, but it doesn't sound to me from what you want to start with that you should spend $399 to upgrade Pro Tools.
__________________
Bruce Paine
System Details
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-16-2014, 02:40 PM
Mcgrathx Mcgrathx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 48
Default Re: Help with MBox2 and GarageBand

Hi DoubleD,
Did you ever get the mbox 2 to work with Garage band? I have an mbox 2 and 13" mbp retina and would like to try to use it with Garageband without installing ProTools. Any luck?
Michael
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-24-2016, 12:30 PM
kato_b kato_b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: London
Posts: 3
Default Re: Help with MBox2 and GarageBand

Hi, I'm having a similar problem. I'm using an mbox 2 with yosemite 10.10.5, and using garageband 10.1.2.

I have tried the driver advised (10.3.3) but the mbox2 never comes to life. The only driver that does still work is 9.0, but it doesn't work for long.

Just now I reinstalled the driver, rebooted, plugged mbox in which lit up. Opened garage band and record a vocal track which I could hear clearly through the headphones. I then replayed it and it sounded fine. On the second listen interference starting creeping in and gradually increased until my voice sounded lost in the matrix.

If I reboot and restart everything it's clear again, but then the interference starts happening gradually. It would be very difficult to record anything of any use like this.

If anyone has any advice that would be great. I'm wondering if the mbox2 is just too out of date and it's time to buy a new interface, but if I'm missing something I'd be very grateful for any advice. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-24-2016, 12:35 PM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,851
Default Re: Help with MBox2 and GarageBand

Try the 11.1.3 driver from here: http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/d...02-003-Drivers I know it says the 002 are unsupported, but that just means they are not specifically tested, it should still work with them.

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-24-2016, 12:38 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,448
Default Re: Help with MBox2 and GarageBand

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelG View Post
Try the 11.1.3 driver from here: http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/d...02-003-Drivers I know it says the 002 are unsupported, but that just means they are not specifically tested, it should still work with them.

Joel
Ah Joel, he's talking about an Mbox 2 not a 002.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-24-2016, 12:54 PM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,851
Default Re: Help with MBox2 and GarageBand

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Ah Joel, he's talking about an Mbox 2 not a 002.
Doh, reading to quick (and inaccurately).

The latest driver for the 002 only supports up to 10.9.4 - http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/d...-2-Pro-Drivers so either you'll have to roll back to an older version of OSX or start looking for a newer, supported interface..

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-25-2016, 03:12 AM
kato_b kato_b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: London
Posts: 3
Default Re: Help with MBox2 and GarageBand

Thanks for your replies. That confirms what I thought - I saw a few youtube videos (like this one https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ilJGG3AkM1U) that said there were ways around it but it never worked for me.

I'll take your advice and get a new interface.

Thanks again,

Kate

https://soundcloud.com/bearwithme-music
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-25-2016, 09:16 AM
kato_b kato_b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: London
Posts: 3
Default Re: Help with MBox2 and GarageBand

Hi, I replied but it hasn't appeared here as far as I can see. Just to say that you for your help

Kate
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox2 with Garageband? slash75 FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 1 05-07-2013 08:19 AM
Can an Mbox2 be used with an iPad2 for Garageband? AJBlues 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 05-31-2012 02:27 PM
Easy way to configure MBOX2 Pro to record in garageband Quicksilver Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 3 05-17-2009 02:24 PM
Can you use an Mbox2 Pro for Garageband? Quicksilver 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 07-28-2008 04:26 PM
Mbox2 work with Garageband while waiting for update? dannyjack 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-15-2008 10:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com