Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-09-2018, 03:48 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,390
Default Re: Zoom in follows playback head? preference?

Which scrolling option are you using?
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.3 | Logic Pro X | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-09-2018, 04:51 AM
Resuah Knit Resuah Knit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Location
Posts: 22
Default Re: Zoom in follows playback head? preference?

I'm using "no scrolling" - I tried the others but they are not giving me the results I need, I'm sure I am just missing something, like moving the little orange .I. locator by grid value, I know how to move it by track and by region (L, apostrophe, semicolon, and P) cause it looks like this "bar" (sorry I don't know the name of it yet) is the anchor for zooming via "r" and "t".

oh I think I am just about to wrap my head around all this, this could get interesting

I think since I had "link timeline and edit selection" on, I came to think zooming via r/t relies on the start and the end of a loop.

anyways thanks for the hints, it's worth experimenting with them, as behaviour seems to change a lot with them - any tipps for fastest workflows when working with loops and doing lots of tiny-miny edits and working super tight (almost sample tight - I might run into the rounding issue at some point, so far it is no issue though, but I am fairly new to PT and am not using it in "pro" mode yet hehe..(pro mode mans using audio to derive triggers for analog and digital fx units and all these shenanigans, so far I did all that with cubase, but cubase on mac was not quite there for many years, and I just ended up owning all DAW softwares there after migrating from PC to Mac in the eternal search for the holy grail...

any essential shortcuts that I should memorize? the "arrow key tip" really is already a kind of game-changer for me with PT :) 👍
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-09-2018, 05:02 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,390
Default Re: Zoom in follows playback head? preference?

I'd suggest that you experiment with the available options, and find a workflow that you like. We're happy to help. It takes a while to use any DAW in "pro mode".

Regarding shortcuts - there are so many, and it all depends on how you like to work, and what you're after. Check out the docs. You can search when you're stuck.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.3 | Logic Pro X | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bug - playback head gets stuck when zooming during playback atucker Pro Tools Software (Mac) 0 01-18-2011 02:55 PM
Preference question: Hearing audio during playback audio[LAB] 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-15-2007 07:23 AM
playback head disappearing Chris Julian 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-05-2006 11:44 AM
"Timeline Insertion Follows Playback" preference WildHoney Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 04-09-2006 03:42 AM
"Zoom Toggle Track Height" preference is missing. Stig Eliassen Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 11-08-2005 02:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com