Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-31-2018, 05:46 AM
Macsearcher Macsearcher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 152
Default S3 Custom selection button plate

Hey folks.
I've come up with a hardware idea to solve the tiny selection buttons problem. If I can get enough interest, I may have it professionally manufactured. It would be a simple aluminum plate with slightly bent tabs that allow for seeing the selection light. I'm just pricing out the manufacturing for a small run now and I wanted to get a feel for how many may be interested in purchasing one.
Please see attached pics. It would be easy to do custom colors and even custom labels or laser etching.
I mocked it up with some tape and a bunch of guitar picks for now and it works surprisingly well. It feels like they are all large buttons now. You can press anywhere on any of the picks and the selector button engages. For VCA spill etc this is SO handy.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2018-05-31 at 8.36.28 AM.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	19.5 KB
ID:	10551   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2018-05-31 at 8.36.07 AM.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	51.3 KB
ID:	10552   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0364.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	72.7 KB
ID:	10553   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0362.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	61.0 KB
ID:	10554  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-31-2018, 09:59 AM
teedeecee teedeecee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sydney
Posts: 91
Default Re: S3 Custom selection button plate

Ha, love the picks. Great idea.

Do you think that the aluminium, being stiff, will not allow for the same level of individual movement as the picks and gaff does?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-04-2018, 05:26 AM
Macsearcher Macsearcher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 152
Default Re: S3 Custom selection button plate

Thought that I'd post an update on this.
After living with it for a few days, I am more than a little happy with it.
It has breathed new life into my S3. The function of the select buttons remains the same but previously, I found that while I did use them, I subconsciously avoided using them often because having to carefully press those little keys distracted my attention. I haven't heard back from anyone about wanting a unit made and to be honest, it is quite expensive to have a prototype made up so I'm probably going to live with the guitar pick hack for now. It works really well. The key is to use very thick picks, I have a variety on there now as I was testing different ones. The dunlop 207 (see attached) seems to be about perfect.
A note, it's critical to make sure that you cut slots in the tape where it covers the fader slots, if they faders are even slightly impeded, they will not function.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0009.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	50.0 KB
ID:	10578  
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-07-2018, 08:34 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,702
Default Re: S3 Custom selection button plate

Nice But wouldn't a glob of chewing gum work?
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What button did I push. Timeline Selection Freaking Out! a2zproductions Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 11-26-2009 11:01 AM
OT - EMT Plate Vaporhead Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 17 03-14-2008 07:29 AM
Looking for Lex 480 delayed plate IR crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 12-21-2007 12:03 PM
OT: New License Plate Riad 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-26-2004 07:45 AM
THD Hot Plate emilano Tips & Tricks 2 10-02-2001 12:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com