Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-02-2011, 10:45 AM
cegan cegan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Default Mbox 2 Not Turning On

I just recently built a new computer for home recording/life purposes, since my old laptop doesn't quite have the juice for much editing or mixing. I've been running my Pro Tools 8 LE on my laptop decently well for tracking and such on Vista Business 32 bit, but when I tried to install PT8LE on my new computer, the mbox stopped turning on...even on the laptop on which it was previously working. Here are the specs:

OS: Windows 7 enterprise 64 bit
Processor: Intel i5 2500K sandybridge
Motherboard: AsusP8Z68-V PRO LGA 1155 Intel Z68
RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB
HDD: Seagate Momentus XT 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB

Looking at previous forum posts, I was able to find that people had problems running PT8 without the .0.5 update, so I updated on both computers. The usb light still won't turn on. I also tried a new cable....didn't turn on.

My last thought is that there might be a multiple license issue. But even then, the mbox2 should still turn on...right?

Any and all help would be much appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-04-2011, 12:49 PM
cegan cegan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Question Re: Mbox 2 Not Turning On

Didn't realize I needed a sandra report, so here it is:

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2500K CPU @ 3.30GHz
Speed : 3.61GHz
Cores per Processor : 4 Unit(s)
Type : Quad-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 2x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L2 Cache : 2x 256kB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L3 Cache : 6MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 12-way, Exclusive, 64 byte line size, 16 threads sharing

Computer
Mainboard : ASUS P8Z68-V PRO
BIOS : AMI (OEM) 0706 08/05/2011
Bus(es) : X-Bus PCI PCIe USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : No
Total Memory : 8GB DIMM DDR3

Chipset
Model : ASUS Core (Sandy Bridge) DRAM Controller
Front Side Bus Speed : 100MHz
Total Memory : 8GB DIMM DDR3
Channels : 2
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 800MHz (1.6GHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : G.Skill F3-12800CL8-4GBXM 4GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (11-11-11-29 5-40-13-6)
Memory Module : G.Skill F3-12800CL8-4GBXM 4GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (11-11-11-29 5-40-13-6)

Video System
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce 8400GS (16 SM4.1 1.24GHz, 1GB DDR3 1.2GHz 128-bit, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
OpenCL GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce 8400GS (8SP 1C 1.24GHz, 1GB DDR3 1.2GHz 128-bit)
Compute Shader Processor : NVIDIA GeForce 8400GS (16SP 1.24GHz, 1GB DDR3 1.2GHz 128-bit)
CUDA GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce 8400GS (8SP 1C 1.24GHz, 1GB DDR3 1.2GHz 128-bit)

Storage Devices
Seagate ST95005620AS (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm) : 466GB (C:)
Seagate ST2000DL001-9VT156 (2TB, USB/SATA300, 5900rpm) : 2TB (E:)
ASUS DRW-24B1ST a (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (D:)

Logical Storage Devices
System Reserved : 100MB (NTFS)
FreeAgent GoFlex Drive (E:) : 2TB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST2000DL001-9VT156 (2TB, USB/SATA300, 5900rpm)
Hard Disk (C:) : 466GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST95005620AS (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm)
Optical Drive (D:) : N/A @ ASUS DRW-24B1ST a (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 6.01.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x64
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-04-2011, 01:48 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,866
Default Re: Mbox 2 Not Turning On

Its possible(and I hope true) that the install was done incorrectly for your setup(Win 7 64 bit). Disconnect the Mbox and run the uninstaller that is on the PT8 disk. Next, download and install Quicktime(if you have not done it already, and download the 8.0.5 updater and drop it somewhere handy(like the desktop). Now run the PT8 installer and when the installer tells you to "connect the interface", DON'T connect the Mbox. Just click on okay and let it finish and reboot. Now run the 8.0.5 updater. Here is where there are conflicting opinions. Some say to connect the Mbox when the updater asks for it, and some say don't(for me, connecting worked with my 003). In either case, let the updater complete and reboot(connect the Mbox if you haven't done it during the update install). Cross your fingers and try running PT(have your authorization code handy too. The one that starts with "DIGI08.......").

BTW, that Seagate 2TB drive is NOT a good recording drive as its a 5900 rpm drive and you need 7200 rpm. Your best route there is to install another internal drive(WD Caviar Black would be my first choice) Your RAM looks to be on the slow side(not sure if it matters). Timings on my rigs are either 7-7-7-20(rig below) or 9-9-9-24 on my new i5.

Another BTW, don't forget to perform ALL the system tweaks, especially turning OFF the Aero feature and power management for all USB ports(aka "Root Hub" in Device Manager).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave

Last edited by albee1952; 11-04-2011 at 01:50 PM. Reason: more stuff
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-05-2011, 07:57 PM
cegan cegan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Unhappy Re: Mbox 2 Not Turning On

Thank you for the reply albee1952!

Unfortunately...no success with either method. Uninstalled, ran the install by plugging in the mbox2 when it directed during the 8.0.5 update. The USB light never turned on, and when I tried to open Pro Tools, the hardware was not recognized. Uninstalled again, ran the full install and 8.0.5 update without plugging in the mbox2 until everything was installed/restarted, and again the USB light never turned on, and no hardware was recognized when I tried to fire up pro tools.

I know that the USB ports are working, since I tested the power of them with a thumb drive and my usb mouse and keyboard combo, with which I'm typing right now.

Since this probably means that there's a hardware problem...what next? Should I simply give up on pro tools 8? And if I were to switch to either 9 or 10, would the pro tools 8 files be compatible/openable?

Or is there another fix that is escaping me?

Thanks again for any help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox 3 Pro not turning on. Dead? ripsta415 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 02-17-2012 06:20 PM
Caveman needs help turning on Mbox 2. Rain City Rock Tips & Tricks 5 03-18-2011 06:01 AM
mbox hardware not turning on AStabbinHobo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 11-27-2006 01:47 PM
Mbox 2 not 'turning on' with Mac Book pro atinyspeckofdust 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-24-2006 07:16 PM
help turning my mbox into a sound card. Cali Hendrixx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-08-2003 12:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com