Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-11-2002, 07:57 AM
mike001 mike001 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 118
Default Slowing it down!!

Hi. I was hoping that someone may have the answer to this.

Is the any way to slow down already recorded music.

I tried it many ways with no great result.

I know there must be an easy way.

School me!!! [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

M
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-11-2002, 08:23 AM
digi2000 digi2000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 306
Default Re: Slowing it down!!

I am sure you have tried Time stretching. One thing you can do is select all the audio files and then time stretch them all your desired speed. Depending on the number of audio files you are working with this could take quite a while but that would be the best way to tackle the problem in my opinion.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-11-2002, 09:02 AM
J. FO J. FO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: NYC, NY
Posts: 502
Default Re: Slowing it down!!

i've only managed to shrink things, everythime i've tried to strech something out inside PT using the time compression-expansion audiosuite plug, it has done weird things. i believe there are programs like gigasampler (that might not be one, but there is some out there) that allow you to mess with the BPM of a given sample. maybe you could do it this way.
__________________
Jeremy Forbis
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-11-2002, 09:26 AM
pk_hat pk_hat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: grimy Brooklyn
Posts: 4,680
Default Re: Slowing it down!!

import the whole track into Acid 3.0 if you have it, this would be the easiest way.
__________________
www.myspace.com/krou
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-22-2002, 01:31 PM
ptrbas ptrbas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 483
Default Re: Slowing it down!!

I never used Time Compression Expander on a hole tune but it works like this:
Select audio>audiosuite&gt>Time compression Expander;click destination time>
fill in the bpm>enter>process.
When use in play list is selected you will see the new audio in your session.
Don't forget to make a back-up first [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
-----------
Pieter
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-22-2002, 01:49 PM
Last Last is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: South Africa
Posts: 485
Default Re: Slowing it down!!

Ill give you a little heads up about the time comp-exp plugin : Play around with the crossfade.

You will also get better results with smaller changes to the piece.To more drastic the speed up-or slow down is,the harder it is going to be to get right.
__________________
If you're gonna laugh about it later, you may as well laugh about it now
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-22-2002, 04:37 PM
pk_hat pk_hat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: grimy Brooklyn
Posts: 4,680
Default Re: Slowing it down!!

Quote:
Originally posted by pk_hat:
import the whole track into Acid 3.0 if you have it, this would be the easiest way.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">bump
__________________
www.myspace.com/krou
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-22-2002, 05:03 PM
Bloux Bloux is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Costa Mesa Ca. usa
Posts: 1,068
Default Re: Slowing it down!!

Quote:
Originally posted by Bloux:
I have to stay in PT's

[img]images/icons/frown.gif[/img]
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Bump!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-22-2002, 05:54 PM
pk_hat pk_hat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: grimy Brooklyn
Posts: 4,680
Default Re: Slowing it down!!

Time Comp/Exp plug then.

source bpm: 104
dest bpm : 100

+ 'Process'

don't forget to highlight whatever file you need to process.
__________________
www.myspace.com/krou
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-22-2002, 06:14 PM
chriswebb chriswebb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Bear, DE USA
Posts: 72
Default Re: Slowing it down!!

I've experienced wonderful results with the Audiosuite's time expression/compression tool.
Don't over use it or you'll be sorry. Apply the same effect settings to each track.
I'm doing voice overdubs on a jazz trio that recorded the music live last September. 2 songs had problems. One too fast, the other too slow-both by only a couple BPM.
I fixed it as described above no problem.
I ALWAYS make a backup of the recording directory whenever I perform such a drastic change. I highly recommend such practices.
Chris
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slowing down click willl3 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 05-31-2007 09:50 PM
slowing down a song kneegrow Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 12-15-2005 03:40 PM
g5 slowing down! richsorr 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-21-2004 11:43 PM
Seems like PT is slowing down... Dr. J Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 07-16-2002 06:21 PM
PT5/G4 slowing down midimac Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-15-2000 05:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com