Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-07-2018, 06:37 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 399
Default S6 Tip ‘o the Day

Use the OPTION switch on any fader module (hold it down) while touching parameters on a knob module (EQ expand zone for example) or fader module to null / set to default.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Jeff Komar
Applications Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-08-2018, 05:03 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 399
Default Re: S6 Tip ‘o the Day

Use the little round SETUP button just to the right of the jog wheel on the automation module to lock the transport to a given application. This is handy if you want to trigger the Pro Tools transport if you are frequently application switching (Command+Tab) to other apps like DADman, SoundMiner, iTunes, etc.
__________________
Jeff Komar
Applications Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-09-2018, 09:50 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 399
Default Re: S6 Tip ‘o the Day

Here's a simple way to reprogram the BACK button on the transport section of the automation module to provide a bit more flexibility if you find yourself commonly toggling Insertion Follows Playback.

The BACK button in the attached appset has been modified to trigger the EUCON function "Restore Last Selection", which will bring back the last selection or insertion that existed before hitting play. This can be used in combination with turning Insertion Follows Playback ON, which obviously advances the playhead. To get back to the previous position simply press the BACK switch.



Before loading this appset (modified from current S6 v18.3 software) please save a copy of your appset if you've customized the factory set so you can get them back. This can all be accomplished from the Settings > Soft Keys page on the Master Module. Simply place the attached XML file on a flash drive, pop it into the back of the Master Module and Load it.


https://www.dropbox.com/s/is8u9zaiwg...60918.xml?dl=0
__________________
Jeff Komar
Applications Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-11-2018, 08:10 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 399
Default Re: S6 Tip ‘o the Day

With MTRX or any other PRE-compatible remote controllable mic preamps, add microphone Gain control to the process module encoder by holding down the Back (arrow) button at the bottom of the process module while pressing the Input switch. The encoder should turn Red. Bank using the adjacent arrow switches to get to the Gain parameter. As a shortcut, engage the ALL switch from the Master Module before performing this sequence to change the process module encoders on all channels. Experiment by bringing other parameters to the process module encoder such as Threshold on DYN, Sends or HPF frequency for EQ.
__________________
Jeff Komar
Applications Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-12-2018, 09:05 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 399
Default

Let's take a deeper look at some of the Local Options (Gear icon) from the Tracks Page. One particularly useful function is the option to "Display Breaks on Track Color" which automatically creates rows for each chunk of tracks by color. This can provide a more dramatic visual separation between track elements within your session. You can also optionally enable "Show Home Screen on Track Attention" to jump directly to the exploded Home page and access the function scroller when a track is Attentioned from the Tracks Page.

__________________
Jeff Komar
Applications Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-12-2018, 09:17 AM
innenhofstudios innenhofstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vienna
Posts: 73
Default Re: S6 Tip ‘o the Day

Quote:
Originally Posted by creativecontrol View Post
Use the little round SETUP button just to the right of the jog wheel on the automation module to lock the transport to a given application. This is handy if you want to trigger the Pro Tools transport if you are frequently application switching (Command+Tab) to other apps like DADman, SoundMiner, iTunes, etc.
omg this is great
+1 for my nerves :)
__________________
www.innenhofstudios.at
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-13-2018, 07:51 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 399
Default Re: S6 Tip ‘o the Day

On the Home page, the Function Scroller shows a row of blocks representing categories of functions that can be manipulated for an Attentioned track. For Inserts (teal), use a Pinch Out gesture to expose all of the inserts in the processing chain. To simplify the view of parameters in the center of the Home screen, access the Local Options (Gear icon) and and set Knob View to "Selected Function". Now when you touch any of the blocks in the Function Scroller it will filter everything else out of the view.

Use the little Lock icons to anchor the chosen (in this case Dynamics) parameters to either side of the Master Module encoders. Dynamics is anchored on the left then Insert parameters for Phoenix II can be anchored to the right side. Unlock the column to swap out Dynamics with EQ for example.

__________________
Jeff Komar
Applications Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-17-2018, 04:35 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 399
Default S6 Tip ‘o the Day

Enable "Auto Show Function Graph on Selection" from the Local options (Gear icon) of the Home page to automatically bring down the curve for (EQ, Dyn or Pan) without having to perform a swipe gesture.

Enable "Auto Show Function Graph on Knob Touch" to display the appropriate curve when a parameter is tweaked for EQ, Dyn or Pan. We've set the value to be 1.0 seconds, which means that it will display the appropriate curve and then timeout back to the previous view after one second.

We've first docked Pan on the right encoders then Dynamics on the left. Grabbing the Threshold brings up the gain transfer curve then reverts back to the color-coded All Parameters view. Grabbing the Pan encoder displays the pan plot and then times out. Pan is then swapped out for the High Mid and High EQ bands.

__________________
Jeff Komar
Applications Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com