Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-31-2011, 10:15 AM
bdc123 bdc123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 16
Default Anybody use Eleven Rack with Digital Performer?

Does anybody use Digital Performer to control an Eleven Rack in a live setting? The church I play with uses DP7 on a Mac and I want to see if I can use my 11R and have DP7 set delay times, change patches, etc. The guy that sets up DP7 has my 11R right now and he can get DP7 to see the 11R but can't get any farther. Any assistance is much appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-31-2011, 11:37 AM
Chad Pippin Chad Pippin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 62
Default Re: Anybody use Eleven Rack with Digital Performer?

I do but haven't tried that yet. Same situation as yours. I would imagine that it will need to be synced via MIDI for it to receive any sort of command from DP.
__________________
Guitars 2010 Rickenbacker 360, 1989 Gretsch Firebird, 2009 PRS Single Cut Trem, 2010 Fender Strat, 2001 Taylor 614ce
Pedalboard Fulltone Clyde Wah, Boss FV-500h, Foxrox CC Hybrid Fuzz, Foxrox Octron, Foxrox Aquavibe, Foxrox ZIM, Xotic EP Booster, Boss TR-2, Korg Pitchblack, Rocktron MIDI Mate
Amps Avid Eleven Rack :: My Photos :: My Facebook :: My Church
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-31-2011, 11:46 AM
bdc123 bdc123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 16
Default Re: Anybody use Eleven Rack with Digital Performer?

I'm not up on the midi thing (that's why my friend is working with it!) He was trying to get it synced and that is what he was having an issue with...He has been searching for drivers and what not but was not able to find anything to get them to sync together. The main thing I would want is to use it for is to set delay times so I don't have to do the "tap" dance! The automated patch changes would be a bonus, although it would make me nervous leaving something like that to an external device...I've always been a more analog, hands-on, pedals at my feet type of guy.

I noticed your earlier post on what you use in you P&W setting....I mostly play a Gretsch Power Jet and occasionally a Strat through a large pedal board into a Dr Z Mazerati pushing a remote Mesa Thiele cab which has been a great setup. Our director is really into the technology stuff and he really wants me to try the 11R just to see what it can do in that setting.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-31-2011, 03:09 PM
Chad Pippin Chad Pippin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 62
Default Re: Anybody use Eleven Rack with Digital Performer?

I personally wouldn't want to have to deal with setting up all my patch changes and sync them to the MIDI timeline. If I was playing a set that was very consistent it would make more sense. But since what we do changes every weekend (and sometimes very last minute) I don't think it would make sense at all. Now sync'ing tempo would be nice and should be fairly easy using a midi cable connected to whatever interface the Mac and DP are using. We use a MOTU Ultralite which has MIDI in and out ports. I should se if I can get than happening this weekend and report back to you.
__________________
Guitars 2010 Rickenbacker 360, 1989 Gretsch Firebird, 2009 PRS Single Cut Trem, 2010 Fender Strat, 2001 Taylor 614ce
Pedalboard Fulltone Clyde Wah, Boss FV-500h, Foxrox CC Hybrid Fuzz, Foxrox Octron, Foxrox Aquavibe, Foxrox ZIM, Xotic EP Booster, Boss TR-2, Korg Pitchblack, Rocktron MIDI Mate
Amps Avid Eleven Rack :: My Photos :: My Facebook :: My Church
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-31-2011, 03:24 PM
bdc123 bdc123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 16
Default Re: Anybody use Eleven Rack with Digital Performer?

I agree on the patch changes...See what you can find out...Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-31-2011, 11:56 PM
madgt621 madgt621 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Current: Ikebukuro, Tokyo, Hails from: San Francisco
Posts: 486
Default Re: Anybody use Eleven Rack with Digital Performer?

not sure about DP, but if you wanna send MIDI info to the 11R via MIDI track, heres how it should work in theory. I'm in the middle of moving apartments so I don't have my set up up and running.

1: Check your Mac's MIDI setup in "AudioMidi" and make sure the 11R is showing. It should show up if you have the appropriate and updated drivers installed.

2: Set up an IAC "virtual MIDI cable" to your 11R so that your 11R can receive the MIDI. You do not have to do this in PT, and you may or may not have to do this in other DAWs if the 11R is being used as an interface.

3. Create a MIDI track and input the appropriate MIDI CC, of course in the appropriate time. I believe it's CC64. Then set the MIDI tracks output to either the 11R MIDI Ch "whatever your 11R is receiving on" or through the IAC you created.

4. Make sure your 11R is set to the appropriate channel to receive, and you should be good to go.

This is all in theory though. I'd check myself if I wasn't kickin it in a McDonalds right now.
__________________
Macbook Pro OSX 10.6.8, 2.53 GHz Core 2 Duo, 8 GB RAM
Pro Tools 10.0.0
Ableton Live 8.2.1
RME Fireface 800
Eleven Rack
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-01-2011, 11:34 AM
bdc123 bdc123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 16
Default Re: Anybody use Eleven Rack with Digital Performer?

Excellent....Thanks for the tip madgt621! I'll make sure that is fully explored.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eleven Rack Volume Control... Digital or Analog? mrjstudios Eleven Rack 3 08-30-2011 03:37 PM
Eleven Rack digital in/out sharkfin Eleven Rack 2 02-17-2011 09:28 AM
Eleven Rack - Digital out (spdif) volume control BobTheDog Eleven Rack 3 12-23-2010 01:26 AM
Can Eleven Rack be used with other DAWs (Digital Performer eg.)? hwalker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 10-02-2009 01:08 PM
Digital Performer 4 and 002 Rack tucum 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 10-07-2003 08:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com