Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-13-2018, 07:19 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 1,889
Default Super Auto-Join!

I often mix in latch mode with Auto-Join on. Very convenient. The other day I went back to fix something and was frustrated that I had missed the Auto-Join line. Typically when this happens, I have to remember what I was doing and touch everything that needs to stay in latch. Clumsy. So I thought, what I need is 'super auto-join!.' And that's when I realized that super auto-join has been a feature for years. It's called all "write" mode.

Ok back to work...
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
RHUMBA
www.rhumba.pro
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-13-2018, 11:30 AM
Reckless Erik Reckless Erik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Posts: 634
Default Re: Super Auto-Join!

Can you flip to all write while the transport is moving?
__________________
nickcath@internet.is
Newcomer Audio Post
MacBookPro 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.13.3, PT 2018.3 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix...,
MacPro 3.5GHz 6 core 64GB RAM OSX 10.13.3, PT 2018.3 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix, PT Dock...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-13-2018, 12:47 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 1,889
Default Re: Super Auto-Join!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reckless Erik View Post
Can you flip to all write while the transport is moving?
Yep. I go into play, and as soon as everything sounds right, I hold down option and hit "write" and away you go. Now on the next pass, everything kicks back to latch and you're back in regular auto-join.

Just to be clear, I usually find myself in this situation because I was in Preview, worked on a tricky section, then went into Punch Preview and stayed there for as long as possible. If your Punch Preview buffer is still viable, then you don't need to work this way.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
RHUMBA
www.rhumba.pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
glitch with auto join in PT 10 mixify Pro Tools 10 3 06-25-2013 02:18 PM
Auto Join Inconsistency midnightsun ICON & C|24 4 01-25-2009 01:32 PM
Auto Join and Trim mode thermisonic Post - Surround - Video 2 01-15-2009 08:36 AM
What does the "Auto Join" tab do? abbyin3d Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 01-18-2006 07:39 AM
6.9 and "Auto Join" grayed out? InjuredEar ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 6 06-07-2005 12:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:23 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com