Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-27-2012, 06:40 PM
Tops3b Tops3b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 82
Default Pro Tools 10.3 9171 and 9172 Errors

I hope you can hear us Avid. This last update is a nightmare. I am running 10.3 on ML 10.8.2 and have been getting countless -9171 and -9172 errors. No matter what settings I use or uninstalls on re-installs I do they will not go away. Even on 1 and 2 track sessions. This is crazy. I have a Mac Pro 2 x 2.26 Ghz Quad Core Intel Xeon with 12gb ram. Running HD Native with Omni. All firmware up to date. This rig is almost impossible to use right now. Please can you advise.

many thanks

Richard
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-27-2012, 07:23 PM
KMcK KMcK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 708
Default Re: Pro Tools 10.3 9171 and 9172 Errors

What troubleshooting have you tried already? I have a pretty similar rig other than a different model Mac Pro and I'm running large sessions with no issues on 10.3 & 10.8.2.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-27-2012, 07:41 PM
KMcK KMcK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 708
Default Re: Pro Tools 10.3 9171 and 9172 Errors

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=328101

Here's a similar thread if you're not already aware of it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-28-2012, 08:28 AM
Tops3b Tops3b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 82
Default Re: Pro Tools 10.3 9171 and 9172 Errors

Thanks KMcK. I had seen that thread but nothing really helped. I have tried everything to see what's up. Cables. Firmware. Trashed prefs, repaired permissions, digitest etc. I am going to go through plug ins now but nothing has changed accept updating to 10.3! If I get anywhere I will obviously post on here. I am just surprised how silent Avid is as I know I'm not the only one going through this. Thanks again though for the advice.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-01-2012, 05:12 PM
MGohil MGohil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hollywood CA
Posts: 12
Default Re: Pro Tools 10.3 9171 and 9172 Errors

I'm having the same trouble, as well as 9129 errors on top of that.

I'm using a ProTools HD Native, running 10.3, using an Apogee Symphony I/O.

In addition, the trouble seems to be more frequent when I'm at the higher sample rates, but still occurs at low ones as well. I've tried taking out all plug-ins, but nothing seems to help. Higher track count also seems to cause more frequent errors. However, my CPU is maxing out at only 10%, so it doesn't seem to be a CPU issue.

I've tried increasing / decreasing buffer size; Flashing both the Native card as well as the Symphony IO. My Mac Pro has 16 gigs of ram, and i"m using 15 processers (out of 16); I've tried CPU ranging from 50% to 99%.

This is really frustrating; I've been on the phone with tech support from Apogee as well as Sweetwater Music and we've tried a number of trouble shooting techniques, but nothing seems to work.

Has anyone else been experiencing these?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-02-2012, 02:39 AM
Bobogura Bobogura is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: London
Posts: 110
Default Re: Pro Tools 10.3 9171 and 9172 Errors

Have you tried this?

Delete Prefs
Repair Permissions
Start Mac in Safe Mode (hold down shift while starting up)- let it finish its thing
Restart as normal
Make sure you switch "Wake for Network Access" in Energy Saver OFF

Let me know if it helps.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-02-2012, 05:43 AM
Fidelis Fidelis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 978
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MGohil View Post
I'm having the same trouble, as well as 9129 errors on top of that.

I'm using a ProTools HD Native, running 10.3, using an Apogee Symphony I/O.

In addition, the trouble seems to be more frequent when I'm at the higher sample rates, but still occurs at low ones as well. I've tried taking out all plug-ins, but nothing seems to help. Higher track count also seems to cause more frequent errors. However, my CPU is maxing out at only 10%, so it doesn't seem to be a CPU issue.

I've tried increasing / decreasing buffer size; Flashing both the Native card as well as the Symphony IO. My Mac Pro has 16 gigs of ram, and i"m using 15 processers (out of 16); I've tried CPU ranging from 50% to 99%.

This is really frustrating; I've been on the phone with tech support from Apogee as well as Sweetwater Music and we've tried a number of trouble shooting techniques, but nothing seems to work.

Has anyone else been experiencing these?
You should use 14 processors! Protoos sees 16 but in fact you have 8. So to leave 1 hole processor for the system you should have 7 (14) to protools max!
__________________
http://www.ricardomosca.com

Intel Mac Pro 12 core 3.33 GHz, 20GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT HDX, PT 12.8, SSL 4040G+, tons of outboard
Mac Book Pro 2.4Ghz Duo, 4GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT Vanilla 12.8
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-04-2012, 04:55 PM
RamblerSound RamblerSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 105
Default Re: Pro Tools 10.3 9171 and 9172 Errors

Hey Guys, for what it's worth I had been having the same issues. My rig is pretty new to me but here is what worked for me. I updated my Mac to 10.8.2 and everything went down hill.

I have a listening session that contains music from CD's and the session consists of one stereo audio track and one stereo master fader. No plugs at all. I couldn't play the music files for more than 6 minutes. Some playback was as short as 15 seconds. It was always a 9071 or some version of that error. I upgraded to PT 10.3 thinking this would help but for me it did not. I started optimizing my Mac by basically turning most of the OS off. Still no good.

I rolled my Mac back to the OS it came with from a Time machine backup. This put my OS back to 10.8.1 and my PT version is back to 10.2. Everything is working pretty good. I get an 9071 error every once in a while but it is usually connected to me opening a plug while playing back. It's a little bit of a drag but way better than the 10.8.2 non-playback situation.

I have mixed and bounced an 80 minute DVD commentary track and that session worked great. I have also recorded a singer songwriter, 4 mics in at 96k and I try to leave my buffer at 256. It all is working well with the minor issue I described.

The only plugs I have installed are the Waves Gold Bundle.

Sorry for the mess of a post. I'm busy at work where we have two HDX rigs and one HD Native all running on 2012 6 core macs. They came with OS 10.7.3 and these machines are bullet proof. We have been running them for two months or so and not one error and zero Mac optimization. They never fail so we didn't know we needed to optimize.

Best of luck to you all. I hope the errors stop coming because I know first hand how hard it is to deal with.

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-04-2012, 10:59 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,636
Post Re: Pro Tools 10.3 9171 and 9172 Errors

Thank you for the reports.

Keep in mind that 10.3 and 10.3.1 are only qualified up through Mac OS X 10.8, so this could be something related to 10.8.2. Anyone experiencing the errors in PT 10.3 on Mac OS X 10.8? This would be a good data point.

If you haven't provided your complete system info yet, please do.

Thanks.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-05-2012, 05:37 PM
puffin puffin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 176
Default Re: Pro Tools 10.3 9171 and 9172 Errors

I am getting these errors on 10.3.0 with mac OS 10.7.5
PT Native with Vid Sat rig running 10.3.0 CPTK...

Brian Power, CAS
www.thehideoutstudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
-9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX Boe Larsen Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 519 03-08-2017 11:11 PM
-9171 and -9172 errors constant...Sandra attached wrachilla Windows 12 05-09-2013 10:19 AM
UAD triggering 9171, 9172 errors? xq3js macOS 7 03-23-2013 12:47 AM
Dae errors -9171 after installing 10.3.3 TCM Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 3 02-06-2013 11:18 AM
10.3.3 Major Fail....9171, 9172 and 9129 Errors Tops3b Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 12-21-2012 08:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com