Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-10-2016, 05:28 AM
KamaSutra77 KamaSutra77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,284
Default Why is Logic such a different Mix from ProTools?

Logic I struggle to get a good mix going, PT I'm bouncing a "listenable" mix in minutes.

Is it the pan law, the summing bus, some other magic gumbo I'm missing? Anyone have any suggestions for getting a more similar result out of Logic?
__________________
Huh?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-2016, 11:41 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,860
Default Re: Why is Logic such a different Mix from ProTools?

Its interesting how some find such a difference between the two platforms. Some will swear that Logic sounds better, others will claim PT sounds better, and then there are double-blind tests that show no difference at all While Logic seems to have an edge for big midi users, I simply prefer the way that PT handles audio(I'm old school). As to the "why", it could be your choice of plugins, Pan Law is a maybe(it can be changed in PT, not sure about Logic). Are you comparing using the same hardware/interface?(converters can make a huge difference). Lots to consider
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Logic 7.2.3 and ProTools 7.3 ChrisSimon Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 12-28-2006 02:42 PM
ProTools, Logic Pro 6 and the ESB SonnyJohns 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-25-2005 07:23 AM
Who is using TDM (ProTools 6.7) with Logic 7? Helge Krabye Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 11-18-2004 11:23 PM
Using Logic and Protools... Imagine Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 12-29-2003 04:13 PM
Emagic Logic vs ProTools & Logic AM 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 11-06-2001 04:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com