Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-22-2016, 10:38 AM
Pedro perez Pedro perez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Escondido Ca
Posts: 304
Default 12.7 a clean install a must?

PT 12.6 with bugs and all is running fine on my comp,why should I do a "clean" install? thanks for commenting

Last edited by Pedro perez; 12-22-2016 at 10:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-22-2016, 10:43 AM
Teolin Teolin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 200
Default Re: 12.7 a clean install a must?

Loading .7 would make me feel dirty... for paying something (quite a bit) for nothing.
__________________
Pro Tools 12.4
HDN, PCIe, Omni & Digi 192

ASUS Sabertooth, Intel i7 3820 3.6Ghz
32 GB 1600Mhz Corsair RAM
SSD 500GB Samsung
WIN 10 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-22-2016, 01:51 PM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,707
Default Re: 12.7 a clean install a must?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teolin View Post
Loading .7 would make me feel dirty... for paying something (quite a bit) for nothing.
No need to do a clean install at all. I'd back up your plug-in folders and the Pro Tools folder in the Documents folder and use that app (can't remember the name,) to back up your preferences.

EDIT: I don't use Application Manager though. I download from my Avid account.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Avid HDX1, PT12 HD, HD I/O 16x16, Avid S6 M10 24-5, 2013 12 Core Mac Pro. Robby The Robot meter bridge ornament.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-22-2016, 02:13 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,304
Default Re: 12.7 a clean install a must?

Clean install preferred, PT will have less of those unexplainable issues forums are plagued of. At least that's my personal experience.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-22-2016, 02:23 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,922
Default Re: 12.7 a clean install a must?

On Mac no need and we haven't uninstalled once since PT 10.0.0 and up to 12.7

On Windoze no idea but read that it is adviced to unistall.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-22-2016, 05:12 PM
risey's Avatar
risey risey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 160
Default Re: 12.7 a clean install a must?

Yes do a clean install on Windows, I first installed via application manager and ran into errors, then when I tried to manually uninstall my 12.6 it had more errors, i then had to repair 12.6, then manually uninstall it, then install 12.7 fresh.
__________________
http://www.PhatMonkey.me
Windows 10 64bit | Asus Rog Hero Xi | Intel i9-9900K | Corsair LPX Vengeance 64g DDR4 RAM | Avid Mbox Pro 3 | Focusrite 18i20 2nd Gen | MSI RTX 2080TI Gaming X Trio | Acer Z35 Predator Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-22-2016, 05:36 PM
Wizzoboy's Avatar
Wizzoboy Wizzoboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 604
Default Re: 12.7 a clean install a must?

Always do a clean install on Windows. In the past when I tried just installing the new version over the old, Windows decided it was an update, so only added some of the new version to the old causing a lot of problems.
__________________
Dell Precision 490 Workstation, dual 4 core 5355 Xeon, 16gb Samsung DDR2 ECC Ram - Windows 7 Ultimate - Nvidia GTX 650 - 3 x Internal WD Blacks - PT 2018.3 - Digi 002R - Original Mackie HUI - JBL Monitoring.
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 - 24gb RAM - Windows 10 - Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB with Studio driver 431.86- 2 x Internal WD Blacks + MSATA card - Davinci Resolve 16.1 - Canon HF G40
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-22-2016, 06:56 PM
xylie6 xylie6 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 97
Default Re: 12.7 a clean install a must?

I use a second SSD drive for new stuff. Generally end up staying there and using that until the next if all is well. 12.7 manual downloaded to Sierra OS, Installed and used for hours today- no issues at all.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10.3.2 wont even install! After clean windows 7 install!!! shamanrock Windows 13 12-27-2012 05:39 PM
Clean install of PT 10 under fresh install of Lion bortraws macOS 0 10-24-2011 09:53 AM
Can't install Pro Tools 8! Clean install, new system, Vista! DJ Hellfire 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 31 01-09-2011 12:16 PM
clean install? 10.4.10 to 10.6.2 (PT 7.4 to 8.0.4) MixerGuy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 07-15-2010 11:14 AM
Re-install or restore, and what is a "clean install"? dave23 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-18-2001 07:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com