Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-06-2018, 07:02 PM
cp2 cp2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 24
Default PT 10.3 Freezes Session AND Computer...

Hello,

I'm having an issue with 10.3. It not only freezes the session, but my entire computer so I have to do a hard reboot every time. Sometimes it will freeze right away, but sometimes I can work for up to a half an hour before a freeze.

I haven't upgraded or added anything new so everything should still be compatible. Any thoughts on this?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-06-2018, 10:51 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,331
Default Re: PT 10.3 Freezes Session AND Computer...

This might be of help.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.3 | Logic Pro X | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-07-2018, 05:08 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 14,641
Default Re: PT 10.3 Freezes Session AND Computer...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cp2 View Post
Hello,

I'm having an issue with 10.3. It not only freezes the session, but my entire computer so I have to do a hard reboot every time. Sometimes it will freeze right away, but sometimes I can work for up to a half an hour before a freeze.

I haven't upgraded or added anything new so everything should still be compatible. Any thoughts on this?

Thanks!
Some system info would help like OSX version, etc.
Exact PT10 version?
Any third party plugins? A plugin doesn't have to be used in a session to cause issues.
What exactly are you doing when PT freezes up? Anything else besides PT running at the same time?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-07-2018, 04:24 PM
cp2 cp2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 24
Default Re: PT 10.3 Freezes Session AND Computer...

Thanks for this info, going to have a look right now.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-07-2018, 04:47 PM
cp2 cp2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 24
Default Re: PT 10.3 Freezes Session AND Computer...

Jack -
I'm running OSX 10.8.5 on a Mac Pro 2 x 2.8 GHz Quad processor.
PT version 10.3.7
I have multiple 3rd party plugins, VI's, the freeze occurs at any given time and not with just one plugin in particular. Sometimes it's the drum machine 'Boom,' sometimes I'm tracking something with Kontact, sometimes I'm just practicing a part on my midi controller... it might happen 5 minutes in, sometimes I can go 30-45 minutes. Doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason to it.
I haven't added anything new, I'm just using what I've always used so these freezes are a new thing. I've checked and no other programs seem to be running in the background. I'm stumped.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-08-2018, 06:08 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 14,641
Default Re: PT 10.3 Freezes Session AND Computer...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cp2 View Post
Jack -
I'm running OSX 10.8.5 on a Mac Pro 2 x 2.8 GHz Quad processor.
PT version 10.3.7
I have multiple 3rd party plugins, VI's, the freeze occurs at any given time and not with just one plugin in particular. Sometimes it's the drum machine 'Boom,' sometimes I'm tracking something with Kontact, sometimes I'm just practicing a part on my midi controller... it might happen 5 minutes in, sometimes I can go 30-45 minutes. Doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason to it.
I haven't added anything new, I'm just using what I've always used so these freezes are a new thing. I've checked and no other programs seem to be running in the background. I'm stumped.
That combo should work okay. Try this - remove all third party plugins from the 'used plugins' folder to the unused plugins folder and see how things go. If okay then move one developer's plugins back and retest. Keep on going until the problem happens again.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools HD 10.3.4 Open Session Freezes Computer seanconor Pro Tools Software (Win) 1 07-02-2014 07:38 AM
computer freezes when opening session stumpbuster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 11-03-2008 11:17 AM
computer freezes everytime I close a session??? dchapp33 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-14-2005 07:02 AM
computer freezes stickstome2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-10-2001 06:52 AM
Computer freezes when starting new session Archie Gates 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-27-2000 12:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com