Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-20-2003, 03:55 PM
Lance-a-not Lance-a-not is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 3
Default iMac G3 & mbox advice

Hello,

I've been lurking here a bit trying to learn from all of you (THANKS!!!) and I have a couple questions, need advice.

I have an iMac, G3, w/400mhz....

I currently have been using an Akai dps12 for my recording needs. I record there, mix down, put the song in my Mac and master in T-Racks, then off to burn yet again...

I have been told the the sound quality with the mbox will be better than what I now have by a good margin, but...

Will my iMac do the job worth it, or should I save and wait till I can get a newer Mac?

It looks like the only PTLE versions I can run would be with OS 9.2.2.... Though I saw someone's signature that looked like they were running PTLE/OSX with a G3/400.

The mbox I can budget right now, but I have to sell the Akai's ( I have 2)... So I want to get(or keep) whatever will give me the best tone quality for the money.

ANY and ALL advice would be most welcome!!

Many Thanks,

Lance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-20-2003, 07:49 PM
captain54 captain54 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Chicago, Il 60805
Posts: 210
Default Re: iMac G3 & mbox advice

It definitely will work, but don't expect a lot of tracks, plug-ins, etc...

for the most part, be prepared to do a lot bouncing down....I've been able to get about 16-18 tracks with a fair amount of plug-ins....
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-20-2003, 10:50 PM
Lance-a-not Lance-a-not is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 3
Default Re: iMac G3 & mbox advice

Thanks!!

Would the number of tracks and plug-ins be helped by more memory, or is that more a processor function?

Will the sound quality going from my 16bit/48 Akai really be better? My main concern is quality of the sound, not so much effects, ease of editing, etc...
I will mainly be recording guitar and bass, then sequencing drums & other inst.

Sorry if my questions are dumb, I have almost no idea what computer recording is all about
( I'm not quite sure what a plug-in is)...
I have always used dedicated units like the Akai.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-20-2003, 11:20 PM
Drive d Drive d is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 282
Default Re: iMac G3 & mbox advice

I run with the G3 IBook and a M Box and just this week now the 002. I have been very happy with my M Box. I have been able to edit up to the 24 tracks with enough plug ins to do the job. With the 002 I tried today loading up on tracks and plug ins. I had 28 tracks and I got up to about 15 plug ins before the CPU quit. So I think I will be OK for awhile until I can afford a G4... I have 256 ram but I understand that Plug Ins use the CPU to work in real time. But you can also get creative with bouncing and using Audiosuite stuff... Sweet right?
Good luck and have fun!
d-
__________________
G5 Quad 2.5
Digi 002
G5 D 2.0 HD 3 Accel
Control 24 - (2)192's
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-21-2003, 10:30 AM
captain54 captain54 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Chicago, Il 60805
Posts: 210
Default Re: iMac G3 & mbox advice

Quote:
Originally posted by Lance-a-not:


Would the number of tracks and plug-ins be helped by more memory, or is that more a processor function?

Will the sound quality going from my 16bit/48 Akai really be better? My main concern is quality of the sound, not so much effects, ease of editing, etc...
I will mainly be recording guitar and bass, then sequencing drums & other inst.

<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">I have the exact same computer (imac 400se DV) and an MBox...I have 384 MB ram...I wouldn't think of using anything less...

there are a number of advantages to using the MBox over the AKAI...you'll be recording in 24 bit, more flexibility over all, etc....

plug-ins are effects (reverb, compression, eq, etc, that are "plugged into" a channel insert)

the sound quality is really dependent on your engineering skills....I've heard some really good recordings with the Mbox with people who knew what they were doing...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-22-2003, 01:46 AM
lynxxx lynxxx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: L.A., CA USA
Posts: 316
Default Re: iMac G3 & mbox advice

I used to run on an iMac DV G3 400mhz. It's the mhz that make the difference, not the RAM, although more RAM never hurts. My iMac has 768 MB. I started with PTFree and then went to M-box. You will definitely have track count and especially plug-in restraints with this setup but it will work fine up to its limits, which will depend on what you are trying to do. Waves plug-ins are particularly cpu-hungry, although they sound great. At this point in time and being new to it you're probably better off in 9.2.2-it's stable and (mostly) bug free, and what the majority are still using. I currently run a G4 QS DP 1Gig. Like night and day with speed and restraints. But the G3 is a good little machine (mines still in service as the office computer) has Firewire inputs for your ext. drive(for your sessions-highly recommended) and will get you started. I know nothing about the Akai's but the M-box is acknowledged to have decent stock pre's(Focusrite) and you can add better outboards later.
Have fun.
__________________
Mbox /PTLE 5.2
G4 QS Dual 1Ghz OS 9.2.2
512mb RAM
80 G Seagate internal HD
60 G IBM Deskstar internal HD
40 G Buslink (Seagate)FW ext.HD
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-22-2003, 05:47 AM
Lance-a-not Lance-a-not is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 3
Default Re: iMac G3 & mbox advice

Thanks a lot everyone, I really appreciate the feedback!

I am think what I'll do is keep one Akai for the ability to record a full on drum set and mix, then do all the guitars and light effects in the PT/mbox world until I can upgrade to a new Mac..... Sounds like it would be the most cost effective way to get to the next stage.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Want a refurb iMac, need solid advice, please! Badelement1 macOS 3 10-19-2013 10:13 PM
Advice - iMac purchase ASTR 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-07-2012 07:54 AM
imac 21.5 or mac mini for MP9?ADVICE! lalocura77 macOS 2 09-29-2011 11:20 AM
New 27" imac / "original" mbox - need some clear advice.please help !! santococo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-21-2010 11:30 AM
Any 002R on iMac G5 users?...Need Advice js54 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-28-2005 07:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com