Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 11-28-2016, 03:11 AM
VRW VRW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,318
Default Re: Which New iMac?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian in Charlotte View Post
OH YES..........you will will be at 9 of 10 on the dial for the Clarett 2Pre even though you have a condenser. .
Thatīs disappointing indeed as I only have heard great things about the Claretts from numerous sides. I personally have heard them acting as an audio interface only and found it to be sounding
exceptionally well as for their price range. Hmm...
I would have bought one myself if I havenīt had my Apollo already at that time which is simply fantastic as for stability, reliability and sound quality (both converters+mic pres).
Therefor, Brian, if you are seriously unhappy with the Focusrite which I would not have expected to happen, donīt wait until itīs too late to bring it back!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cutlerbri View Post
It's still not too late to take this thing back and get something else.
Invest a bit more and get an UA Apollo Twin Solo or Duo. This obviously is the only audio interface type at the moment which simply works perfectly fine with macOS and Pro Tools 12. It will be more expensive than the Clarett 2Pre I know but it seems to be worth it at the end of the day.
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/ApolloTwinS

If you will use UA plugins (Unison preamps) for tracking primarily and only a few in your mixes additionally even the Twin Solo will suffice as for itīs DSP power. You can add a powerful UA Quad or
Octo DSP Satellite unit later and connect it to your 2nd Thunderbolt port on your iMac if you will need more UA plugins in your mixes in the future.
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/UAD2SUQuad

The Twin Duo would give you more DSP resources which could be convenient too if you could afford it.
Anyway those Apollo Twin interfaces (aside from the UA plugins) are the best ones below 1k by far and more than worth the money finally.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 11-28-2016, 08:22 AM
Cutlerbri Cutlerbri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 265
Default Re: Which New iMac?

Thank you, VRW. The Apollo Twin was the other interface I was considering going into this and it might be my final destination.
__________________
Brian
See profile page for system details
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 12-02-2016, 10:32 PM
jpellizzi jpellizzi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 49
Default Re: Which New iMac?

Hey Bri,

Any issues with sluggishness or lag on your new 27" iMac and Sierra/PT 12.6? Myself and a few others are still experiencing the GUI lag and sluggishness, unless we enable Low Resolution mode and it makes things look pixelated with the Retina display. Like if you hit R/T to zoom in and out really fast, it takes a while to catch up. Same goes for all basic edits, trimming or moving clips, resizing windows, jerky playhead and meters etc.

Did you get the i7/SSD/M395 machine? Just curious... seems odd that some people would have the issue and some wouldn't with the same hardware.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 12-04-2016, 03:01 PM
Cutlerbri Cutlerbri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 265
Default Re: Which New iMac?

Hey Jpellizzi,

I have not yet noticed any graphics lag. But then again I have not done a real session just yet either. I'm still trying to get all my plugins up and working. Would you know where the plugins folder is supposed to be on the system drive? I'm trying to run a "closed" system where everything is confined to the internal SSD rather than running off an external drive.

I have the i7 with a 512 Flash Drive so it should be a rockin' machine.
__________________
Brian
See profile page for system details
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 12-04-2016, 03:14 PM
VRW VRW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,318
Default Re: Which New iMac?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cutlerbri View Post
Would you know where the plugins folder is supposed to be on the system drive?
Mac OS drive/Library/Application Support/Avid/Audio/Plug-Ins

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 12-05-2016, 05:00 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,664
Default Re: Which New iMac?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cutlerbri View Post
Hey Jpellizzi,

I have not yet noticed any graphics lag. But then again I have not done a real session just yet either. I'm still trying to get all my plugins up and working. Would you know where the plugins folder is supposed to be on the system drive? I'm trying to run a "closed" system where everything is confined to the internal SSD rather than running off an external drive.

I have the i7 with a 512 Flash Drive so it should be a rockin' machine.
I would really use a second drive for PT to record to. It'll make it a lot easier if you ever have to restore your system - you won't lose your PT sessions. Ditto for samples if you use them. With an ssd you could do that off one drive instead of two separate ones like if they were spinners.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 12-07-2016, 04:35 PM
Cutlerbri Cutlerbri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 265
Default Re: Which New iMac?

Jack, I have my two OWC Mercury Elite Pro HDDs standing by for just such a task if I need it. They are great drives and worked in my old system as Firewire drives daisy-chained together.

They also have USB ports so I have them plugged into a powered USB hub and using them now only for backup. Their role may change back to session drives as per your suggestion, however.

Do you or anyone else have much experience with cloud-based backup for PT sessions? Like Carbonite or Backblaze? What are your thoughts?
__________________
Brian
See profile page for system details
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 12-07-2016, 06:52 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,664
Default Re: Which New iMac?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cutlerbri View Post
Jack, I have my two OWC Mercury Elite Pro HDDs standing by for just such a task if I need it. They are great drives and worked in my old system as Firewire drives daisy-chained together.

They also have USB ports so I have them plugged into a powered USB hub and using them now only for backup. Their role may change back to session drives as per your suggestion, however.

Do you or anyone else have much experience with cloud-based backup for PT sessions? Like Carbonite or Backblaze? What are your thoughts?
I've never used cloud based anything other than a brief flirtation with DropBox. And that was a disaster on account of my account got hacked. I would not trust cloud based storage for anything. What if the server goes toes up or you need access to something that's on the cloud but have no net access? As Master Yoda would say: screwed you are.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 12-07-2016, 11:00 PM
Cutlerbri Cutlerbri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 265
Default Re: Which New iMac?

I agree, Jack. Screwed be you would.
But I was thinking in terms of an emergency/secondary backup that would be done in addition to your external drives backup. This would be in case of fire, theft, or some other catastrophe.
__________________
Brian
See profile page for system details
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 12-08-2016, 12:53 PM
VRW VRW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,318
Default Re: Which New iMac?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cutlerbri View Post
But I was thinking in terms of an emergency/secondary backup that would be done in addition to your external drives backup. This would be in case of fire, theft, or some other catastrophe.
For a secondary one it ainīt no bad idea actually.
Like mentioned by Jack already just make sure itīs not the only one you rely on.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tranferring Protools 10 from old iMac to new IMac JuergenTilak Pro Tools 10 3 07-31-2012 09:48 AM
24in iMac or 21.5 iMac??? Help the blast 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-30-2010 06:19 PM
M Box 2 and new iMac lugg0 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 06-17-2010 03:24 AM
sync iMac with 003 and iMac with Mbox2? Jussi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-09-2009 04:24 PM
Mac Pro or iMac for PT LE? hoke 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-28-2007 10:04 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com