Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-11-2018, 10:19 AM
dgbeem dgbeem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Posts: 3
Default insertion follows playback not working

Any thoughts on why "insertion follows playback" suddenly stopped working? I have deleted my PT preferences and still have the same problem.

So, do I need to re-installl?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-11-2018, 11:53 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,419
Default Re: insertion follows playback not working

Welcome to the community.

Well, you don't give any information about your system, nor how PT behaves. If you're sure insertion follows playback is enabled, I'll guess that an unwanted pre-roll is enabled.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-11-2018, 12:13 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 966
Default Re: insertion follows playback not working

Is the indicated option for "insertion follow playback" lit up on the button under the tools?
What is your playback mode (see the transport)?

If you post a picture of your edit window, it's usually easy to tell if something got clicked (the playhead/playline changes color, etc.) to a different mode.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.7, HDX 3, MTRX, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.12.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-11-2018, 04:23 PM
dgbeem dgbeem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Posts: 3
Default Re: insertion follows playback not working

Click image for larger version

Name:	Pt.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	78.6 KB
ID:	10312

Pro Tools 10 running under OS10.7.5 This is the first hiccup I have had since late 2012. Video and audio stored on an external firewire drive.

I'm also running 4.15 macOS 10.13 High Sierra on the same laptop but the problem began before using two operating systems.

I am aware of the "insertion follows playback" button and changing it does no good.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PT screen.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	77.1 KB
ID:	10311  
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-11-2018, 04:57 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 966
Default Re: insertion follows playback not working

You have dynamic transport on. Turn that off.

Also make sure the following is checked in Preferences:

__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.7, HDX 3, MTRX, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.12.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB

Last edited by BScout; 04-11-2018 at 05:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-11-2018, 06:51 PM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,797
Default Re: insertion follows playback not working

There is a bug if you have "quick-punch" engaged it doesn't work.
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-11-2018, 08:32 PM
dgbeem dgbeem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Posts: 3
Default Re: insertion follows playback not working

Thanks Eric, you nailed it!

Working fine now. I seldom actually record since I'm usually sweetening video or doing sound design. Recently, I started using a bus to send my mix to an audio track instead of the customary "bounce to disk". That way I can watch picture as I print. (Makes me feel more comfortable)

I probably engaged "quick punch" by accident.

I appreciate your help!

G
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Insertion follows playback Philharmonic7 Pro Tools | S6 4 04-20-2017 12:46 AM
Insertion Follows Playback not working Pro Tools 12.6 nofx1609 Pro Tools 12 6 10-17-2016 07:14 AM
Insertion follows playback. Seeee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-13-2006 04:41 PM
insertion follows playback KingTor ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 5 05-22-2001 04:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com