Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-2018, 06:09 PM
aremos aremos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami Beach, FL
Posts: 5
Default Does new purchase of PT include prior versions?

If one buys the latest software of Pro Tools does it come with access to download prior versions?
When buying a license for PT 12 (2018) HD, can one download PT HD 10?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-16-2018, 07:16 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,131
Default Re: Does new purchase of PT include prior versions?

No. Only people who had it prior and did an upgrade/reinstatement get to keep the older licenses when they upgrade and it becomes a new "bundle" license where the new 12 is bundled with 11, 10. Brand new licenses only give you 12.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.7, HDX 3, MTRX, HD Omni • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.12.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-14-2018, 01:24 AM
mikeyman's Avatar
mikeyman mikeyman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: L.A.
Posts: 630
Default Re: Does new purchase of PT include prior versions?

is there a charge every year if I upgrade from PT's 10 to 11, 12 or 2018
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-23-2018, 02:04 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 7,712
Default Re: Does new purchase of PT include prior versions?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyman View Post
is there a charge every year if I upgrade from PT's 10 to 11, 12 or 2018
Only if you want to continue getting new releases beyond the year that's included with an Upgrade Plan. If your Upgrade Plan expires you can continue with the version(s) provided since you have a perpetual license. You can upgrade or subscribe later if desired. Please check out the Pro Tools Licensing FAQ and let us know if you have additional questions. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-23-2018, 03:27 PM
mikeyman's Avatar
mikeyman mikeyman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: L.A.
Posts: 630
Default Re: Does new purchase of PT include prior versions?

got it thanks alot
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-24-2018, 07:15 PM
mikeyman's Avatar
mikeyman mikeyman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: L.A.
Posts: 630
Default Re: Does new purchase of PT include prior versions?

Hello Jeffro
.I'm still having problems in my Avid account.I had some help from one of your people on Facebook but the password works fine but when I click on certain pages I get a ''Validate'' account page and it will not validate my account.Plus I have PT's 10 native license and also a Artist Mix registered and it says I don't have anything.I would like to upgrade to 2018 what is the cost of that upgrade and can you help me Activate my account I get this code


Error Code - 055747628


invalid account
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-24-2018, 09:18 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 7,712
Default Re: Does new purchase of PT include prior versions?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyman View Post
...I would like to upgrade to 2018 what is the cost of that upgrade
The Upgrade is linked from http://www.avid.com/pro-tools/upgrades-and-renewals though you could purchase it from a reseller if desired.

Quote:
...can you help me Activate my account I get this code
Error Code - 055747628
invalid account
Sorry to hear that. I started a support case to get your account checked out. Please watch for a case notice email. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-24-2018, 09:40 PM
mikeyman's Avatar
mikeyman mikeyman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: L.A.
Posts: 630
Default Re: Does new purchase of PT include prior versions?

yes but how can I upgrade at a discounted price if Avid has no record of me owning PT;'s 10
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-24-2018, 09:54 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 7,712
Default Re: Does new purchase of PT include prior versions?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyman View Post
yes but how can I upgrade at a discounted price if Avid has no record of me owning PT;'s 10
The upgrade is based on your Pro Tools license. Avid CS should be able to get your account fixed so you can link your iLok User ID and do the upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-24-2018, 09:55 PM
mikeyman's Avatar
mikeyman mikeyman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: L.A.
Posts: 630
Default Re: Does new purchase of PT include prior versions?

ok thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does a new HDX2/PTHD purchase include PTHD10 license Hugh-H Licensing & Accounts 20 03-22-2016 10:40 AM
Does a NEW PTHD11 purchase include PTHD10? WombatStudio.Org Pro Tools 11 14 04-12-2013 08:12 PM
stability over prior to PT9 basslik Pro Tools 9 17 04-09-2011 09:00 AM
Uninstall prior to crossgrade? ldeadhead Pro Tools 9 5 02-23-2011 04:26 PM
Return to prior Selection carmichael Tips & Tricks 3 09-23-2005 07:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com