Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 11-27-2016, 06:55 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,433
Default Re: BEST SSDs for use in Pro Tools ? - New Samsung 850 Pro

For a Boot/system drive I'd go with the Evo.. An 850 Evo (500 GB or larger) may have ~2 the throughput and latency performance of a similar size SandDisk Ultra II under heavy load torture tests. Simple IO measurements won't show anywhere near that difference... typical for SSDs, benchmarking/testing them and seeing their worse case perforamnce is non-trivial. But that's largely what you pay for with the better drives now, it's not just raw speed (all current "good" SATA SSDs are effectively handicapped by SATA III I/O performance, but what you are paying for is performance that won't degrade quickly or catastrophically, in some cases, under heavy loads).

If you are very cost sensitive then by all means go with the SanDisk, but here I'd personally go with the Evo. The SanDisk Ultra II is a previous generation drive from back in ~ 2014, I expect they are flushing discontinued inventory. The current SanDisk Extreme Pro is much more comparable to the Samsung Evo and Pro drives, and a nice drive.

And again if you really want IO performance in a Mac Pro cheese grater I'd look at Samsung SM951 M.2 PCIe drives on a PCIe adapter cards. Price/perforamnce wise they are pretty amazing, even handicapped by the PCIe 2.0 slots in a Mac Pro. If I was running a mac Pro, its the SM951 I'd be playing with (I'd also see if I could get a Samsung 950 Pro M.2 NVMe drive running... they won't be bootable, not sure if they work at all).
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 11-28-2016, 01:59 PM
Benny_Cha_Cha Benny_Cha_Cha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 489
Default Re: BEST SSDs for use in Pro Tools ? - New Samsung 850 Pro

Thanks, Darryl.

I went for the EVO. $120 on eBay thru newegg right now.
__________________
Ben Rubin

Producer//Mixer//Bassist//Composer

benrubin.com
twitter // instagram // facebook // imdb
------------
PT Ultimate 2018.7, Mac Pro 5,1 12-core 3.46, 24Gb RAM, Mac OSX 10.12.6fd, SSD boot drive, SSD sample drive,
Neve 8816, HD Native PCIe, Apogee DA-16X, Lynx Aurora 16, Benchmark DAC-1/ADC-1
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 11-28-2016, 04:06 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,669
Default Re: BEST SSDs for use in Pro Tools ? - New Samsung 850 Pro

Evo's are probably cool but I got a 256gb 850Pro some time ago and the thing is great.......

I think I got it on some kind of sale for about the same price point as your Evo....its all timing
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 11-28-2016, 06:17 PM
TimothyJohn TimothyJohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Baltimore, United States
Posts: 221
Default Re: BEST SSDs for use in Pro Tools ? - New Samsung 850 Pro

So I'm thinking about removing the DVD drive from my 17" i7 Macbook Pro and installing an ssd audio drive. Is the consensus here to avoid OWC? My boot/system drive is a Samsung SSD 840 EVO 1tb. I use Trim Enabler.
I'd be happy with a 500gb SSD audio drive. I know it has to be a 3g as opposed to a 6g due to the connection. Also, will there be any heat issues? If not OWC, what drive? I currently use a LaCie external SSD via Thunderbolt. And I use it a lot!!

Oh, and I'm still on OS 10.8.5. I've been waiting for a few programs. Especially Drumcore4, I'm a beta tester. I think though, that I might move on up to Mavericks, or even Sierra. (but I need to wait a bit for that one I know).

Thanks!!

Last edited by TimothyJohn; 11-28-2016 at 06:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 11-29-2016, 08:51 AM
Benny_Cha_Cha Benny_Cha_Cha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 489
Default Re: BEST SSDs for use in Pro Tools ? - New Samsung 850 Pro

Honestly, I have an OWC 3g in my optical drive bay now and its worked flawlessly with trim enabler. It's 128gb so I wanted something bigger and faster. Thus the move. I'll probably make like 3 partitions do I can keep my current system and also have a sierra partition and even maybe a pt 10 partition.

I have an 840 in my laptop now and it also works great.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Ben Rubin

Producer//Mixer//Bassist//Composer

benrubin.com
twitter // instagram // facebook // imdb
------------
PT Ultimate 2018.7, Mac Pro 5,1 12-core 3.46, 24Gb RAM, Mac OSX 10.12.6fd, SSD boot drive, SSD sample drive,
Neve 8816, HD Native PCIe, Apogee DA-16X, Lynx Aurora 16, Benchmark DAC-1/ADC-1
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 11-30-2016, 08:04 PM
TimothyJohn TimothyJohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Baltimore, United States
Posts: 221
Default Re: BEST SSDs for use in Pro Tools ? - New Samsung 850 Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benny_Cha_Cha View Post
Honestly, I have an OWC 3g in my optical drive bay now and its worked flawlessly with trim enabler. It's 128gb so I wanted something bigger and faster. Thus the move. I'll probably make like 3 partitions do I can keep my current system and also have a sierra partition and even maybe a pt 10 partition.

I have an 840 in my laptop now and it also works great.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Exactly what I'm looking to do. Also have an Evo 840--kickin'!! Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hi i need help im not sure if i can buy Pro tools 10 if my laptop is a samsung rickluque12 Windows 6 06-30-2012 07:22 PM
Pro Tools 9 Startup & SSDs Becharax Windows 35 10-05-2011 12:53 AM
Pro-Tools 8 On A Tablet w/SSDs and Windows 7/64 Bit epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 10-03-2010 05:57 PM
Samsung monitors freezing Pro Tools & G5 soundboy35 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 05-31-2009 03:43 PM
MBox 2 Pro and Pro Tools on Samsung X30 laptop tgod 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 02-01-2007 10:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com